$140 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Sleep Over Sauce

1 star
135 Gough Street, 135 Gough Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
7 reviews
Home from home

I really enjoyed my (second!) stay here - the guest house is so friendly and everyone was very... See full review

  • BexF
  • Apr 23, 2014
Very impressed

At the price I paid, I was not expecting much from this urban guest house but this was truly an... See full review

  • EcoTraveler
  • Feb 11, 2012
Shows, travel, business, or pleasure this is the place. Sleep Over Sauce is a unique, 9 room, boutique inn located in San Franciscos number one shopping and entertainment hub, Hayes Valley. We are located in the center of the city, in one of San Franciscos most lively neighborhoods. With the shopping in Hayes Valley, the shows and events in the Civic Center, and only a short walk to both the Castro and the Haight Ashbury districts, Sleep Over Sauce is truly in the heart of the action. The name, Sleep Over Sauce, comes from the location over the top of our award winning restaurant Sauce. Nate, Trip, and Matt Hosley, along with Chef Ben Paula opened Sauce Restaurant in 2004. In 2009, we were offered the chance to extend our hospitality to the fantastic space upstairs. Sleep Over Sauce is a modern city inn and the bar at Sauce is the heart of our operation, serving as our front desk for most of the day. Sleep Over Sauce has 8 rooms which can be rented individually like a traditional hotel. All of our rooms have private bathrooms and we have a variety of room configurations, every room has at least a queen size bed, all are stocked with high quality oversized bedding and plush bamboo, Egyptian cotton blend towels for your comfort. Do you have a large group or family event in SF. Sleep Over Sauce is a fantastic home base. Whatever the occasion, we are always happy to host. With 10 beds in 8 rooms we can easily sleep 20. The common area, great room, can be transformed into a meeting space, living room, dining area, or whatever you want it to be during your stay. We can cater meals and room service from Sauce or host small parties or even larger dinners downstairs in the private dining room. Our restaurant is open from 5pm 2am daily and we serve dinner until at least 1am. Sleep Over Sauce is a great place to call home while in the city, we are always happy to cater to your needs. Front desk is available 12pm 2am.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sleep Over Sauce also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Sleep Over Sauce Rooms

2 Queen Bridge Suite
Our Bridge Suite has two separate rooms that share one bathroom. Each room has a queen size bed in it. This is a great room for couple traveling together. It is non smoking and includes wireless internet access, remote control Direct TV, Ipod dock, alarm clock radio, bamboo sheets and plush towels, organic soap and shampoo.
1 King Bed Nonsmoking
This room has 1 king bed with an attached bathroom. It is non smoking and includes wireless internet access, remote control Direct TV, Ipod dock, alarm clock radio, bamboo sheets and plush towels, organic soap and shampoo.
2 Queen Beds Nonsmoking
This room has 2 queen beds with an attached bathroom. It is non smoking and includes wireless internet access, remote control Direct TV, Ipod dock, alarm clock radio, bamboo sheets and plush towels, organic soap and shampoo.
1 Queen Bed detached bath
This room has 1 queen bed with a detached bathroom. The bathroom is not shared but it is located across the hall. It is non smoking and includes wireless internet access, remote control Direct TV, Ipod dock, alarm clock radio, bamboo sheets and plush towels, organic soap and shampoo.
1 Queen Bed Nonsmoking
This room has 1 queen bed with an attached bathroom. It is non smoking and includes wireless internet access, remote control Direct TV, Ipod dock, alarm clock radio, bamboo sheets and plush towels, organic soap and shampoo.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 0.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Union Square: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 0.7 mi
  • Mission Delores: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Union Square: 1.3 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.3 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1.6 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.8 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.8 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.9 mi
  • Twin Peaks: 1.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 2.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 2.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 2.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 2.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 2.4 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Morrison Planetarium: 2.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 2.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 2.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 2.4 mi

