$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Mosser Hotel

3 stars
View map of 54 Fourth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
278 reviews
Great value: Good location

Staff was friendly and helpful. Free wine on Fridays. Unexpectedly quiet neighborhood. See full review

  • Varju L.
  • Apr 25, 2015
Ms

Short stay but good . We would definitely stay again. Friendly and helpful staff. See full review

  • Aghaounie M.
  • Apr 20, 2015
Modern boutique hotel with recording studio near Union Square

Quirky, modern and ultra-hip, The Mosser Hotel is the only lodging option in San Francisco with a state-of-the-art recording studio on premises. Rooms in this Union Square hotel are clean and efficient. All have platform beds, while some have private bathrooms and others share. Annabelle's Bar & Bistro, the on-site restaurant, utilizes organic ingredients sourced directly from area farms.

Highlights
  • State-of-the-art recording studio
  • On-site Annabelle's Bar & Bistro
  • Platform beds
  • Walking distance to shopping at Union Square and Westfield Centre mall
Rooms

"The Mosser," as it's known locally, has 166 rooms in all -- 112 deluxe rooms with private bathrooms and 54 "economical" rooms with shared hall baths for travelers on smaller budgets. Each room boasts platform beds and vanity sinks. Rooms also come standard with robes, ceiling fans, hair dryers and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms have windows that look out onto busy city streets; some even have reading nooks built into bay windows.

Features

Opened in 1913 as the Keystone Hotel, the historic property was completely redesigned in 2003 and now feels modern and chic.

The centerpiece of that redesign was Studio Paradiso, a state-of-the-art recording studio that is available to hotel guests. Other standard amenities include ironing boards, two-line telephones and custom-designed furniture.

In early 2010, the hotel announced a commitment to embrace eco-friendly products in all the rooms. The Mosser family donates a portion of all hotel proceeds to reforestation, literacy and educational projects.

 

Dining

For a fabulous cocktail or tasty sandwich, pull up a stool at Annabelle's Bar & Bistro, a French-style eatery located on the ground floor. The restaurant features an eclectic wine selection.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Westfield Centre shopping mall
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Studio Paradiso available for meetings
Policies and fees
Nightly valet parking rate will increase in October as follows:
  • Standard vehicle:  $39 + taxes ($44.46 after tax)
  • Oversized vehicle:  $49 + taxes ($55.86 after tax)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mosser Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Mosser Hotel Rooms

Shared Bath
Economical room with one queen or one twin sized bed and a shared hall bath. Room includes a vanity sink, two-line phone with data port, wireless internet, voicemail, AM/FM radio with CD player, pay per view movies, hairdryer, iron with board and waffle robes.
Deluxe Room
Room includes one full size bed, private bath, two-line phone with data port, wireless internet, voicemail, AM/FM radio with CD player, on-demand pay per view movies, hairdryer, iron with board and waffle robes.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.6 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Lands End: 2.1 mi

Dining

Studio Paradiso
The Mosser's new world-class recording studio, Studio Paradiso, brings a new dimension to the hotel's array of services. The studio, located adjacent to the hotel, possesses the highest standard in acoustic quality. Four years in the making, The Mosser Studio Paradiso has up-to-the-minute technology including both digital and analog capabilities. The Studio is a professional playground for the music and media specialist alike.
Annabelles Bar and Bistro
The hotel's restaurant, Annabelles Bar and Bistro, serves lunch and dinner, with an array of cuisine designed to please even the most discriminating diner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Mosser Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Varju L.
Business
N/A
Apr 25, 2015

Great value: Good location

Staff was friendly and helpful. Free wine on Fridays. Unexpectedly quiet neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aghaounie M.
Business
N/A
Apr 20, 2015

Ms

Short stay but good . We would definitely stay again. Friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stacey G.
Business
N/A
Apr 16, 2015

One person visit

I knew going in to my stay that it would be a single bedroom with a shared bathroom. To this extent, I was very pleased with the arrangements. The room contained all of the basic essentials clean sink, soaps/shampoos, very comfortable full size bed, enough room to unpack comfortably and then some. The shared restrooms and showers were also kept very clean. Complimentary coffee and breakfast muffins were also a pleasant treat. I came to SF to visit my brother and I knew I would only need my hotel room to sleep and shower, and for the location and value, the Mosser exceeded my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JH
Business
Endicott
Apr 9, 2015

Great time in a great city!

My boyfriend and I stayed here a few days while we explored San Francisco. The saff was extremely friendly and helpful. The Hotel rooms were small- like it stated in the description, but perfect for our needs. The muffins and coffee the hotel puts out in the lobby are delicious! Such a cute and wonderful place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bella
Business
OREM
Apr 9, 2015

Had a good trip!

First of all, I really liked the location. It was so comfy to go anywhere. The room was kind of small, but it was not the big problem to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donald R.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

first trip to SF

The Mosser is a really cool hotel that looks to be a converted older establishment/boarding house. Each room has a sink, but there is a common bath and toilet area (one for men, one for women) that hearkens back to an earlier time. Everything was always immaculate. When there are shared facilities, it is easy to assume things may not be as clean, but that was not the case here. The cleaning staff did a great job. They also did a good job with the room, although one day I tracked back some sand and it wasn't vacuumed up the next time they came in. There is fresh coffee downstairs every morning, along with some muffins. A tray in the room made it easy to carry up coffee, although many people were drinking it in the lobby. Just off of busy Market Street and the downtown Powell Street Station for public transportation, the Mosser has a great location. Very close to Chinatown and Union Square, and not a far walk from the Mission District. Never had a problem with the internet/wi-fi, although the cable for the tv was a bit snowy. Each room has an iron and full sized ironing board. There isn't an onsite place to eat, but there is a restaurant next door, and a short walk to so many different places, that it doesn't matter. The staff is efficient, but they don't get awards for friendliness. They weren't rude at all, just distant. Being from the South, I am used to hotel staff being very cheerful and friendly. The cleaning staff were the only ones who greeted me every time I saw them. Additionally, I don't know if there was a doorman or not. I would see someone close to the door, but it was only opened for me once. Other times, this person was just leaning on the front counter looking bored. Overall, I would return to the Mosser on a return trip to SF. It's really a good place for a solo traveler who doesn't need tons of room (my room for one was not huge, but sufficient for just myself additionally, there wasn't a dresser, but a decent sized closet where I stored my clothes). Most of the travelers I saw were younger couples or singles (I'm 48), and don't know how the rooms are for children, especially with the shared toilets/baths. But it's a pretty cool place for people who are looking for a very nice hotel at a good price in a good part of SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brad
Business
Austin
Mar 26, 2015

Quick overnight for business

People were nice. Room was clean. Not super quiet but not really a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy Always Traveling
Business
decatur
Mar 18, 2015

awesome location and great price!

This hotel was great! The room was small and I had a communal bathroom but it was everything I needed. The location was amazing and the staff was very helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
g.cnd
Business
qualicum beach
Mar 15, 2015

Great deal for sf

Clean. Shared bathroom in hall bu very clean and you always see a cleaning staff member going around

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mosser Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yoshinori
Business
Jamaica
Mar 11, 2015

very convinience

it was my last minites trip going to SF for one nights. location is great, price is great, hotel stuff are very nice. but my room needed to share bathroom. Enjoyed Friday night wine reception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top