$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
720 out of 720
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Calibuckeye
San Diego, CA
Nov 11, 2013

Fantastic stay!

The Opal has a wonderful and helpful staff and a very old school French feel to the hotel. They even sent me a complimentary bottle of wine to our room for my birthday. Would definitely stay here again on our next trip to San Fran!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SF trippers
Business
Dallas tx
Jul 22, 2014

romantic get away

we had a great stay and wonderful hotel. please be sure to plan ur arrival around 3pm no earlier

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Duncan from Chicago
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 21, 2014

Worth the Value

The rooms were small and there were some dodgy neighborhoods you wouldn't want to walk around in late at night just to the west of the hotel, but the free breakfast and Wi-Fi in the hotel were great. The hotel was clean and staff was very friendly and helpful. It is also one of the most affordable hotels in the heart of San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to visit Tommy's Joynt across the street for a great meal too.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ProudPop
Business
San Francisco
Jul 18, 2014

not happy

son was really sick and waited for an hour for a plunger. silly as it seems you wait 15 minutes then another...go downstairs to find they have no idea what your talking about. i asked for a place that included parking but $41,00 later ....for the variance in price I probably could have upgraded to a better hotel for a little more money....it was ok but could have been cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

check out day passes, or coupons...very expensive town

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cherylynn
Business
Omaha, NE
Jul 14, 2014

Great for our needs

We have family nearby and always stay at this hotel. Free breakfast is great. Staff is helpful and attentive. Will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nate007
Business
Anaheim
Jul 9, 2014

Opal

Price was great for a Long Weekend! I've had better complimentary breakfasts, but when in San Fran, you better be heading out on the town to eat anyways. Very small and cozy rooms. Nothing special. No issues or problems really. Bed was a little hard, same with pillows. But they were happy to bring us more softer pillows upon request. I'd stay here again. I'd rather spend the saved money on eating then on luxurious overnight stays since really only sleeping at the hotel and out on the town the rest of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Microflight
Business
Goleta CA
Jul 6, 2014

Very good hotel for price

We were presently surprised by the quality of the hotel and staff. The hotel is near the tenderloin section of SFO that has been somewhat savory. However, that seems to be changing as renovation and good restaurants are in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Civic center and very nice shops and restaurants.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
USD student's mom
Business
BOise
Jul 6, 2014

hotel staff very helpful

Our college age son stayed here overnight because it's close to the Spanish consulate where he had to get his visa. He was pick pocketed and the hotel staff went above and beyond to help him out. He said the area of town was sort of sketchy, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D.Francis
Business
North Carolina
Jun 28, 2014

Good for the price

The hotel and the rooms were clean, had decent facilities and a free continental breakfast. Great for travellers who don't mind walking or commuting.it was surprisingly quiet over my two night stay! A good experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Most people pull up on Van Ness with luggage to take in to hotel. There is no ramp only stairs. Best to go around to the Geary side and go up a ramp.access from the restaurant.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KeepItReal99
Business
Canada
Jun 24, 2014

Pretty good

The hotel is in a convenient location but definitely in a sketchier neighbourhood. The staff was professional and beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gerb1000
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jun 22, 2014

Old Hotel far from tourist stops

The hotel looks and feels a little tired. The room is small and does not have that fresh clean feeling but was clean enough I suppose. The thermostat was new, but did not let you keep the fan circulating. At least the window opened (onto an alley) to let in fresh air (and city noise). The bathroom ventilation was also a window, but obviously you didn't want to leave that open while you were using it. The mattresses were a little squeaky. The neighborhood looks a little sketchy, although the hotel does sit on a N-S and E-W bus line so that is a plus. But give yourself a good 30 minutes on the bus to get to the fisherman's wharf area. The bus stops at every intersection and you could probably walk faster than the bus (except for the steep hills). The staff was helpful - they gave us softer pillows after the first night (the original ones were hard and flat) and they let us park for the old price of $33/night (they had just raised it to $55). The continental breakfast was adequate (I've had much worse). They also had a wine and cheese hour one evening. Oh, and they did have a coin operated washer / dryer by the exercise room in the basement which was handy. We were there for a family vacation so this probably wasn't the best option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top