Dining

Sauce
Onsite. Serves Lunch and Dinner
Jardinier
Offsite
Absinthe
Offsite
Zunni
Offsite
Paul K
Offsite
Otoro
Offsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (7)

Ratings and reviews for Sleep Over Sauce

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 7
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sleep Over Sauce

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hotel user 2
Business
Petaluma, CA
Jul 5, 2014

Urban Guest House

Sleep Over Sauce was a very pleasant experience. Not your usual hotel. You call to have someone let you in and then you don't really have any contact with the staff.The rooms were clean and simple. The location was great. My only problem was that I thought it was rather expensive for what you got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant Sauce is open later,so if you are planning an evening out and want to eat later they are open, which we have found in the past to be unusual for San Francisco restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sleep Over Sauce

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BexF
Business
London
Apr 23, 2014

Home from home

I really enjoyed my (second!) stay here - the guest house is so friendly and everyone was very welcoming. The rooms are comfortable and it's great to have the shared lounge to socialise in, plus there are drinks and snacks available. The location is perfect - plenty of restaurants, cafes and bars nearby and it's a safe neighbourhood (important for me as a single female traveller). Also, there are excellent transport links. Definitely eat in Sauce, the food is delicious and good value, plus the atmosphere is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the 71 or 6 bus from the end of the street to Haight/ Ashbury and pick up a picnic from HSM deli before heading into Golden Gate Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sleep Over Sauce

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Opera momma
Business
Midwesterner
Mar 13, 2013

Perfect for our needs.

This isn't a fancy hotel, but it is perfect if you're visiting a friend in Hayes Valley or attending the San Francisco Opera. The rooms are clean and the bed very comfortable. Not everything is perfect so if you're fussy, don't stay here. But if you can accommodate a cracked tile or two and a very basic breakfast spread, you'll enjoy Sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

San Francisco Opera Symphony

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sleep Over Sauce

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EcoTraveler
Business
DC
Feb 11, 2012

Very impressed

At the price I paid, I was not expecting much from this urban guest house but this was truly an excellent experience. Room was clean and well kept. The staff helpful. Wireless was free and fast. There was a beautiful common room with board games and free snacks (the only thing missing was a copy of Settlers of Catan--that would have made for a truly perfect experience). The bathroom was clean and the restaurant Sauce (below the hotel) was incredibly tasty--try the vegetable stroudel! And it wasn't a very long walk from the metro, even with a roller suitcase. It's not the most impressive part of the city, but I was in that area for work, so if you're looking for a hotel in this part of SF, it doesn't get much better, especially at this price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't ignore the great restaurant that gives Sleep Over Sauce it's name. I almost did but am glad I didn't!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sleep Over Sauce

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stuck on the Hedonic Treadmill
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Nov 17, 2010

Not bad, not great

Clean, comfortable enough. The lounge is beautiful but the rooms leave a lot to be desired. I generally expect a better looking/feeling room for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sleep Over Sauce

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jul 25, 2010

Good news and bad news

This very basic hotel is located in the Hayes Valley part of San Francisco, near good restaurants, in fact, above a good restaurant. It is in an old building that needs some repair. The windows in my room were stuck partway open, one was falling out of it's frame. I had to park in a fenced public lot overnight for $20. The lot was 4 blocks away, but I parked temporarily in front of the hotel to unload baggage. The staff (bartender who you check in with) was friendly and helpful, inviting me to use the computer to print out my boarding pass. The jar of earplugs next to the computer should have tipped me off that the place was quite noisy, with fire engines frequently screaming past my window in the middle of the night. Not terrible (with the earplugs) but annoying. I think I'll pass on this place next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good restaurants in the area. I had good meals at both Sauce and Absinth.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sleep Over Sauce

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno Ca
Jun 28, 2010

It's was a great place and area.

When we first got there It was a little funny because there was no front desk... You have to call the bartender to help you check in. The have a great lounge area for all the guest to mingle in with great snacks. The room was comfy but was a little small but the staff's personality really made up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The bartenders really help you out if your looking for a place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top