$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 16, 2015 Check-out: Feb 17, 2015

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
158 reviews
So fancy, and handy!

Got a deal on this and took it, upon recommendation from a friend who had stayed here. We were in... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 1, 2014
Getaway

Have stayed here 3 x now and it still doesn't disappoint. Love the starlite room at top of hotel,... See full review

  • PatriciaA
  • Nov 30, 2014
Legendary grandeur with modern convenience and views in Union Square

Grand in architecture and design, the Sir Francis Drake is a majestic hotel with connections to the past and present. The restored 1930s lobby -- complete with classically attired doormen -- invokes the Italian renaissance, while rooms boast modern conveniences such as TV and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Food lovers appreciate tasty dishes from Scala's Bistro, while the views of the city from legendary lounge Harry Denton's Starlight Room are second to none. The hotel is part of the Kimpton chain.

Highlights
  • Amazing lounge views of San Francisco from Harry Denton's Starlight Room
  • Classic elegance and service
  • On-site restaurant serves local ingredients
  • Located steps from Union Square
Rooms
The Sir Francis Drake hotel boasts 416 rooms, including 24 suites, and all accommodations are bathed in a cream-and-sage color pattern. Rooms come standard with flat-screen TVs, ironing boards, laptop-sized in-room safes and hair dryers. Rooms also are outfitted with a number of essential travel items that visitors generally forget, such as toothbrushes and dental floss. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).
Features
When the Sir Francis Drake hotel opened its doors in 1928, San Francisco never had seen anything like it. Back then, it had an indoor golf course, ice water on tap and radios in every room. Today, only one of these features remains (the radios). The main lobby is a total throwback, complete with dark wood and Beefeater doormen. Upstairs, at the Harry Denton Starlight Room, locals and visitors line up for cocktails and priceless views of the entire city. All guests have access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, complimentary yoga accessories and in-room spa services (fees apply). Visitors who opt out of housekeeping services for a day receive a $10 credit toward food at any of the on-site eateries. Guests enjoy food made from local ingredients at Scala's Bistro, which is run by former "Top Chef" contestants Jen Biesty and Tim Nugent. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Theater district (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 16,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Dedicated convention coordinator to assist with all meeting plans

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Classic Two Double
Accessible room with 2 Double beds
Presidential Suite
Presidential Suite 644 square feet connects to KPRE and pullout sofa
Acc Classic Queen Roll In Shwr
1 Queen Bed, Room has a roll in Shower. Communication Features Available.
Accessible Classic Queen
Accessible room with 1 queen bed
Classic Queen
Classic Room with 1 queen bed
City View Queen Room
City View Queen Room with a queen bed
Historic Queen
Historic Queen room with 1 queen bed
Classic Two Queen
Classic room with 2 queen beds
City View Two Queen
City View Deluxe Room with two Queen beds
Classic Two Double
Classic room with 2 double beds
Grand Two Queen
Extra spacious room with 2 queen beds
Starlight Suite
Breathtaking views
Classic King
Classic Room with 1 king bed
City View King Deluxe
City View King Deluxe with one king bed
Accessible Grand King
Accessible Grand King room with 1 King bed
Grand King
One king bed - additional seating arrangement
13. Sir Francis Drake Suite Acce
One king size bed
Sir Francis Drake Suite
Parlor Suite 384 square feet seating for 8 connect to second bedroom.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

Scalas Bistro
Scalas Bistro located on the main level of the Sir Francis Drake Hotel features an award-winning Italian and French inspired menu with breakfast lunch and dinner served daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 158
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug H.
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 14, 2013

Great Hotel, Great Location

This is the second year in a row a friend and I have gone up to San Francisco for a weekend to watch the 49ers play in a playoff game, but this was our first stay at the Sir Francis Drake, and I have to say, I wish we had stayed there last year. The hotel is centrally located for nightlife/activities of pretty much any preference. Despite it being an older hotel the rooms are not so small as to be confused with closets with beds. The staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant and Starlight room are very elegant and the view is spectacular. Unfortunately elegant also means expensive in this case but I recommend going up to the starlight room for at least 1 drink and the view anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are going to walk from the hotel to fisherman's wharf, although it its tempting, dont walk up powell. Its far easier (read: less hilly) to walk over to stockton and then up stockton past chinatown. It takes a little longer but is far easier on the knees.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KPKarma
Business
Seattle
Mar 13, 2013

Great SF weekend getaway!!

