$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 27, 2014

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

3 stars
524 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
125 reviews
Great experience

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night and we really enjoyed our stay. Check-in was fast and... See full review

  • tdiaz12
  • Jul 3, 2014
great hotel in a great location

Terrific experience at this hotel. Great location near union square. Very clean and comfortable.... See full review

  • High blood pressure
  • Jun 1, 2013
The Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers charm and personality, while delivering great value, comfort and excellent service. Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, close to shopping, dining, entertainment, the Financial District and the Moscone Convention Center, The Cartwright Hotel Union Square is the ideal destination for the savvy business or leisure traveler. 114 guest rooms, offer modern comforts and conveniences including a signature FeatherBorne Bed package, deluxe bath amenities, plush towels, LCD flat screen TVs, iPod docking station and free high-speed wireless Internet. Those looking to unwind are encouraged to relax in the lounge, accented by a cozy fireplace. Adjacent to Bar 1915 is a quaint gift and sundries shop, providing last minute essentials and souvenirs. Cartwright Hotel Union Square is pet-friendly and 100% nonsmoking. The Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers complimentary Coffee and Tea service which is available from 7am to 10am daily. Valet parking charge is $40.00 per night.

Hotel Map

37.7894 -122.4092
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International (OAK)Oakland International
Area description
Located at 524 Sutter Street at Powell Street. One block from Union Square, shopping, dining, entertainment, and theater. In the heart of San Francisco, the Larkspur Hotel Union Square offers a variety of area attractions including the Powell Street Cable Car line which travels to Fishermans Wharf, Pier 39, and Ghirardelli Square. Walking distance to Chinatown, the Financial District, Moscone Convention Center, Yerba Buena Gardens, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Steve Silver's Beach Blanket Babylon Comedy Show and various Art Galleries.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cartwright Hotel Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square Rooms

Queen Deluxe
Our Deluxe Queen rooms feature a Queen FeatherBorne Bed, free wireless Internet, flat screen TV, upgraded bath and body products, coffeemaker with Local Organic coffee and a work desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cartwright Hotel Union Square features conference and reception facilities with the ability to serve groups of five to fifty people. Two meeting rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet and conference call capabilities in a comfortable business environment. On site meeting professionals can help customize facilities to accommodate specific needs. In addition, a complimentary business center is available to all guests

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smyrna, GA Traveler
Atlanta
Jun 15, 2009

Good for short stay

Stayed only one night due to a late flight from Atlanta. We were on our way to Carmel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Jun 1, 2009

Cozy Accomodations and Great Location

The hotel is conveniently located to many shops and dining opportunities with the gates of Chinatown 3 blocks away. We found the easiest way around was to buy the 3 (or 7) day pass for the Muni that covers the Cable cars (next to impossible on the weekends), the busses and the street cars. There is very few street vendors compared to the other areas we visited, so you are not always being asked to buy things, however like much of the rest of the city, there is no shortage of people begging for money. The beds are very comfortable and rooms are fairly quiet. There is no restaurant or dining in the hotel, however they have complimentary wine tasting in the evenings. They told us they will be getting their license in the next couple of weeks, so they will open the bar and the wine tastings till be going away. There is a diner next door and a 24 hour Walgreen's across the street. The staff is friendly and knowledgable about the area, especially the transportation options. The wireless internet only seems to work in the Lobby area and they also provide 2 computers and a printer for guest use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks away on O'Farrell is a nice little Irish place (Johnny Foley's) that offers an upstairs for some relatively quiet food and drink, or a dueling piano bar downstairs on the weekends. Many other nightlife options are available and easy to find on sfguide.com.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
May 28, 2009

Great Deal and location!

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. It is a bargain, especially considering the location. It's in an older building, so the hallways, staircases and rooms can be a little narrow, but that adds to the charm. Our room had a very comfortable bed with plenty of pillows, a down comforter, flat screen TV, coffee pot, internet access, hair dryer, etc. There are full-length mirrors on the closet and bathroom door (lots of extra storage in the closet) and a CD player in the radio. We did not go but there are evening wine tastings. Close to Union Square and Chinatown -- we loved being able to walk everywhere. Our room was very quiet and dark - the only sound being the bell on the streetcar, which made it all the more romantic! We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat dim sum in Chinatown, and try to pick a restaurant that is somewhat off the main drag. Some of the best Chinese food I've had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Davis, CA
May 28, 2009

Unpleasant Experience

The hotel location is great and convenient but, our guests have some bad experience on the first day. We originally booked for a queen size room but this hotel personnel cannot find our booking when we checked in the first day. The personnel seems very inexperienced and said he is new and there was a queen size room but not set up yet. So, at the end, they put us in a VERY tiny room.tiny bed and the door was half broken. Even though they switched us to a king size room the day after ...I just thought their booking system needs some MAJOR improvement since we already paid in full in advance and cannot get the room we requested? that's just very bad!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Diamond Bar, CA
May 27, 2009

Great hotel and location for the price

We stayed here for 3 days and loved it!The location is great for the price!Right next to Powell Street(shopping and dining)very easy to hail cabs,just a few mins walk to the bart station(5-10mins).The staffs were ok although 1 wasn't that friendly,I didn't get her name.We arrived at 2pm last May 23 and the room wasn't ready.I called to inform them 2 months prior that we're going to check-in in advance.Although we get to leave our luggage and they'll take care of it.The room is clean,loved their shampoo and conditioner by Lather.It's pretty quiet at night,although you'll still hear cars passing by when you open the window.The space is small,just enough room for the bed and a little space to walk by going to the bathroom,but it's ok.They have a big closet space.We'll definitely come back and stay here again.Loved it! =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
May 11, 2009

Great service, friendly and comfortable

Really friendly and amenable staff. The hotel is right in the heart of Union Square. The BART is within walking distance. Very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ohio1
columbus, oh
Apr 24, 2009

nice hotel, great location

We really liked the Larkspur. It was a block from the cable car and within walking distance of Chinatown and union square. The rooms were small but nice and clean. We really liked the complimentary wine at happy hour!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Countypig
Tulare, CA.
Apr 22, 2009

Great place to stay!!!

We went to S.F. for a quick getaway. We were so surprised at how nice this hotel was! The room was VERY clean and the bed was so comfortable I wanted to take it home! The location is great! The staff was so friendly and helpful!! I would love to stay here again!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 13, 2008

Great location to Cable Cars & Union Plaza

Great location central to Union Square shopping and dining. Cable car just one street over. Our room was extremely small, European qualities, the decor and paint were fairly dated and in need of a fresh-up. Overall however, we found our accomodations good. The staff was very friendly and knowledgable. Loved the kitty and puppy bowls & treats in the lobby, so cute!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix
Aug 28, 2008

Great location

The hotel was in a great location but the rooms were very small. My husband and I never found the air conditioning unit if there was one!? Luckily, the temperature was nice outside and we kept the window open for fresh air. The staff was pleasant and the lobby was very nice. The hotel location was near great shopping and restaraunts. Also, the bed was super comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search