$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

3 stars
524 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
123 reviews
Great experience

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night and we really enjoyed our stay. Check-in was fast and... See full review

  • tdiaz12
  • Jul 3, 2014
great hotel in a great location

Terrific experience at this hotel. Great location near union square. Very clean and comfortable.... See full review

  • High blood pressure
  • Jun 1, 2013
The Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers charm and personality, while delivering great value, comfort and excellent service. Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, close to shopping, dining, entertainment, the Financial District and the Moscone Convention Center, The Cartwright Hotel Union Square is the ideal destination for the savvy business or leisure traveler. 114 guest rooms, offer modern comforts and conveniences including a signature FeatherBorne Bed package, deluxe bath amenities, plush towels, LCD flat screen TVs, iPod docking station and free high-speed wireless Internet. Those looking to unwind are encouraged to relax in the lounge, accented by a cozy fireplace. Adjacent to Bar 1915 is a quaint gift and sundries shop, providing last minute essentials and souvenirs. Cartwright Hotel Union Square is pet-friendly and 100% nonsmoking. The Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers complimentary Coffee and Tea service which is available from 7am to 10am daily. Valet parking charge is $40.00 per night.

Hotel Map

37.7894 -122.4092
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
Located at 524 Sutter Street at Powell Street. One block from Union Square, shopping, dining, entertainment, and theater. In the heart of San Francisco, the Larkspur Hotel Union Square offers a variety of area attractions including the Powell Street Cable Car line which travels to Fishermans Wharf, Pier 39, and Ghirardelli Square. Walking distance to Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Yerba Buena Gardens, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Steve Silver's Beach Blanket Babylon Comedy Show and various Art Galleries.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cartwright Hotel Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square Rooms

Queen Deluxe
Our Deluxe Queen rooms feature a Queen FeatherBorne Bed, free wireless Internet, flat screen TV, upgraded bath and body products, coffeemaker with Local Organic coffee and a work desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cartwright Hotel Union Square features conference and reception facilities with the ability to serve groups of five to fifty people. Two meeting rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet and conference call capabilities in a comfortable business environment. On site meeting professionals can help customize facilities to accommodate specific needs. In addition, a complimentary business center is available to all guests

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (123)

Ratings and reviews for The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
May 23, 2011

Bad Choice

The overall hotel was very romantic and had a nice feeling about it until you realize your rooms were tiny and the bathrooms were pathetic. There is no room service and the staff seems incapable of answering questions when asked. The rooms were tiny and had no refrigerators or any amenities that you normally see at a hotel. The price is overrated and they charge you 41 dollars a day for valet parking although most of the hotels in San Francisco do the same. I will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelling MD
Business
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Apr 18, 2013

Some good and some bad

the staff were excellent, courteous, helpful, always available, always willing to go the second mile to help you. But this is an old hotel and the finest staff in the world can't change that. rooms are small and crowded. The windows are old so do not offer much sound insulation. Location is on a very noisy street and intersection so noise is a major problem at night. the heating system is a boxlike thing under the window with no instructions and difficult to figure out with no instructions on it. I was attending a medical convention and so didn't require much since I was at the convention all day. Next time I will probably look for a slightly more modern hotel for the sake of a bit more working space and quieter nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are a senior, use the public transit! At $.75 a ticket which takes you anywhere in San Francisco with any number of transfers within a two hour time, it's a bargain!

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ed from Philadelphia
Philadelphia
Dec 20, 2012

Acceptable

The hotel room was clean, dreary due age and lighting. The room was quite small, but I suppose that is to be expected for a cheap hotel near Union Square. The noise level was a bit high -- not just due to normal city sounds, but also because the building is old, the plumbing makes a lot of noise, and there is little insulation by floors and walls from other ambient noise (guests, etc.). The heat didn't work very well and the bathroom window is slatted, and although it folds up to close, does not insulate very well. The location and price are great, but overall, the hotel is unexceptional. If you're looking for a bargain and good location, perhaps this hotel is for you, but even so, I would consider looking elsewhere first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from Union Square. Short walk to a number of good restaurants.

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 18, 2010

Larkspur Review

Room was clean, but really small. Plumbing was scary...I thought that sink and tub would overflow. Toilet would take 3-4 flushes to completely flush.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
saiko
SF
Dec 12, 2011

Too expensive for it's value.

This hotel was far too expensive for it's worth. I spent $700 in 3 days for an average looking room. I thought I was getting me a good deal, but when I saw the initial room, I had to upgrade. The upgrade price was horrific, $100 a night. The porters are wonderful but the staff are rude. Parking is an additional $27 a night. Pay the same or slightly higher price somewhere generic and at least enjoy your room and stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not book without looking at the room. You think you're getting a great deal when you actually aren't. I upgraded $100 a night just for a normal room.

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, Ca
May 30, 2011

Good hotel

Good Services but small rooms and REALLY small bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MrHernandez
Lodi, CA
Jan 28, 2013

Not all that really.....

I did not expect a 5 star hotel when i waled into the hotel. But the staff made me feel welcome right away. The rooms on the other hand, were not anything like the photos. Tiny rooms, VERY thin walls and smelled like old carpet (that were stained) the shower was wonderful. We asked for high floor with a from view, we were goven a low floor with no view. After calling the front desk, we were sent one floor up with a somewhat decent view. Will not stay here again. Marriot was $50.00 more, id rather pay that and get my moneys worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This place is located in a very prime location.

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
x0oxxx
pville ca
Mar 4, 2013

never again

not stayed in to many sf hotels..for the price i paid i was very dissapointed the room barley fits the bed and a small desk.the bathroom was so cramped that the shower curtain had a hard.time closing because it hit the sink. there is no longer a bar and they were pretty unfriendly about our dog even though the site said pets welcome.over all sad enough experience to take the time to try to give a fair warning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Davis, CA
May 28, 2009

Unpleasant Experience

The hotel location is great and convenient but, our guests have some bad experience on the first day. We originally booked for a queen size room but this hotel personnel cannot find our booking when we checked in the first day. The personnel seems very inexperienced and said he is new and there was a queen size room but not set up yet. So, at the end, they put us in a VERY tiny room.tiny bed and the door was half broken. Even though they switched us to a king size room the day after ...I just thought their booking system needs some MAJOR improvement since we already paid in full in advance and cannot get the room we requested? that's just very bad!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EdnAZ
Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Sep 5, 2011

San Francisco Getaway

Hotel looks better on picture than in person, but is adequate for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Meals at The Drake were good and cost effective.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search