Me and a few friends stayed here for the weekend and had a wonderful time!! I have been to SF many times previously but this hotel is perfectly located near restaurants, shopping and the trolley!!! This is a perfect place to experience San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greatmana24
Business
New York, NY
Sep 30, 2013

Perfect!

The Sir Frances Drake was the perfect choice for my trip to San Francisco. It was central to shopping, sites, transportation, and the famous cable car. The staff was great and the valet, doormen always were welcoming. I had my car there and they never made us wait too long for it even in rush times. The beds are really comfortable and bathrooms are nicely stocked. This hotel is for the older crowd so if you are looking for a club scene, this isn't it. But it's tasteful, nice, elegant, and classy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nike Woman Runner
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Oct 23, 2013

Awesome getaway

Perfect location, right across Sears Restaurant and next to Starbucks and Walgreen and trolleys!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Trolley just outside the door to take you to everywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BrowneyesMan
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 21, 2014

The Perfect Hotel

It was my Birthday trip to San Francisco. We were immediately up-grated upon arrival to a bigger room. The staff was super friendly and happy to see us. The concierges gave us many options to explore the city. We booked several tourist destinations with them. Fast and convenient service. The Hotel is beautiful inside and out. Luxury without being over the top. The Bar is a welcoming feature entering the Hotel, you must stop and have a drink there. the bartenders are the nicest! The restaurant is pricy - but so worth it. The waiters were so knowledgeable and friendly, making our Dinner experience extra special. The Starlight Room on the top floor is a MUST SEE! We had my Birthday up there and it was awesome. Delicious appetizers and drinks serviced by the most friendliest and (most beautiful) waiter/staff in the city. The location is simply perfect. Everything you need and want to do is right there. Around the corner , up the street or right in front of your nose. We loved it there and we love the Sir Francis Drake Hotel. We will absolutely return to this great San Francisco Landmark, and to the most accommodating and courteous, professional, excellent service we've ever had. If you decide to visit them, you are in for a treat!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Starlight Room! - Go!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LAgirl88
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Long weekend getaway

The best part about the hotel is its location. It's close to all the great shopping areas and restaurants. Really friendly staff. Not the most luxurious hotel but you get your money's worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sister's getaway
Business
Vancouver, BC
May 29, 2012

Absolutely terrific!!

The front desk was friendly, helpful and full of information. The room was comfortable and the location couldn't have been more convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bellini's for breakfast. Just about two blocks down the hill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doug H.
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 24, 2013

Great Hotel, Great Location

My friend and I came in for the 49ers/Green Bay Playoff game and stayed here. Great hotel, great staff, nice location. Bar on the roof is definitely pricey but its a fantastic view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pleased First Timer
Business
Memphis, TN
Aug 10, 2013

Pleased First Timer

I have just returned from my trip to San Francisco. I had a bit of hesitancy about staying at the Sir Francis Drake Hotel because I thought it might be a bit quirky. I was quickly proven wrong. It is a lovely hotel. The rooms are small (bathroom super small) but I didn't have a problem with that since my stay in the room was only for sleeping. The staff was excellent and didn't hesitate in helping me take care of a business transaction that arose while there. As with any hotel, things happen but the staff was courteous and quickly made everything perfect - even though it was after mid-night when we arrived. Speaking of late night, it does not do the hotel justice. We arrived thinking that it was in a somewhat unsafe location because nothing was stirring but a few people who appeared to be intoxicated and there wasn't the kind of street lighting that we expected BUT when morning came, the entire street came to life and was filled with the hustle and bustle that I expected. The hotel is conveniently located for shopping, tour transportation and whatever you need. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Malwina
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 4, 2008

great location to stay

the location of this hotel is really great. I would recommend to anyone to stay in this hotel. However, room service wasn't very good, as it should be in a four star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is close by this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top