$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 11, 2014

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

3 stars
524 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
178 reviews
Great experience

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night and we really enjoyed our stay. Check-in was fast and... See full review

  • tdiaz12
  • Jul 3, 2014
great hotel in a great location

Terrific experience at this hotel. Great location near union square. Very clean and comfortable.... See full review

  • High blood pressure
  • Jun 1, 2013
The Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers charm and personality, while delivering great value, comfort and excellent service. Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, close to shopping, dining, entertainment, the Financial District and the Moscone Convention Center, The Cartwright Hotel Union Square is the ideal destination for the savvy business or leisure traveler. 114 guest rooms, offer modern comforts and conveniences including a signature FeatherBorne Bed package, deluxe bath amenities, plush towels, LCD flat screen TVs, iPod docking station and free high-speed wireless Internet. Those looking to unwind are encouraged to relax in the lounge, accented by a cozy fireplace. Adjacent to Bar 1915 is a quaint gift and sundries shop, providing last minute essentials and souvenirs. Cartwright Hotel Union Square is pet-friendly and 100% nonsmoking. The Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers complimentary Coffee and Tea service which is available from 7am to 10am daily. Valet parking charge is $40.00 per night.

Hotel Map

37.7894 -122.4092
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
Located at 524 Sutter Street at Powell Street. One block from Union Square, shopping, dining, entertainment, and theater. In the heart of San Francisco, the Larkspur Hotel Union Square offers a variety of area attractions including the Powell Street Cable Car line which travels to Fishermans Wharf, Pier 39, and Ghirardelli Square. Walking distance to Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Yerba Buena Gardens, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Steve Silver's Beach Blanket Babylon Comedy Show and various Art Galleries.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cartwright Hotel Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square Rooms

Queen Deluxe
Our Deluxe Queen rooms feature a Queen FeatherBorne Bed, free wireless Internet, flat screen TV, upgraded bath and body products, coffeemaker with Local Organic coffee and a work desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cartwright Hotel Union Square features conference and reception facilities with the ability to serve groups of five to fifty people. Two meeting rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet and conference call capabilities in a comfortable business environment. On site meeting professionals can help customize facilities to accommodate specific needs. In addition, a complimentary business center is available to all guests

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (178)

Ratings and reviews for The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
178 out of 178
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CPA from San Antonio
Business
San Antonio
Mar 20, 2014

Perfect location, depressing rooms

Although clean, the rooms definitely need some sprucing up. The curtains and bedskirt were ripped. I was on a business trip, so the location worked great but the rooms were depressing. I guess it didn't matter since I only got there in the evening and left early morning. But would not recommend it for a pleasure trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami
May 11, 2011

THE HOTEL IS A SCAM!

I had called to ask for a double-room and when I got there of course they did not give me one[...]. The pictures shown are not accurate. I was not told ahead nor did [...] say it was a NON-SMOKING HOTEL.I ended up paying the Larkspur which is a DIVE hotel, $250.00 upon check-out because I smoke and I smoked in my room. [...]The hotel is Garbage.That's the Best I can say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NC
Mar 16, 2011

A bit misleading...

The lobby and common areas were really neat and the location was great. The staff was disorganized, the rooms were tiny and the bathrooms were ridiculous for two people. I would not come back to this hotel at any price due to room and bathroom sizes...NOT ACCEPTABLE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
D.C. Nonprofit Traveler
Business
Washington, D.C.
Jan 31, 2014

Not worth it

I thought I could save some money by staying here but my room was TINY (and I'm used to NYC-sized rooms), dingy and smelly, and very noisy (the doors were very thin and you could hear everyone coming/going down the narrow hallway). The bathroom was very old (cracks in tub, dripping water) and the toiler kinda sorta flushed. You couldn't adjust the heat and I was sweating all night (not comfortable for sleeping). Finally, the bed was very uncomfortable (lumpy and too soft). They should have spent more money on refurbishing the rooms rather than the lobby!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
M&G couple
Chino, California
May 21, 2010

Stay away Please!

Very, very, very small room! Stains on carpet. We refused to stay. Have yet to receive refund for our room that was promised! Bathroom smaller than a broom closet. TV did not work upon entry. Website ad is not a true representation of the room you reserve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beachboundmargo
Business
Cannon Beach, OR
Feb 5, 2013

would not come back

beds are absolutely terrible, need replacing bad! unless you like an ultra soft lumpy bed. Room was okay, but the building is so old, you never really feel like touching anything...The worst part, the rooms are downtown and every sound, including the guy pressure washing the streets at 11;30 pm, the garbage, the scaffolding being pulled down early in the morning, someone rummaging through bottles, people talking, cars screaming by, shall I go on? Never never stay there again, rather stay in a hostel in the woods. But that's just me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mhnj
san francisco
Mar 4, 2014

very bad

the hotel room loking very old..the room so smal..very bad bed smal restroom

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami
May 11, 2011

THE HOTEL IS A SCAM!

I had called to ask for a double-room and when I got there of course they did not give me one[...]. The pictures shown are not accurate. I was not told ahead nor did [...] say it was a NON-SMOKING HOTEL.I ended up paying the Larkspur which is a DIVE hotel, $250.00 upon check-out because I smoke and I smoked in my room. [...]The hotel is Garbage.That's the Best I can say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Muhamed
Business
Santa Clara CA
May 6, 2014

first time and last time

Hotel reception employees is very bad .??? and network interrupted cellular phone network inside the hotel can not make a call from your cell phone inside the hotel because the network is non-existent and hotel rooms are narrow and very bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NC
Mar 16, 2011

A bit misleading...

The lobby and common areas were really neat and the location was great. The staff was disorganized, the rooms were tiny and the bathrooms were ridiculous for two people. I would not come back to this hotel at any price due to room and bathroom sizes...NOT ACCEPTABLE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top