$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

3 stars
View map of 524 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
131 reviews
Classic Beauty

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square was perfect for my quick trip into the city to catch a show. I... See full review

  • Janet C.
  • Jul 21, 2015
awesome trip

I loved how the staff were all about my dog. A must hotel if you have pets!! See full review

  • Vanessa R.
  • Jan 21, 2015
The Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers charm and personality, while delivering great value, comfort and excellent service. Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, close to shopping, dining, entertainment, the Financial District and the Moscone Convention Center, The Cartwright Hotel Union Square is the ideal destination for the savvy business or leisure traveler. 114 guest rooms, offer modern comforts and conveniences including a signature FeatherBorne Bed package, deluxe bath amenities, plush towels, LCD flat screen TVs, iPod docking station and free high-speed wireless Internet. Those looking to unwind are encouraged to relax in the lounge, accented by a cozy fireplace. Adjacent to Bar 1915 is a quaint gift and sundries shop, providing last minute essentials and souvenirs. Cartwright Hotel Union Square is pet-friendly and 100% nonsmoking. The Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers complimentary Coffee and Tea service which is available from 7am to 10am daily. Parking rates are $31.00 for self-parking and $41.00 for valet parking.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cartwright Hotel Union Square also booked these hotels.

★★★
$164
3.7 / 5 220 reviews
★★★★
$159
4.3 / 5 225 reviews
★★★
$189
4.1 / 5 295 reviews
★★★
$141
3.5 / 5 629 reviews
★★★
$169
3.7 / 5 76 reviews
★★★★
$194
4.1 / 5 330 reviews
★★★
$179
3.7 / 5 223 reviews
★★★★
$209
4.0 / 5 508 reviews
★★★
$138
3.1 / 5 174 reviews

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square Rooms

Queen Deluxe
Our Deluxe Queen rooms feature a Queen FeatherBorne Bed, free wireless Internet, flat screen TV, upgraded bath and body products, coffeemaker with Local Organic coffee and a work desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cartwright Hotel Union Square features conference and reception facilities with the ability to serve groups of five to fifty people. Two meeting rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet and conference call capabilities in a comfortable business environment. On site meeting professionals can help customize facilities to accommodate specific needs. In addition, a complimentary business center is available to all guests

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
City fix satisfied.
Family
Idaho
Dec 12, 2011

Mother/Daughter fun

Our stay at the Larkspur was absolutely perfect. The location is ideal for nearby shopping or access to the wonderful public transportation options available. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. We will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A fan of Larkspur Hotel
Couples
Suisun City, CA
Dec 29, 2011

Great hotel. Even better hotel staff!

As my wife and I often choose to spend weekend getaways in San Francisco, we have found our home away from home at the Larkspur Hotel. From the great location to Union Square, shopping and restaurants, the comfortable hotel room, it was the entire staff that won us over. From the bell person, to room service, to the entire front desk, our future stays in San francisco will be at Larkspur Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Papa Tom
Couples
San Luis Obispo, CA
May 30, 2012

What fun!

Our room was small but perfect for us. The room had everything we needed. It was very clean and the staff bent over backwards to make us feel welcome. We had valet service parking and had no worries about the safety of our vehicle. The value was great. This will be our new home away from home in San Francisco...we will rcommend to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Union Square!

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joann O.
Family
Ventura, Ca
Jan 30, 2013

Great location....clean and comfortable!

Very close to Union square and four blocks from Market street. Very clean, comfortable room. Smaller room but very well decorated with good size bathroom for San Francisco. Very good location. Free internet and very good location. Golden Gate grill very close, great place for breakfast and great decor. Up the street, Vito's pizza and walking distance to chinatown as well. High recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Golden gate grill......one block up. Great breakfast, also has lunch and dinner. Great also for kids.

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
High blood pressure
Single
New York
Jun 1, 2013

great hotel in a great location

Terrific experience at this hotel. Great location near union square. Very clean and comfortable. Did not think it was too noisy, but i had a higher floor. Gets the job done, especially since you will probably not be spending much time in the hotel anyways in SF. Staff was very helpful and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Countypig
Couples
Tulare, CA.
Apr 22, 2009

Great place to stay!!!

We went to S.F. for a quick getaway. We were so surprised at how nice this hotel was! The room was VERY clean and the bed was so comfortable I wanted to take it home! The location is great! The staff was so friendly and helpful!! I would love to stay here again!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Iowa
May 28, 2009

Great Deal and location!

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. It is a bargain, especially considering the location. It's in an older building, so the hallways, staircases and rooms can be a little narrow, but that adds to the charm. Our room had a very comfortable bed with plenty of pillows, a down comforter, flat screen TV, coffee pot, internet access, hair dryer, etc. There are full-length mirrors on the closet and bathroom door (lots of extra storage in the closet) and a CD player in the radio. We did not go but there are evening wine tastings. Close to Union Square and Chinatown -- we loved being able to walk everywhere. Our room was very quiet and dark - the only sound being the bell on the streetcar, which made it all the more romantic! We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat dim sum in Chinatown, and try to pick a restaurant that is somewhat off the main drag. Some of the best Chinese food I've had.

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 16, 2007

Great location

The Cartwright Hotel was very comfortable. The room was small and so was the bathroom but it was adequate for the small amount of time we spent in our room. The location is what sold us on the hotel. We were 1 block from the cable car line and we were within walking distance from many fine restaurants. The entire staff was excellent. They were courteous, helpful and very personal. The extras (wine tasting and an excellent continental breakfast) made our stay even more satisfying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lori's Diner is on the corner. It was recommended by the hotel manager. We ate lunch there and a late night dessert. Both were very good.

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
May 28, 2008

overall wonderful hotel

The staff and location make this a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Mar 16, 2008

great value, location, and staff

This is an older hotel, although with upgrades (there was a Toto toilet in my room). At the time of my visit, it was undergoing further renovation. I was in town for a meeting, and thus not around much during the day. Staff very helpful with directions, help with transportation, etc. Excellent location, about one and a half blocks from Union Square in the heart of town, about 1 block from Sears Fine Foods (dollar size Swedish pancakes available from breakfast on into the night). Half a block from the Powell St. cable car, which could be FAINTLY heard; noise was not a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to major theaters. The Macy's on Union Square has a good basement food court, including a fast food outlet by Rick Bayless (of Frontera Grill fame), if you want to feed a finicky family quickly on a budget. Hotel is a block away from the central shopping district, with many major/department stores.

Back to menu Return to top