$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

3 stars
View map of 524 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RayPRQ
Business
Pasadena, CA
Sep 29, 2014

Like any real estate: all about location!

The value of The Cartwright is its location, just off the northwest corner of San Francisco's Union Square (shopping and entertainment district). This prime real estate means you don't hear the crowds or the cable cars all day and night, but you are close to both. You are also steps away from a Walgreens drug/grocery store, and the 24-hours Lori's Diner. The downside is that the rooms and the interiors are very dated. The closet is big enough to feel like a walk-in, with a dresser and ironing board inside it, but it's bigger than the bathroom (which required stepping over the toilet to get to the shower, but thankfully, there was a clean and deep tub for soaking after a day of walking about). Even the alarm clock felt old: it played CDs, but had no auxiliary port for an iDevice - who still travels with CDs these days? So the price was worth it for me to be near everything I wanted to see and do during a weekend getaway return visit to the city I called home for ten years. I wanted serviceable, and I got at least that. Luckily, I never intended to "live" my weekend in the hotel, so the Cartwright served its duty. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the available tickets at the Theatre Bay Area booth on Powell Street (west) side of Union Square: great deals for all kinds of entertainment from walking tours to theatrical productions and special festivals/events.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dog. Owner
Business
Oregon
Sep 7, 2014

Not Pet Friendly

The staff at the front desk is very nice, however, the pet waiver they give you to sign when you check in is a shock. Your pet can not weigh more than 50 pounds. I had a 70 lb lab. You cannot leave the pet in the room alone at any time so if you are planning on dinner or museum trips or theater, better change your plans. Your pet better be able to walk all day, night and day. You cannot leave the pet when the maid comes, even if you are in the room. The room is tinier than the tiniest. Even if they let you keep the pet in the room, you would not want to. My window opened on to a brick wall. There is no A/C.. All I wanted to do was run. The one good thing is that because of the unexpected pet waiver, they refunded my money. I was fortunate, however, because I was able to stay with a friend. I would have been stranded with a pet in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Milpitas monitor
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 5, 2014

business stay

the Hotel was dated but clean and the staff was very helpful. Parking was expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lisalisalisa
Business
Vancouver BC
Aug 25, 2014

Cartwright Hotel - A OK for Work Travel

Stayed 3 nights at the Cartwright for work. The hotel is a wee boutique spot in Union Square. Perfect location for wandering and central for work meetings. Not a lot of amenities in room but has everything one needs to work a bit in room and be comfortable. Great desk staff more than happy to help with transportation to airport and any questions. Wont knock your socks off fancy but quality spot for a few night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
primal
Business
Las Vegas
Jul 29, 2014

older property, redone well, no a/c, good location

Quaint old SF hotel. Great location close to all downtown high end shopping and Chinatown. Clean and everywhere it can be made nice, it was. However there was NO air conditioning avail. Record heat made then unit warm but tolerable w/ the fan. You hear cable cars clanging bells all nite. Its a fun place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Lots of dining within walking distance. Streets are filled w people at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tdiaz12
Business
San Jose, Ca
Jul 3, 2014

Great experience

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night and we really enjoyed our stay. Check-in was fast and easy. The two ladies at the front desk were so nice and funny as well. The lobby was clean and inviting with plenty of comfy chairs to sit on while I waited for my boyfriend to bring the car over from the parking garage. The room was small but very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was also really small but it wasn't a problem at all. We got a good night sleep with little to no noise at all. We will definitely stay at the Cartwright Hotel again someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to AT&T park! Its a nice walk on a sunny day :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
censh08
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 2, 2014

Nice place to stay

Beds were very comfortable, room was clean. Staff was very friendly and allowed us to check in earlier than the 3pm check-in time. Overall nice place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RangerPro
Business
Ft Walton Beach, FL
Jun 28, 2014

Clean, Close to the Action, Great Value

While San Fran has no lack of this type of independent hotel converted from old buildings, my room was nicely done and had a great bed, TV, and other amenities. Only one block north of Union Square and within throwing distance of Powell Ave, it's a great location from which to explore the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nick Namelessnot accepted
Business
West Bay
Jun 12, 2014

Perfect location for a business trip with added on sightseeing

Perfect location within easy walking distance to most of the sightseeing "must-do's". Staff were helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a 1-day or 3-day ($23) San Francisco pass and it covers the buses and cable cars all day and just about any route. A single cable car ride is $2.00 per trip, f-line you need exact cash etc etc. The pass is well worth it and hassle free. Can be purchased at the bottom of Powell street. San Francisco Shuttle Tours day tour. $69. Covers ferry to Sasalito, drive across Golden Gate, Palace of Fine Arts, Lombard Street, Pacific Heights and lots lots more. Worth every cent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ilikecokecola
Business
Fresno, CA
May 21, 2014

Great Local!

Small room, but cozy, great location, friendly staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Piano Bar Johnny Foley's around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top