$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

3 stars
524 Sutter St., San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
130 reviews
awesome trip

I loved how the staff were all about my dog. A must hotel if you have pets!! See full review

  • Vanessa R.
  • Jan 21, 2015
Great experience

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night and we really enjoyed our stay. Check-in was fast and... See full review

  • tdiaz12
  • Jul 3, 2014
The Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers charm and personality, while delivering great value, comfort and excellent service. Conveniently located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, close to shopping, dining, entertainment, the Financial District and the Moscone Convention Center, The Cartwright Hotel Union Square is the ideal destination for the savvy business or leisure traveler. 114 guest rooms, offer modern comforts and conveniences including a signature FeatherBorne Bed package, deluxe bath amenities, plush towels, LCD flat screen TVs, iPod docking station and free high-speed wireless Internet. Those looking to unwind are encouraged to relax in the lounge, accented by a cozy fireplace. Adjacent to Bar 1915 is a quaint gift and sundries shop, providing last minute essentials and souvenirs. Cartwright Hotel Union Square is pet-friendly and 100% nonsmoking. The Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers complimentary Coffee and Tea service which is available from 7am to 10am daily. Valet parking charge is $40.00 per night.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cartwright Hotel Union Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Cartwright Hotel Union Square Rooms

Queen Deluxe
Our Deluxe Queen rooms feature a Queen FeatherBorne Bed, free wireless Internet, flat screen TV, upgraded bath and body products, coffeemaker with Local Organic coffee and a work desk.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Cartwright Hotel Union Square features conference and reception facilities with the ability to serve groups of five to fifty people. Two meeting rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet and conference call capabilities in a comfortable business environment. On site meeting professionals can help customize facilities to accommodate specific needs. In addition, a complimentary business center is available to all guests

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YngCouple
Business
St. Petersburg, FL
Jan 25, 2010

All around great place

Overall this hotel was great! We had already read the reviews about the rooms being small, so we were not surprised. But the size of the room really didn't matter, since it was just my boyfriend and I and we were going to be around town most of our trip anyway. You can hear noise from the hallway pretty clearly, but luckily we weren't close to anyone too noisy. The location was great, and the staff were very friendly. No problems at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sonoma County
Dec 7, 2009

Very Nice Hotel

Our experience was very nice. I called to ask if we could check in about an hour early and the woman at the front desk was very friendly and let us do that. She also told me she upgraded our room from what it originally was. (Not sure if that was true). The room was very clean and the bed comfy. The room was small but it was perfect for just one night.Wasn't loud at all and we had the windows open for some fresh air. The location was great, just about a block or two from Union square. Called down for ice and it was brought right away. I also called down to the front desk for recommendations for restaurants near by and they couldnt seem to give me any over the phone. They wanted me to come down so they could point me in the right direction. We found great restaurants all around so that didn't end up being a problem. It just is nice when the staff can recommend something. Overall our stay was wonderful for the price we paid. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Company Party People
Business
Campbell, CA
Dec 6, 2009

Interesting Night

Overall the experience with the hotel was fine; we did almost have a bit of an issue with check-in. I had made the reservation for the hotel on November 24th, with obviously the intent to stay on December 5th. When we arrived at the hotel my name was not on the reservation list for December 5th, instead it was for the November 24th date, the day I made the reservation. I did have my confirmation print out and luckily we were able to stay in a room (even though it was quite small and not the room we reserved) and things worked out fine. We do have another trip planned through this site for late in January and hope the only issues we encounter are weather related

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
APG
Business
Hawaii
Nov 30, 2009

Great place

Fantastic location, well kept rooms. rather small and the paint job wasn't all that great. but we enjoyed it greatly. no real complains about anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Nov 24, 2009

Nice hotel, but small rooms

The Hotel is in an excellent location. You can walk to a number of great fine dining locations and city life. The rooms were rather small, but clean. The beds were AMAZING!!!! So comfortable. The rooms were very clean, but did need a few small touch-up repairs. The heat doesn't seem to be on at all and they actually had to bring in a space heater for us. The "free-wifi" doesn't work in the rooms very well. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and helped us with any problems. Overall, the hotel was ok, but location was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lori's Diner, which is on the corner right next to the Hotel has AMAZING food. Definitely check them out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Oct 28, 2009

San Francisco charm

Daughter and I spent a week sight-seeing, our first visit and we loved our motel! Great staff, rooms and location. Breakfast could of been a little better if eggs or cereal, it was only croissants, muffins or fruit. Charming hotel, but you can be awakened early morning by neighbors' alarm clocks/bathroom plumbing. Beds are comfortable. We would stay there again anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We took a day tour into Muir Woods & Wine Country, double decker bus tour of city, toured Alcatraz, and saw Wicked musical....enjoyed all very much. Don't miss spending some time at Pier 39, fun area!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Oct 22, 2009

Great location for the price

Perfect location if you are looking for a place to stay right near Union Square, especially if you happen to be running in the Nike Women's Marathon. Great location at a very reasonable price. The hotel service was excellent and the staff was very friendly. They were a great source in helping you get around town and restaurant suggestions. Be prepared for a pretty small room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
scottsdale, az
Oct 10, 2009

Nice little place

This is a fine hotel for the price. The location is ideal. You can walk to the Wharf, if you're in shape because those hills are crazy. There's tons of places to eat and drink right around you. The rooms are small. It was just the two of us and we had just enough room for two carry on bags. The bed however makes it worth it. I wanted to steal the bed. It's perfect after a long day of sightseeing. The bathroom is insanely small. You cannot fit two people in that room at once. No fan. No counter. Not great water pressure. The bathroom is maybe three steps from the bed. You hear everything that goes on in that bathroom. Great decor. Free breakfast is just carbs, OJ and coffee. Good to get something before your real breakfast. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arkansas
Oct 6, 2009

Great location and friendly staff

Small rooms, but extremely nice.........location was super for getting anywhere with ease. Staff was very helpful and very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Cartwright Hotel Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 1, 2009

Great!

Friendly staff, excellent service, great location. The only drawback was a very small continental breakfast (rolls and fruit). Could use something not sweet. However, there are good breakfast places nearby. Overall, I'd definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top