$254 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

3 stars
524 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
178 reviews
Great experience

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night and we really enjoyed our stay. Check-in was fast and... See full review

  • tdiaz12
  • Jul 3, 2014
great hotel in a great location

Terrific experience at this hotel. Great location near union square. Very clean and comfortable.... See full review

  • High blood pressure
  • Jun 1, 2013
The Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers charm and personality, while delivering great value, comfort and excellent service. Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, close to shopping, dining, entertainment, the Financial District and the Moscone Convention Center, The Cartwright Hotel Union Square is the ideal destination for the savvy business or leisure traveler. 114 guest rooms, offer modern comforts and conveniences including a signature FeatherBorne Bed package, deluxe bath amenities, plush towels, LCD flat screen TVs, iPod docking station and free high-speed wireless Internet. Those looking to unwind are encouraged to relax in the lounge, accented by a cozy fireplace. Adjacent to Bar 1915 is a quaint gift and sundries shop, providing last minute essentials and souvenirs. Cartwright Hotel Union Square is pet-friendly and 100% nonsmoking. The Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers complimentary Coffee and Tea service which is available from 7am to 10am daily. Valet parking charge is $40.00 per night.

Hotel Map

37.7894 -122.4092
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
Located at 524 Sutter Street at Powell Street. One block from Union Square, shopping, dining, entertainment, and theater. In the heart of San Francisco, the Larkspur Hotel Union Square offers a variety of area attractions including the Powell Street Cable Car line which travels to Fishermans Wharf, Pier 39, and Ghirardelli Square. Walking distance to Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Yerba Buena Gardens, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Steve Silver's Beach Blanket Babylon Comedy Show and various Art Galleries.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cartwright Hotel Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square Rooms

Queen Deluxe
Our Deluxe Queen rooms feature a Queen FeatherBorne Bed, free wireless Internet, flat screen TV, upgraded bath and body products, coffeemaker with Local Organic coffee and a work desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cartwright Hotel Union Square features conference and reception facilities with the ability to serve groups of five to fifty people. Two meeting rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet and conference call capabilities in a comfortable business environment. On site meeting professionals can help customize facilities to accommodate specific needs. In addition, a complimentary business center is available to all guests

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (178)

Ratings and reviews for The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 178
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami
May 11, 2011

THE HOTEL IS A SCAM!

I had called to ask for a double-room and when I got there of course they did not give me one[...]. The pictures shown are not accurate. I was not told ahead nor did [...] say it was a NON-SMOKING HOTEL.I ended up paying the Larkspur which is a DIVE hotel, $250.00 upon check-out because I smoke and I smoked in my room. [...]The hotel is Garbage.That's the Best I can say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami
May 11, 2011

THE HOTEL IS A SCAM!

I had called to ask for a double-room and when I got there of course they did not give me one[...]. The pictures shown are not accurate. I was not told ahead nor did [...] say it was a NON-SMOKING HOTEL.I ended up paying the Larkspur which is a DIVE hotel, $250.00 upon check-out because I smoke and I smoked in my room. [...]The hotel is Garbage.That's the Best I can say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DallasBuyerClub
Eugene, OR
Mar 25, 2014

It might offer more for the money

Overall a good experience. The room was a little cold, no breakfast included. Hotels in San Francisco have very high prices compared to other places but if you check the customers review you can see that the quality is not that good. So, don't expect too much unless you go to a 4/5 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to pier 31/33 for a nice sightseeing

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gizmogidget
Orange County, Calif
Mar 27, 2014

Cartwright is just fine!

Staff was very helpful, cheerful and accomodating. Location is convenient for catching the bus and shopping. Beds are a bit hard and there was street noise. It was an adequate place to stay. No frills but fairly reasonable and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Not plush but clean and friendly.

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
down about price
Cleveland, OH
Jan 22, 2011

Loved it....

I loved staying here. It was perfect for its location. The staff was friendly and the room did what I needed it to do. I did stay here in 2009 and was hoping to return again this June. Unfortunately, the price is $1400 more than it was then. I don't believe this hotel is worth almost $2000 dollars to stay at. I like it there but not for that price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LikeISaid
91377
Feb 27, 2012

Great choice

Nothing special but very nice location, rooms were fine, staff was very helpful. Great Value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Haight Asbury and Golden Gate Park

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Folsom, CA
Apr 11, 2010

Great Location!

The hotel is centrally located which was really nice. The room was quite small, especially the bathroom. Fortunately, I am petite. Nevertheless, it was very clean and updated. The beds were a little sunken in the middle. The price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sanraku Japanese restaurant was fabulous! A must go if you love sushi!

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Folsom, CA
Apr 11, 2010

Great Location!

The hotel is centrally located which was really nice. The room was quite small, especially the bathroom. Fortunately, I am petite. Nevertheless, it was very clean and updated. The beds were a little sunken in the middle. The price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sanraku Japanese restaurant was fabulous! A must go if you love sushi!

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
causal traverler
houston, texas
Oct 5, 2013

Good location

The hotel was clean hospital. As was other compliants, mine was street noise could be easiy heard in my room,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good diners

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
down about price
Cleveland, OH
Jan 22, 2011

Loved it....

I loved staying here. It was perfect for its location. The staff was friendly and the room did what I needed it to do. I did stay here in 2009 and was hoping to return again this June. Unfortunately, the price is $1400 more than it was then. I don't believe this hotel is worth almost $2000 dollars to stay at. I like it there but not for that price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top