$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

3 stars
View map of 524 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beachboundmargo
Business
Cannon Beach, OR
Feb 5, 2013

would not come back

beds are absolutely terrible, need replacing bad! unless you like an ultra soft lumpy bed. Room was okay, but the building is so old, you never really feel like touching anything...The worst part, the rooms are downtown and every sound, including the guy pressure washing the streets at 11;30 pm, the garbage, the scaffolding being pulled down early in the morning, someone rummaging through bottles, people talking, cars screaming by, shall I go on? Never never stay there again, rather stay in a hostel in the woods. But that's just me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joann O.
Business
Ventura, Ca
Jan 30, 2013

Great location....clean and comfortable!

Very close to Union square and four blocks from Market street. Very clean, comfortable room. Smaller room but very well decorated with good size bathroom for San Francisco. Very good location. Free internet and very good location. Golden Gate grill very close, great place for breakfast and great decor. Up the street, Vito's pizza and walking distance to chinatown as well. High recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Golden gate grill......one block up. Great breakfast, also has lunch and dinner. Great also for kids.

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MrHernandez
Business
Lodi, CA
Jan 28, 2013

Not all that really.....

I did not expect a 5 star hotel when i waled into the hotel. But the staff made me feel welcome right away. The rooms on the other hand, were not anything like the photos. Tiny rooms, VERY thin walls and smelled like old carpet (that were stained) the shower was wonderful. We asked for high floor with a from view, we were goven a low floor with no view. After calling the front desk, we were sent one floor up with a somewhat decent view. Will not stay here again. Marriot was $50.00 more, id rather pay that and get my moneys worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This place is located in a very prime location.

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tami Mc
Business
Hood River, OR
Jan 25, 2013

Cozy convenience

I happen to really like the small rooms of boutique hotels in SF. This room was great. Bed super comfy. Was loud - but due to the super early trash collectors, no fault of the hotel. The things that would put this hotel over the top for me would be robes and an easier heating system (not super familiar with how to make the radiator work, but it worked out). Staff was super friendly. Hoping to stay here on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant and bar at the Burrit Room - just around the corner. And great service and ambiance at Sears restaurant, also around the corner.

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
badass
Business
California
Jan 23, 2013

Great location

Overall a nice hotel and comfortable but old which may turn some people off. Room was small and walls were thin but that's expected in a hotel that was built in the 1920's. Staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. Great location right in the heart of Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adam Ithaca
Business
Ithaca, NY
Jan 22, 2013

Good Solid Place to Stay

Nice digs, good location. Nothing fancy, but safe, clean, convenient and reliable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annie's Mom and Granny
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 14, 2013

Comfortable, clean, convenient, charming

My mom and I loved this hotel! It's an old building that has been extensively updated, but still retains a lot of its old charm. If you're used to slick and modern, you might not like this hotel. But if you've been to European small hotels and enjoyed them, you'll be right at home! The beds were incredibly comfortable with cozy duvets and lots of pillows. Funny old furniture and bathroom (with updated fixtures) just added to the charm. Very convenient location. Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stainsdad
Business
sF
Dec 29, 2012

SF over nighter

Luv'd the Bay Area. Cable cars were cool and Chinatown food great. Piers were also nice. Hotel was nice and looked upscale but very old. Piping and electrical conduit exposed. Old steam radiator heater. Sorta like the overpriced Beverly Hills Hotel rooms in the old section except this overlooked a roof instead of the kitchen dumpster. Staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ed from Philadelphia
Business
Philadelphia
Dec 20, 2012

Acceptable

The hotel room was clean, dreary due age and lighting. The room was quite small, but I suppose that is to be expected for a cheap hotel near Union Square. The noise level was a bit high -- not just due to normal city sounds, but also because the building is old, the plumbing makes a lot of noise, and there is little insulation by floors and walls from other ambient noise (guests, etc.). The heat didn't work very well and the bathroom window is slatted, and although it folds up to close, does not insulate very well. The location and price are great, but overall, the hotel is unexceptional. If you're looking for a bargain and good location, perhaps this hotel is for you, but even so, I would consider looking elsewhere first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from Union Square. Short walk to a number of good restaurants.

Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savvy Saver
Business
Bakersfield, California
Dec 4, 2012

fantastic location

The hotel itself is nice and the staff is very warning and friendly. The location is amazing and very close to union square and only a short walk to market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top