$237 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

3 stars
524 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
178 reviews
Great experience

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night and we really enjoyed our stay. Check-in was fast and... See full review

  • tdiaz12
  • Jul 3, 2014
great hotel in a great location

Terrific experience at this hotel. Great location near union square. Very clean and comfortable.... See full review

  • High blood pressure
  • Jun 1, 2013
The Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers charm and personality, while delivering great value, comfort and excellent service. Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, close to shopping, dining, entertainment, the Financial District and the Moscone Convention Center, The Cartwright Hotel Union Square is the ideal destination for the savvy business or leisure traveler. 114 guest rooms, offer modern comforts and conveniences including a signature FeatherBorne Bed package, deluxe bath amenities, plush towels, LCD flat screen TVs, iPod docking station and free high-speed wireless Internet. Those looking to unwind are encouraged to relax in the lounge, accented by a cozy fireplace. Adjacent to Bar 1915 is a quaint gift and sundries shop, providing last minute essentials and souvenirs. Cartwright Hotel Union Square is pet-friendly and 100% nonsmoking. The Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers complimentary Coffee and Tea service which is available from 7am to 10am daily. Valet parking charge is $40.00 per night.

Hotel Map

37.7894 -122.4092
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
Located at 524 Sutter Street at Powell Street. One block from Union Square, shopping, dining, entertainment, and theater. In the heart of San Francisco, the Larkspur Hotel Union Square offers a variety of area attractions including the Powell Street Cable Car line which travels to Fishermans Wharf, Pier 39, and Ghirardelli Square. Walking distance to Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Yerba Buena Gardens, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Steve Silver's Beach Blanket Babylon Comedy Show and various Art Galleries.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cartwright Hotel Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square Rooms

Queen Deluxe
Our Deluxe Queen rooms feature a Queen FeatherBorne Bed, free wireless Internet, flat screen TV, upgraded bath and body products, coffeemaker with Local Organic coffee and a work desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cartwright Hotel Union Square features conference and reception facilities with the ability to serve groups of five to fifty people. Two meeting rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet and conference call capabilities in a comfortable business environment. On site meeting professionals can help customize facilities to accommodate specific needs. In addition, a complimentary business center is available to all guests

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (178)

Ratings and reviews for The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 178
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tdiaz12
San Jose, Ca
Jul 3, 2014

Great experience

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night and we really enjoyed our stay. Check-in was fast and easy. The two ladies at the front desk were so nice and funny as well. The lobby was clean and inviting with plenty of comfy chairs to sit on while I waited for my boyfriend to bring the car over from the parking garage. The room was small but very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was also really small but it wasn't a problem at all. We got a good night sleep with little to no noise at all. We will definitely stay at the Cartwright Hotel again someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to AT&T park! Its a nice walk on a sunny day :)

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
censh08
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 2, 2014

Nice place to stay

Beds were very comfortable, room was clean. Staff was very friendly and allowed us to check in earlier than the 3pm check-in time. Overall nice place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrettR
Vancouver, BC
Feb 14, 2014

Great Location

Awesome location. Close to Union square and all downtown shops. Short walk (4 blocks) to the cable car stop for pier 39 / chinatown etc. Rooms were quaint but very comfortable and quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful including organising the airport shuttle out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SOTBD
Santiago, Chile
Jan 9, 2014

A good option in SF

We generally enjoyed our stay at the Cartwright, the staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was small, but I imagine that's par for the course in downtown SF. The most important part IMO, the bed, was fantastic, very comfortable with nice sheets. The rest of the furniture was a bit run down, but that didn't bother us one bit. WiFi worked just fine, even though we were in the back of the hotel. Room tip: the back of the hotel (Rooms ending in 09, 08, etc) was very quiet and peaceful throughout the day. Food tip: Skip the Diner next door they give you a 20% coupon for. It's like a more expensive version of Denny's and maybe not even as good. Location was great, easy to get around and plenty of good places to eat/drink nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food tip: Skip the Diner next door they give you a 20% coupon for. It's like a more expensive version of Denny's and maybe not even as good.

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fuhrball
Annapolis, MD
Sep 21, 2013

Old hotel, small rooms, excellent location

This hotel has all the characteristics of an old hotel-- small rooms, small bathrooms, no central AC, dated decor, and minimal amenities. However, the location is one of the best in the city. It's close to the cable cars, and in walking distance to Market Street. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and even got us a room with an air conditioner. Bed was comfortable, but the bathroom was no bigger than a closet. TV had more foreign channels than American, and there was no bar or restaurant in the building. We had a decent experience here, but for the price, we suggest looking elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jerryham
Reno, NV
Jul 2, 2013

Cartwright

You know you don't get too much for that price in Frisco. Good location. Friendly staff. Closet was bigger than bathroom. For the area, it was cheap and allows pets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ju e Fi
Florianopolis, Brasil
Apr 3, 2013

Aventureiros do Brasil

Perfect localization, the only bad thing is that the room we stayed was small, but comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wishing I was dreaming
Sacramento
Mar 24, 2013

Old charm, no sleep.

When I first walked into my room, I really wondered how these prices (comparable to a big chain hotel down the street) gets me so little... But then the old charm got to me. The history of the hotel, the knowledge that this is how this was a really fancy-like hotel back in the days, etc. The staff was super nice, especially Art. He was very friendly, helpful, and definitely added to the appeal of this hotel. There is one feature I did wish they would bring up-to-date however (over the flat screens in each room)... The windows. If anyone from the hotel is reading this, PLEASE take this into consideration. I truly love the old doors, small bathrooms, your staff, etc- I think it's all super charming, BUT I AM WRITING THIS FROM MY ROOM AT 3:30AM DUE TO STREET NOISE. I've actually run some comparables before writing this just to see what I would've paid if I booked the that nice chain hotel down the street, and your hotel is pricer for a King room on this particular evening. If this hotel had better sound proofing of the street, I'd stay again, even if its more expensive for the charm. Until then... I'd rather get some sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
x0oxxx
pville ca
Mar 4, 2013

never again

not stayed in to many sf hotels..for the price i paid i was very dissapointed the room barley fits the bed and a small desk.the bathroom was so cramped that the shower curtain had a hard.time closing because it hit the sink. there is no longer a bar and they were pretty unfriendly about our dog even though the site said pets welcome.over all sad enough experience to take the time to try to give a fair warning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MrHernandez
Lodi, CA
Jan 28, 2013

Not all that really.....

I did not expect a 5 star hotel when i waled into the hotel. But the staff made me feel welcome right away. The rooms on the other hand, were not anything like the photos. Tiny rooms, VERY thin walls and smelled like old carpet (that were stained) the shower was wonderful. We asked for high floor with a from view, we were goven a low floor with no view. After calling the front desk, we were sent one floor up with a somewhat decent view. Will not stay here again. Marriot was $50.00 more, id rather pay that and get my moneys worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This place is located in a very prime location.

Back to menu Return to top