$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

3 stars
524 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
128 reviews
Great experience

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night and we really enjoyed our stay. Check-in was fast and... See full review

  • tdiaz12
  • Jul 3, 2014
Cozy, friendly, central

The staff was so warm & friendly - so incredibly helpful. It's a special place, really - like... See full review

  • Canadian Super Tourist
  • Sep 30, 2014
The Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers charm and personality, while delivering great value, comfort and excellent service. Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, close to shopping, dining, entertainment, the Financial District and the Moscone Convention Center, The Cartwright Hotel Union Square is the ideal destination for the savvy business or leisure traveler. 114 guest rooms, offer modern comforts and conveniences including a signature FeatherBorne Bed package, deluxe bath amenities, plush towels, LCD flat screen TVs, iPod docking station and free high-speed wireless Internet. Those looking to unwind are encouraged to relax in the lounge, accented by a cozy fireplace. Adjacent to Bar 1915 is a quaint gift and sundries shop, providing last minute essentials and souvenirs. Cartwright Hotel Union Square is pet-friendly and 100% nonsmoking. The Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers complimentary Coffee and Tea service which is available from 7am to 10am daily. Valet parking charge is $40.00 per night.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cartwright Hotel Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square Rooms

Queen Deluxe
Our Deluxe Queen rooms feature a Queen FeatherBorne Bed, free wireless Internet, flat screen TV, upgraded bath and body products, coffeemaker with Local Organic coffee and a work desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cartwright Hotel Union Square features conference and reception facilities with the ability to serve groups of five to fifty people. Two meeting rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet and conference call capabilities in a comfortable business environment. On site meeting professionals can help customize facilities to accommodate specific needs. In addition, a complimentary business center is available to all guests

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jewy
Business
Miami, Florida
Jun 7, 2013

No A/C

Charming hotel in Union Square. No A/C in the rooms, but in San Francisco you can get away with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yaoski
Business
Iowa
Jun 3, 2013

Awesome City Experience

Located right in the middle of Union Square. 10 min walk to any major brand-name clothing store you can think of. Also surrounded by many great food options, and close to the BART station for transportation to other parts of the city. 10 min walk to Chinatown, 15 min to the Moscone Convention Center. Rooms are a little small, but that's expected considering its urban location. Beds are extremely comfortable. Wasn't sure how to work the A/C but the ceiling fan was just fine even on very hot days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Crissy Fields Beach by the Golden Gate Bridge

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
High blood pressure
Business
New York
Jun 1, 2013

great hotel in a great location

Terrific experience at this hotel. Great location near union square. Very clean and comfortable. Did not think it was too noisy, but i had a higher floor. Gets the job done, especially since you will probably not be spending much time in the hotel anyways in SF. Staff was very helpful and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelling MD
Business
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Apr 18, 2013

Some good and some bad

the staff were excellent, courteous, helpful, always available, always willing to go the second mile to help you. But this is an old hotel and the finest staff in the world can't change that. rooms are small and crowded. The windows are old so do not offer much sound insulation. Location is on a very noisy street and intersection so noise is a major problem at night. the heating system is a boxlike thing under the window with no instructions and difficult to figure out with no instructions on it. I was attending a medical convention and so didn't require much since I was at the convention all day. Next time I will probably look for a slightly more modern hotel for the sake of a bit more working space and quieter nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are a senior, use the public transit! At $.75 a ticket which takes you anywhere in San Francisco with any number of transfers within a two hour time, it's a bargain!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ju e Fi
Business
Florianopolis, Brasil
Apr 3, 2013

Aventureiros do Brasil

Perfect localization, the only bad thing is that the room we stayed was small, but comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wishing I was dreaming
Business
Sacramento
Mar 24, 2013

Old charm, no sleep.

When I first walked into my room, I really wondered how these prices (comparable to a big chain hotel down the street) gets me so little... But then the old charm got to me. The history of the hotel, the knowledge that this is how this was a really fancy-like hotel back in the days, etc. The staff was super nice, especially Art. He was very friendly, helpful, and definitely added to the appeal of this hotel. There is one feature I did wish they would bring up-to-date however (over the flat screens in each room)... The windows. If anyone from the hotel is reading this, PLEASE take this into consideration. I truly love the old doors, small bathrooms, your staff, etc- I think it's all super charming, BUT I AM WRITING THIS FROM MY ROOM AT 3:30AM DUE TO STREET NOISE. I've actually run some comparables before writing this just to see what I would've paid if I booked the that nice chain hotel down the street, and your hotel is pricer for a King room on this particular evening. If this hotel had better sound proofing of the street, I'd stay again, even if its more expensive for the charm. Until then... I'd rather get some sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
x0oxxx
Business
pville ca
Mar 4, 2013

never again

not stayed in to many sf hotels..for the price i paid i was very dissapointed the room barley fits the bed and a small desk.the bathroom was so cramped that the shower curtain had a hard.time closing because it hit the sink. there is no longer a bar and they were pretty unfriendly about our dog even though the site said pets welcome.over all sad enough experience to take the time to try to give a fair warning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelmantravelman
Business
SoCal
Feb 26, 2013

great location, could be nicer

Room was cold, but they offered a portable heater. Friendly staff, although I didn't interact with them much. It's an older place with some history, but could be nicer with some more attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shankmonster
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 12, 2013

OK

The location was great. Found room to be noisy, could hear people in next room and hallways. Bathroom window was drafty, making the bathroom cold and not comfortable. Could not figure out how to get heat in my room, heater seemed to be broken?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is one block from Union Square, making it a great location for shoppong.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beachboundmargo
Business
Cannon Beach, OR
Feb 5, 2013

would not come back

beds are absolutely terrible, need replacing bad! unless you like an ultra soft lumpy bed. Room was okay, but the building is so old, you never really feel like touching anything...The worst part, the rooms are downtown and every sound, including the guy pressure washing the streets at 11;30 pm, the garbage, the scaffolding being pulled down early in the morning, someone rummaging through bottles, people talking, cars screaming by, shall I go on? Never never stay there again, rather stay in a hostel in the woods. But that's just me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top