$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

3 stars
View map of 524 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
131 reviews
Classic Beauty

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square was perfect for my quick trip into the city to catch a show. I... See full review

  • Janet C.
  • Jul 21, 2015
awesome trip

I loved how the staff were all about my dog. A must hotel if you have pets!! See full review

  • Vanessa R.
  • Jan 21, 2015
The Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers charm and personality, while delivering great value, comfort and excellent service. Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, close to shopping, dining, entertainment, the Financial District and the Moscone Convention Center, The Cartwright Hotel Union Square is the ideal destination for the savvy business or leisure traveler. 114 guest rooms, offer modern comforts and conveniences including a signature FeatherBorne Bed package, deluxe bath amenities, plush towels, LCD flat screen TVs, iPod docking station and free high-speed wireless Internet. Those looking to unwind are encouraged to relax in the lounge, accented by a cozy fireplace. Adjacent to Bar 1915 is a quaint gift and sundries shop, providing last minute essentials and souvenirs. Cartwright Hotel Union Square is pet-friendly and 100% nonsmoking. The Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers complimentary Coffee and Tea service which is available from 7am to 10am daily. Parking rates are $31.00 for self-parking and $41.00 for valet parking.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cartwright Hotel Union Square also booked these hotels.

★★★
$164
3.7 / 5 220 reviews
★★★★
$159
4.3 / 5 225 reviews
★★★
$189
4.1 / 5 295 reviews
★★★
$141
3.5 / 5 629 reviews
★★★
$169
3.7 / 5 76 reviews
★★★★
$194
4.1 / 5 330 reviews
★★★
$179
3.7 / 5 223 reviews
★★★★
$209
4.0 / 5 508 reviews
★★★
$138
3.1 / 5 174 reviews

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square Rooms

Queen Deluxe
Our Deluxe Queen rooms feature a Queen FeatherBorne Bed, free wireless Internet, flat screen TV, upgraded bath and body products, coffeemaker with Local Organic coffee and a work desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cartwright Hotel Union Square features conference and reception facilities with the ability to serve groups of five to fifty people. Two meeting rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet and conference call capabilities in a comfortable business environment. On site meeting professionals can help customize facilities to accommodate specific needs. In addition, a complimentary business center is available to all guests

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 131
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wedding Partiers
Couples
N/A
Jul 23, 2015

Older hotel, close distance to union square

We chose this hotel based on closeness to Union Square and for the price it was okay. The lobby is beautifully decorated but we had to park our car a few blocks away which is an inconvenience. The rooms are very outdated and I was itching the whole night, we ended up changing rooms at 2AM in the morning because I felt our room might have had bed bugs I was so itchy. We had to go across the street at 2am for Benadryl and after we changed rooms the front desk did offer a wave in our parking fees. Still I would not come back to this hotel, very outdated, seems unclean and bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canadian Super Tourist
Couples
Canada
Sep 30, 2014

Cozy, friendly, central

The staff was so warm & friendly - so incredibly helpful. It's a special place, really - like joining a family. The location is right in the heart of SF - walking distance to some of the more interesting neighbourhoods and provides so many transit options to get to the others. Also feels like Philip Marlow should be staying in the next room ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
primal
Couples
Las Vegas
Jul 29, 2014

older property, redone well, no a/c, good location

Quaint old SF hotel. Great location close to all downtown high end shopping and Chinatown. Clean and everywhere it can be made nice, it was. However there was NO air conditioning avail. Record heat made then unit warm but tolerable w/ the fan. You hear cable cars clanging bells all nite. Its a fun place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Lots of dining within walking distance. Streets are filled w people at night.

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tdiaz12
Couples
San Jose, Ca
Jul 3, 2014

Great experience

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night and we really enjoyed our stay. Check-in was fast and easy. The two ladies at the front desk were so nice and funny as well. The lobby was clean and inviting with plenty of comfy chairs to sit on while I waited for my boyfriend to bring the car over from the parking garage. The room was small but very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was also really small but it wasn't a problem at all. We got a good night sleep with little to no noise at all. We will definitely stay at the Cartwright Hotel again someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to AT&T park! Its a nice walk on a sunny day :)

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
censh08
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 2, 2014

Nice place to stay

Beds were very comfortable, room was clean. Staff was very friendly and allowed us to check in earlier than the 3pm check-in time. Overall nice place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrettR
Couples
Vancouver, BC
Feb 14, 2014

Great Location

Awesome location. Close to Union square and all downtown shops. Short walk (4 blocks) to the cable car stop for pier 39 / chinatown etc. Rooms were quaint but very comfortable and quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful including organising the airport shuttle out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fuhrball
Couples
Annapolis, MD
Sep 21, 2013

Old hotel, small rooms, excellent location

This hotel has all the characteristics of an old hotel-- small rooms, small bathrooms, no central AC, dated decor, and minimal amenities. However, the location is one of the best in the city. It's close to the cable cars, and in walking distance to Market Street. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and even got us a room with an air conditioner. Bed was comfortable, but the bathroom was no bigger than a closet. TV had more foreign channels than American, and there was no bar or restaurant in the building. We had a decent experience here, but for the price, we suggest looking elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jerryham
Couples
Reno, NV
Jul 2, 2013

Cartwright

You know you don't get too much for that price in Frisco. Good location. Friendly staff. Closet was bigger than bathroom. For the area, it was cheap and allows pets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ju e Fi
Couples
Florianopolis, Brasil
Apr 3, 2013

Aventureiros do Brasil

Perfect localization, the only bad thing is that the room we stayed was small, but comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wishing I was dreaming
Couples
Sacramento
Mar 24, 2013

Old charm, no sleep.

When I first walked into my room, I really wondered how these prices (comparable to a big chain hotel down the street) gets me so little... But then the old charm got to me. The history of the hotel, the knowledge that this is how this was a really fancy-like hotel back in the days, etc. The staff was super nice, especially Art. He was very friendly, helpful, and definitely added to the appeal of this hotel. There is one feature I did wish they would bring up-to-date however (over the flat screens in each room)... The windows. If anyone from the hotel is reading this, PLEASE take this into consideration. I truly love the old doors, small bathrooms, your staff, etc- I think it's all super charming, BUT I AM WRITING THIS FROM MY ROOM AT 3:30AM DUE TO STREET NOISE. I've actually run some comparables before writing this just to see what I would've paid if I booked the that nice chain hotel down the street, and your hotel is pricer for a King room on this particular evening. If this hotel had better sound proofing of the street, I'd stay again, even if its more expensive for the charm. Until then... I'd rather get some sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top