$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
656 out of 656
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jan Combs
Lenoir City, TN
Apr 12, 2014

The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and strived to meet our needs. Would return again and would recommend it to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Opal is centrally located the major attractions in the downtown area. Very easy to use bus, cable cars to get where you need to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tmsoap
Business
Lake Tahoe, Ca
May 1, 2014

Clean, comfortable, great value

One of the best lodging values in the city. Nothing fancy. King room was small. Nice size tub in small bathroom. Everything was clean. Staff is super friendly. Location is a little sketchy, but that's pretty much the whole city. Not many places to escape the homeless and panhandlers. Check out Tommy's Joynt across the street. Bus stop on corner takes you directly to Fisherman's Wharf or AT&T park. Short walk to cable car and shopping. I've stayed in many S.F. hotels over the years from low budget to high end, this is right in the middle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure to say congratulations to Brad at the front desk, He's retiring later in 2014. Great guy. He'll be missed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Graduate Traveler Won
Business
Omaha, NE
May 1, 2014

Senior Trip Vacation

Checked in at 5, and was charged a $50 deposit without my knowledge. However, other than that, I had a good experience with this hotel. Breakfast was great, service was good, rooms were clean, and location was fantastic. Major Muni lines run right past the hotel and it is located conveniently close to Union Square. Fantastic hotel for the price, and I would recommend to anyone looking for low cost accommodations in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lp65
Business
Ottawa
May 1, 2014

so so

Got charged on credit card after having paid in cash before leaving....sad but true, despite my full intentions of returning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sirka
Business
Los Angeles, California
Apr 30, 2014

Very nice

It was very nice hotel, everything was cute and lovely ) location most convenient for tourists as within walking distance from Union square the staff is very responsive and accommodating We love it very much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bryn Mawr Alumna
Business
Portland, Oregon
Apr 30, 2014

Clean, comfortable economical

Staff was super nice. Would recommend hotel to friends. I like to be able to open a window when U sleep which you could do. Breakfast was gluten heavy, but diner next door was great. We shared a milkshake whe we waited for the shuttle back to the airport. Easy bus to catch to the sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus 47 to cable cars or wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarianaMC
Business
Goldsboro, NC
Apr 27, 2014

Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lyssa716
Business
New York
Apr 23, 2014

Opal

The location was great, the rooms were small but comfortable and they offered a free continental breakfast, nothing special but it was something. I would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frqnt Traveler
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 22, 2014

Centrally located budget hotel

The lobby and staff were great, but the room was a bit dingy and the bathroom was small and cramped. I was in San Francisco for a conference and a friend got a much better hotel at a better rate by booking well in advance - this hotel has a good rate for those of us who wait til the last minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greg C
Business
Aptos, CA, USA
Apr 18, 2014

pleasant stay

Just there for one night while scouting colleges. The room was a bit tight. Onsite parking was great (but $30). The breakfast was as expected, but when we went there were not enough seats for everyone which was kinda awkward. The hotel itself is charming and was overall a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vanalex
Business
Toronto, Canada
Apr 12, 2014

Wonderful spot, great stay!

We loved our visit to San Francisco and enjoyed staying at The Opal. My partner and I were there for three nights in early April and would definitely stay there again. The rates are reasonable and the location is a perfect starting point for exploring all that SF has to offer. It's within easy walking distance of a BART station, many transit lines, downtown amenities, Fisherman's Wharf, and countless interesting neighbourhoods. The hotel itself is older but classically beautiful and well-maintained, hotel staff were always pleasant and helpful. The continental breakfast includes: bagels, bread, muffins, various spreads, fruit salad, yogurt, and juice. I was most impressed by the hotel's commitment to waste reduction --all of the breakfast dishes and utensils were compostable and the yogurt cups were recycled; recycle bins were also provided in the accommodation rooms. Being a 3-star hotel, The Opal may not have all of the amenities of a higher-end chain but it does offer excellent value. However, I would like to see a complimentary guest computer with internet access (there was a pay-per-minute computer in the breakfast room but the fees seemed exorbitant to me). It would also be nice to have a book or card in the room outlining the features of the hotel, such as: breakfast hours, fitness room location, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top