$246 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
221 reviews
The Perfect Hotel

It was my Birthday trip to San Francisco. We were immediately up-grated upon arrival to a bigger... See full review

  • BrowneyesMan
  • Jun 21, 2014
Awesome getaway

Perfect location, right across Sears Restaurant and next to Starbucks and Walgreen and trolleys! See full review

  • Nike Woman Runner
  • Oct 23, 2013
Legendary grandeur with modern convenience and views in Union Square

Grand in architecture and design, the Sir Francis Drake is a majestic hotel with connections to the past and present. The restored 1930s lobby -- complete with classically attired doormen -- invokes the Italian renaissance, while rooms boast modern conveniences such as TV and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Food lovers appreciate tasty dishes from Scala's Bistro, while the views of the city from legendary lounge Harry Denton's Starlight Room are second to none. The hotel is part of the Kimpton chain.

Highlights
  • Amazing lounge views of San Francisco from Harry Denton's Starlight Room
  • Classic elegance and service
  • On-site restaurant serves local ingredients
  • Located steps from Union Square
Rooms
The Sir Francis Drake hotel boasts 416 rooms, including 24 suites, and all accommodations are bathed in a cream-and-sage color pattern. Rooms come standard with flat-screen TVs, ironing boards, laptop-sized in-room safes and hair dryers. Rooms also are outfitted with a number of essential travel items that visitors generally forget, such as toothbrushes and dental floss. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).
Features
When the Sir Francis Drake hotel opened its doors in 1928, San Francisco never had seen anything like it. Back then, it had an indoor golf course, ice water on tap and radios in every room. Today, only one of these features remains (the radios). The main lobby is a total throwback, complete with dark wood and Beefeater doormen. Upstairs, at the Harry Denton Starlight Room, locals and visitors line up for cocktails and priceless views of the entire city. All guests have access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, complimentary yoga accessories and in-room spa services (fees apply). Visitors who opt out of housekeeping services for a day receive a $10 credit toward food at any of the on-site eateries. Guests enjoy food made from local ingredients at Scala's Bistro, which is run by former "Top Chef" contestants Jen Biesty and Tim Nugent. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Theater district (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 16,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Dedicated convention coordinator to assist with all meeting plans

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Classic Two Double
Accessible room with 2 Double beds
Acc Classic Queen Roll In Shwr
1 Queen Bed, Room has a roll in Shower. Communication Features Available.
Accessible Classic Queen
Accessible room with 1 queen bed
Classic Queen
Classic Room with 1 queen bed
City View Queen Room
City View Queen Room with a queen bed
Historic Queen
Historic Queen room with 1 queen bed
Classic Two Queen
Classic room with 2 queen beds
City View Two Queen
City View Deluxe Room with two Queen beds
Classic Two Double
Classic room with 2 double beds
Grand Two Queen
Extra spacious room with 2 queen beds
Classic King
Classic Room with 1 king bed
City View King Deluxe
City View King Deluxe with one king bed
Accessible Grand King
Accessible Grand King room with 1 King bed
Grand King
One king bed - additional seating arrangement
13. Sir Francis Drake Suite Acce
One king size bed
Sir Francis Drake Suite
Parlor Suite 384 square feet seating for 8 connect to second bedroom.
Presidential Suite
Presidential Suite 644 square feet connects to KPRE and pullout sofa

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.789 -122.4086
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, S; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 17.00, MI, S; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 46.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Dining

Scalas Bistro
Scalas Bistro located on the main level of the Sir Francis Drake Hotel features an award-winning Italian and French inspired menu with breakfast lunch and dinner served daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (221)

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
221 out of 221
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tholian
Redlands, Ca
May 20, 2013

Sir Francis Drake

Very disappointing. Depressing in appearance. I am sure it was nice decades ago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Danville, CA
Dec 14, 2009

Hotel Review

We paid far to much money for a deluxe king room --- only thing about it that was right was the king bed. The toliet was something that you would fine in a cheap hotel -- it rarely flushed at took over 10 minutes to refill. What was promised at the time I booked the room did not happen with the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Harry Dentons Startlight Lounge

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Copernicus
ATL
Oct 8, 2012

Not Good

For the price ($350/night) the value was abismal: Hair on the shower wall Painfully slow elevator Big crowds in the hotel no mini-bar in room no bath robes pay for internet etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Danville, CA
Dec 14, 2009

Hotel Review

We paid far to much money for a deluxe king room --- only thing about it that was right was the king bed. The toliet was something that you would fine in a cheap hotel -- it rarely flushed at took over 10 minutes to refill. What was promised at the time I booked the room did not happen with the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Harry Dentons Startlight Lounge

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vtraveler
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Apr 30, 2013

This hotel could improve

Although the staff and location of this hotel are highlights, the room doesn't have a coffee maker, tub is not present in the restroom, very cheap shower head, all these are very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kyland
Business
Orange County, CA
Feb 7, 2008

Changes

I stayed a the hotel back in the late 90s and I recall the property being very nice at the time. So I booked the hotel on memory and location. I was really surpised by the size of my queen room. I thought hotels in NYC were small:0

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

SAKS is next door....

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee
Jul 9, 2008

Average. Good value for the money

Our stay at the Sir Francis Drake was just average. Our stay didn't start out right as it seems they lost our luggage upon check in. It took nearly an hour for them to bring our luggage to our room after approximately 4 phone calls to multiple hotel staff. Not a good start considering we were ready to start exploring the city but had to wait. The room was small and the view was dreadful. But for the price, I guess it was ok overall. We weren't in our room much, so it was fine for getting ready and sleeping. But we weren't blown away. The location right on the cable car line was very convenient. And the Walgreens just across the street came in handy a few times. There is a Starbucks just next door which we also liked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
las vegas
Dec 24, 2009

Do not recommend.

The bed sheets were really dirty. The room was very small. VERY SMALL bathroom. Not what i expected from the photos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
carmel valley, ca
May 3, 2009

dissapointed

needs updating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palmdale, CA
Aug 10, 2009

The service was good

The service was good. The room and bathroon were incredibly small. The hotel in general still needs some work as well. Housekeeping forgot to leave towels on our second day and I called the front desk and they sent only hand towels and bath towels, we still had no washcloths. The ice machine on our floor didn't work. This hotel would be a good value at 1/2 the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top