$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
166 out of 166
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Dec 29, 2009

Excellent hotel

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful at every turn. The hotel is half a block from Union Square. There is a streetcar stop in front of the hotel. Many great restaurants nearby. Union Square is very busy so if you seek 'peace and quiet' this will not be the place to stay. Hotel is clear and well run. Pets are welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 11, 2008

Great Location

If you're looking for a great location right in Union Square, this is your hotel! It's close to shopping, great dining and easy to get to local transportation. The Bart Subway system is only a few blocks away and the cable car stops right outside the hotel door. Excellent lobby bar and nightclub at the top floor of the hotel. The one negative part is the size of our room. We didnt realize the size for a queen bedroom was going to be quite small- uncomfortable to manuver around and no place for luggage. They have done the best they can with the space but it leaves very very little room to just walk across without having to step over your luggage or climb around everything. Overall a good stay, great city and worth your staff for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

H&M, Forever21, Macy's, etc. The starbucks is literally downstairs with many resturants nearby as well.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brent and Samantha
Business
Norco, CA
Dec 3, 2009

Excellent location, good price, but...

This was the first vacation my fiancee and I took to San Francisco. We selected the hotel based on location, price, and the reviews. We were not let down. However, buyer beware: (1) the rooms are on the small side (but this is an older hotel in downtown San Fran so it should be expected and don't be surprised), (2) the rooms on the top two floors get feedback from the live band that play on the weekends (don't stay in them if you plan to go to bed before 1 am or are a light sleeper), and (3) the valet service is $51 per night (no one warned us about that until we arrived). The hotel staff was very helpful - from front desk to valet to room service. We recommend the bistro on the ground floor and taking public transportation (the cable car line runs right in front of the hotel - $5 - and the city buses run on the streets just above and below - $2). We also took a $7 cab ride from the hotel to pier 33 for the Alcatraz tour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take public transportation! Not only is it inexpensive, but the native San Franciscans are friendly and will get you on the right bus if you get lost.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ouch - parking fee of $52
Business
Petaluma CA
Nov 9, 2009

Sir Francis Drake review

[...] should inform guests of $52 parking fee

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bill rice
Business
washington, dc
Apr 23, 2009

Great room after bad first nite

would go back for second room and for person at front desk who got it for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

overlooking union square, what more can i say

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ciclisto
Business
san diego
Nov 1, 2009

drake sf

very nice for the price classic old hotel perfect location great staff,,, noisy neighbors[*]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Nov 3, 2009

Great location,clean hotel

The location is super, easy to shop and walk all over city. Short cab ride or hop on cable car in front of hotel to any part of city. Union Sq has lots of shops, eateries,bars,sights to see. Directly across the street Famous Sears restaurant, awesome breakfast ,lunch or dinner inexpensive. The build your Bloody Mary in the hotel bar is Great! Staff was so helpful always asking if I needed anything and offering to take shopping bags to my room. Classy Doorman very friendly and helpful with directions. Though the room was not too big it was perfect and quiet, the room was very clean. Bed was great.I heard that the Brunch was Awesome will try next time, people were bragging about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears or Scalia's in Hotel both awesome....

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Kenlein couple
Business
Tustin, CA
May 28, 2009

A Romantic Getaway!

My Husband and I flew from Orange County and we arrived at SFO at 8:10 AM.We went to the Sir Frances Drake Hotel expecting to sit around and wait for a room til check in which is at 3pm... but it was the opposite!The Hotel representative grabbed our bags and said "we have a room ready now" My Husband and I were very happy and free to enjoy the rest of the morning, without lugging our bags everywhere!!!Thank you for that Sir Frances Drake!!! We will come again! The Kenlein's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Empress of China!! Located in China town...A Great food and wonderful service...

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico, CA
Mar 29, 2010

Classy

Came for our 39th anniversary (and glad we did). Comfortable bed in a pleasant room. Close to Union Square, Cable Cars, and fun places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Agoura Hills Ca.
Mar 3, 2010

Surprise Anniversary Weekend

We had a very nice dinner in their restaurant. We rode the cable cars. They were very convenient, because they passed right out in front of the hotel. We eat crab for lunch at the wharf. We took long walks, and eat dinner at a restaurant suggested by the concierge. The room was comfortable, and clean. Any personal requests were handled in a quick, and efficient manner. [...]the Super Shuttle back to the airport was very disappointing. They took so long sitting at other hotels with no one to pick up that we were very close to missing our plane. It was very stressful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the concierge.

Back to menu Return to top