$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 20, 2014

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

3 stars
524 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
125 reviews
Great experience

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night and we really enjoyed our stay. Check-in was fast and... See full review

  • tdiaz12
  • Jul 3, 2014
great hotel in a great location

Terrific experience at this hotel. Great location near union square. Very clean and comfortable.... See full review

  • High blood pressure
  • Jun 1, 2013
The Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers charm and personality, while delivering great value, comfort and excellent service. Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, close to shopping, dining, entertainment, the Financial District and the Moscone Convention Center, The Cartwright Hotel Union Square is the ideal destination for the savvy business or leisure traveler. 114 guest rooms, offer modern comforts and conveniences including a signature FeatherBorne Bed package, deluxe bath amenities, plush towels, LCD flat screen TVs, iPod docking station and free high-speed wireless Internet. Those looking to unwind are encouraged to relax in the lounge, accented by a cozy fireplace. Adjacent to Bar 1915 is a quaint gift and sundries shop, providing last minute essentials and souvenirs. Cartwright Hotel Union Square is pet-friendly and 100% nonsmoking. The Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers complimentary Coffee and Tea service which is available from 7am to 10am daily. Valet parking charge is $40.00 per night.

Hotel Map

37.7894 -122.4092
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
Located at 524 Sutter Street at Powell Street. One block from Union Square, shopping, dining, entertainment, and theater. In the heart of San Francisco, the Larkspur Hotel Union Square offers a variety of area attractions including the Powell Street Cable Car line which travels to Fishermans Wharf, Pier 39, and Ghirardelli Square. Walking distance to Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Yerba Buena Gardens, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Steve Silver's Beach Blanket Babylon Comedy Show and various Art Galleries.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cartwright Hotel Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square Rooms

Queen Deluxe
Our Deluxe Queen rooms feature a Queen FeatherBorne Bed, free wireless Internet, flat screen TV, upgraded bath and body products, coffeemaker with Local Organic coffee and a work desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cartwright Hotel Union Square features conference and reception facilities with the ability to serve groups of five to fifty people. Two meeting rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet and conference call capabilities in a comfortable business environment. On site meeting professionals can help customize facilities to accommodate specific needs. In addition, a complimentary business center is available to all guests

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joann O.
Ventura, Ca
Jan 30, 2013

Great location....clean and comfortable!

Very close to Union square and four blocks from Market street. Very clean, comfortable room. Smaller room but very well decorated with good size bathroom for San Francisco. Very good location. Free internet and very good location. Golden Gate grill very close, great place for breakfast and great decor. Up the street, Vito's pizza and walking distance to chinatown as well. High recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Golden gate grill......one block up. Great breakfast, also has lunch and dinner. Great also for kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canada
Jul 2, 2009

Great hotel

I really enjoyed staying at Larkspur Hotel! Perfect location, close to everything-Union Square, China Town, Embarcadero, a lot of nice restaurants around. The service was excellent; the staff in the hotel was very friendly and helpful. When I go to San Francisco again, I would love to stay in a same hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anchorage, AK
Apr 5, 2008

very friendly

The staff at the Cartwright were all extremely friendly, recognizing me even outside the hotel and remembering my name. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations, so breakfast was not offered, only coffee or tea in the morning. The social hour with wine was very nice with people from other countries interacting. The room is a little small, especially the bathroom, but nicely decorated and comfortable. It is just a block away from the Powell street cable car. Restaurants including an inexpensive diner were right next door and a Walgreens was just across the street. The staff was extremely friendly, printing out my boarding passes for my return flight when the printer available for guests was not working properly. I also appreciated the free WiFi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Mar 16, 2008

great value, location, and staff

This is an older hotel, although with upgrades (there was a Toto toilet in my room). At the time of my visit, it was undergoing further renovation. I was in town for a meeting, and thus not around much during the day. Staff very helpful with directions, help with transportation, etc. Excellent location, about one and a half blocks from Union Square in the heart of town, about 1 block from Sears Fine Foods (dollar size Swedish pancakes available from breakfast on into the night). Half a block from the Powell St. cable car, which could be FAINTLY heard; noise was not a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to major theaters. The Macy's on Union Square has a good basement food court, including a fast food outlet by Rick Bayless (of Frontera Grill fame), if you want to feed a finicky family quickly on a budget. Hotel is a block away from the central shopping district, with many major/department stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
High blood pressure
New York
Jun 1, 2013

great hotel in a great location

Terrific experience at this hotel. Great location near union square. Very clean and comfortable. Did not think it was too noisy, but i had a higher floor. Gets the job done, especially since you will probably not be spending much time in the hotel anyways in SF. Staff was very helpful and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 23, 2007

My review of The Cartwright, a Larkspur Hotel

The Cartwright hotel in San Francisco had a very friendly and helpful staff! Our room was very small but was very clean & comfortable. The location was great..we were across the street from the cable car route and that made it very convenient to get around. There was no need to have a car as we were walking distance to many great restaurants, theatres and shopping. The breakfast was healthy and generous and the wine tasting every afternoon was very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many great restaurants close to the hotel from inexpensive to pricey ..it was great to have such a good selection!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A fan of Larkspur Hotel
Suisun City, CA
Dec 29, 2011

Great hotel. Even better hotel staff!

As my wife and I often choose to spend weekend getaways in San Francisco, we have found our home away from home at the Larkspur Hotel. From the great location to Union Square, shopping and restaurants, the comfortable hotel room, it was the entire staff that won us over. From the bell person, to room service, to the entire front desk, our future stays in San francisco will be at Larkspur Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Countypig
Tulare, CA.
Apr 22, 2009

Great place to stay!!!

We went to S.F. for a quick getaway. We were so surprised at how nice this hotel was! The room was VERY clean and the bed was so comfortable I wanted to take it home! The location is great! The staff was so friendly and helpful!! I would love to stay here again!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Oct 28, 2009

San Francisco charm

Daughter and I spent a week sight-seeing, our first visit and we loved our motel! Great staff, rooms and location. Breakfast could of been a little better if eggs or cereal, it was only croissants, muffins or fruit. Charming hotel, but you can be awakened early morning by neighbors' alarm clocks/bathroom plumbing. Beds are comfortable. We would stay there again anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We took a day tour into Muir Woods & Wine Country, double decker bus tour of city, toured Alcatraz, and saw Wicked musical....enjoyed all very much. Don't miss spending some time at Pier 39, fun area!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Jul 17, 2007

Great Stay

The Cartwright is a great and charming hotel. The rooms are updated and clean. The staff is fantastic and very helpful in giving recomendations to places to eat as well as entertainment. Breakfast and the wine hour was a treat. And to top it off, the location can't be beat! Close to EVERYTHING! I would highly recommend the Cartwright. FYI, if your someone that doesn't appreaciate the wonderful charm of older hotel's. My advice... stay in a major chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The trolly stop is just across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search