$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
883 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (883)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
883 out of 883
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Calibuckeye
San Diego, CA
Nov 11, 2013

Fantastic stay!

The Opal has a wonderful and helpful staff and a very old school French feel to the hotel. They even sent me a complimentary bottle of wine to our room for my birthday. Would definitely stay here again on our next trip to San Fran!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
absolutislove
Singapore
Jul 17, 2013

Clean rooms for cheap!

Rooms were clean and the size was adequate for the four of us. Breakfast was also good. A direct bus ride to the AT&T Park for all you Baseball fans out there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nick southern traveler
South Georgia
Jul 14, 2013

Stay away from this hotel

The hotel is not located in a beautiful setting like described on their website. There is no valet parking or staff to help with your bags. Our room had dirty socks beside the bed and the power went out a couple of times through out the night. Very, very disappointed with our booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not walk anywhere from this hotel. It's not very far from Chinatown, but you must walk through some bad parts if town to get there.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Viki Anderson
Omaha, Ne
Jul 13, 2013

Very comfortable

If you are looking for luxury, don't come. But if you are looking for a clean, comfortable room with a great helpful staff that is centrally located for excellent Muni transportation...THIS IS YOUR PLACE. I will come back here next time. I loved the old hotel charm. I loved that the staff was so incredibly helpful and sincerely nice. The continental breakfast was good. The connected Mel's Diner was a great for quick meals when you did not want to travel to a restaurant. And Tommy's Joynt is right across the street (bring cash only) well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a CityPass! Get on any Muni Bus, Trolly, Cable Car, Underground. Ride as many times as you want. They are good for 10 days. I talked with a guy who rented a car and after 2 days turned it back in because the Muni system was way faster and cheaper (no gas or parking fees). And they include tickets to attractions you will want to use (bay cruise, museums, aquariums etc.)

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
geauxtigers
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Jul 10, 2013

4th Getaway

Not a bad place to stay for one night but not a place to stay for a week vacation. Location seemed far from Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tommaso’s for Italian!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cobra9254
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jul 3, 2013

Great value, great accommodations

My first visit to San Francisco was very pleasant. I was really surprised that the hotel was as nice as it was for the price I paid. Ended up with 2 queen beds and a sofa bed. The staff was helpful. The parking garage was close by at $24 a day. Continental breakfast was good. Walking distance to drug store, fast food, public transportation. If I go back to San Francisco I will stay again at the Opal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take one or more guided tours. I took the deluxe tour of Muir Woods, Golden Gate, etc. If I had more time I would have done Alcatraz.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DebGal
Lancaster, Pa
Jun 23, 2013

great place

Nice old building, great location, and Brad was so helpful with things to see and do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Golden Gate national Park

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maggie3333
Chicago
Jun 20, 2013

Good time

The hotel has a good location. The staff was very nice and very very helpful. The breakfast was great - everyone could find something for yourself. Our room was clean but very small and old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marathoner from LA
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 19, 2013

Short Stay

I took a trip up to San Francisco to do the marathon. I procrastinated booking a hotel and most hotels were filled up for that weekend. Whatever rooms that was left were way over my budget. The Opal was the only moderately priced answer. What I liked: Checking in and out was a breeze. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The free breakfast was great. Even though the selection of food items were small (bagels, toast, muffins, hard boiled eggs, juice, tea, coffee, yogurts.) To me its just what you needed to get the day started to go get real food out in the city. The room were clean albeit small. I guess the room was comfy. I'm use to camping outdoors so my comfort level of any room with a bed is skewed. The hotel is within walking distance to a lot of the sites and sounds that SF has to offer. Parking is located in a gated courtyard within the hotel. It was priced competitively enough with AAA discount that it's worth just leaving the car there for peace of mind. The only thing I really didn't like: The location of the hotel is close to an iffier part of town. There were no homeless pan handling right outside the door but if you walk down the block on O'Farrell you hit some of the sketchier parts of town, especially at night. If you know what you're doing it shouldn't be too bad. Overall the hotel is not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pete Zahut
Washington DC
Jun 12, 2013

Opal in early June

Excellent value, excellent location, excellent staff...room was clean and spacious (king-size bed, non-smoking, facing south on 4th floor)...staff was highly professional, courteous, and answered all our questions...breakfast was filling and simple (hard-boiled eggs, toast, bagels, cream cheese) and allowed us to save money for a nicer lunch...close to public transportation (including Muni buses and California/Van Ness cable car terminus a few blocks away)...EXTREMELY EASY ACCESS to FIsherman's Wharf, Civic Center/Union Square, and other locations. We were able to go to the wine hour on Wednesdays 5-6 where there were tons of cheese, crackers, and red and white wines (only a handful of people were there and the staff gave us the already opened bottles after the hour ended). As for location, it is indeed on the edge of the Tenderloin, but unlike other guests, we did not see or experience any 'unsavory characters' either during the day or at night (we stayed at Opal mid-week in early June). Absolutely plan to stay there again for our next trip to SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of cheap and filling ethnic (Thai, Indian) restaurants a few blocks east in Tenderloin (if you're willing to tolerate the sight of a few homeless people).

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Umboldt
Humboldt County, CA
Jun 11, 2013

Felt secure--we are from the country!

Lovely. Helpful cordial staff. Lots of built in security. As strangers to city life, it was all great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top