The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

3 stars
View map of 524 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oregon city or
Jun 28, 2011

ok for short visit

noisy at night due to outside second floor air fan kicking in and out every hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stockton, CA
Jun 13, 2011

"Not bad for the price"

Room and bathroom were very small, but very clean. Beds were comfortable. Location was great. Except the parking garage was around the corner for self park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Grad Tour
Business
New Yrok, NY
May 31, 2011

Graduation Trip

I used this hotel for it's great location and it was recommended by Academy of Arts University. All my basic needs were met and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, Ca
May 30, 2011

Good hotel

Good Services but small rooms and REALLY small bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
May 23, 2011

Bad Choice

The overall hotel was very romantic and had a nice feeling about it until you realize your rooms were tiny and the bathrooms were pathetic. There is no room service and the staff seems incapable of answering questions when asked. The rooms were tiny and had no refrigerators or any amenities that you normally see at a hotel. The price is overrated and they charge you 41 dollars a day for valet parking although most of the hotels in San Francisco do the same. I will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
May 11, 2011

THE HOTEL IS A SCAM!

I had called to ask for a double-room and when I got there of course they did not give me one[...]. The pictures shown are not accurate. I was not told ahead nor did [...] say it was a NON-SMOKING HOTEL.I ended up paying the Larkspur which is a DIVE hotel, $250.00 upon check-out because I smoke and I smoked in my room. [...]The hotel is Garbage.That's the Best I can say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Mar 16, 2011

A bit misleading...

The lobby and common areas were really neat and the location was great. The staff was disorganized, the rooms were tiny and the bathrooms were ridiculous for two people. I would not come back to this hotel at any price due to room and bathroom sizes...NOT ACCEPTABLE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, CA
Feb 24, 2011

Can't judge a book by it's cover

Nice ambience as you enter the front lobby, but when you get into the room... you feel like your in a small box (5'x 5').... The building is old, piping running throughout the walls and there is no central air/heat, merely furnace for heat and a ceiling fan for air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Feb 13, 2011

An excellent value

This hotel has a very good location (Union square, Bart Station, and Cable Cars). My room was small but well appointed, very clean, and fitted with an excellent bed. The amenaties are modest but adequate and unless you expect to spend a lot of time in your hotel room, this hotel is an excellent value. And the WiFi is free. The front desk staff was top notch; professional, helpful, and eager to please.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are good, very good, excellent, and 5* restaurants within 4 blocks.

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
down about price
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jan 22, 2011

Loved it....

I loved staying here. It was perfect for its location. The staff was friendly and the room did what I needed it to do. I did stay here in 2009 and was hoping to return again this June. Unfortunately, the price is $1400 more than it was then. I don't believe this hotel is worth almost $2000 dollars to stay at. I like it there but not for that price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top