$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
166 out of 166
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Billy Dean
Business
Rydal Georgia
Sep 11, 2013

top notch

the hotel is wonderful...the staff were more than accomodating..we were upgraded to a King Grand on the 9th floor with views in two directions...high quality furnishings in the room....I did not want to leave...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

way over priced....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JamedeAussie
Business
New York
Sep 10, 2013

Great Spot

great location, amazing lobby and friendly staff. The drag brunch experience at the top floor bar was really good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great cocktails at Burrit Room (1st floor of Mystic hotel)...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Em SF
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 22, 2013

Wonderful Service, Beautiful Room

The Sir Francis Drake hotel exceeded my expectations. I would like to commend the front desk staff. When I checked in the woman at the front desk noticed I was local. I told her I had booked the room as a surprise anniversary gift and she outdid herself upgrading my room so that we had the best experience possible. She upgrades us to a huge suite that was absolutely gorgeous and opulent. Another nice touch was the free wine happy hour, where again the staff were incredibly nice and welcoming. The location is right downtown on Union Square. You could hear the cable car running outside, which I thought was charming. Bottom line, I had an outstanding experience at the Sir Francis Drake hotel and could not have been happier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greatmana24
Business
New York, NY
Sep 30, 2013

Perfect!

The Sir Frances Drake was the perfect choice for my trip to San Francisco. It was central to shopping, sites, transportation, and the famous cable car. The staff was great and the valet, doormen always were welcoming. I had my car there and they never made us wait too long for it even in rush times. The beds are really comfortable and bathrooms are nicely stocked. This hotel is for the older crowd so if you are looking for a club scene, this isn't it. But it's tasteful, nice, elegant, and classy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nike Woman Runner
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Oct 23, 2013

Awesome getaway

Perfect location, right across Sears Restaurant and next to Starbucks and Walgreen and trolleys!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Trolley just outside the door to take you to everywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skerlie B
Business
Long Beach, CA, USA
Oct 23, 2013

Bundle by Or bitz . Winning!

I was able to book a hotel/flight package at the SFD with one of my favorite airlines to fly, Virgin America. The cost made it worth it (as booking separately would increase the cost by $400). Once I got on property, the Sir Francis Drake was RIGHT up my alley. Restored Old School luxury, perfect proximity to Union Square, easily accessible by BART (normally, anyhow....just not THIS weekend , as there was a BART strike. But the location is perfect for the Powell station), and the bartender makes an EXQUISITE bourbon sidecar (without even asking me "what is that made with?!?!)- WINNING. Would totally stay here again. In fact, I'm looking forward to it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Jasper's Corner Tap.....it's an excellent Gastropub, and it's very close by!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Apr 21, 2008

Just what I needed

I have not stayed at this hotel for a few years. However, decided to try it again. I was very satisfied with the location , staff and my petite room. It was fine for one person but not for more. The only down side was that their gym was still being remodeled and a charge to use another gym. I will rebook again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Withiin a few blocks there are many dining options. A cab ride is not necessary

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bowdoinham
Jul 27, 2008

Can't beat the location

We got a rock-bottom (for San Francisco) price on a small but very comfortable room within earshot of the cable car bells. San Francisco is a great city to walk in, and the Drake is a fine place to start: we strolled to Chinatown, the financial district, the Embarcadero, but BART, Muni, the historic F tram, and of course the cable cars are all convenient to the hotel as well. We enjoyed a cocktail at the Starlight lounge with twinkling views of the city, followed by a very comfortable bed. The Drake is a San Fransisco legend, and Kimpton has done a great job of preserving the ambiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every designer under the sun has a shop in the Union Square area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DUARTE, CA
May 24, 2008

Great City Accessability

This hotel stands at the hub of San Francisco Marketplace district , walking distance from Union Square. The cable car stops directly in front of the lobby doors. The upgrade to the room with 2 queen beds was well worth the extra $14/night. This room was spacious with a large tub for relaxing bubble baths. The room refrigerator helped with keeping our water cool and our fruit fresh. Overall, we'd do ti all again just the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hanover
Oct 28, 2008

centrally located, Union Sq.

Our room was very comfortable, yet very small, I would call it a boutique size, and maybe we received a better price with this size room, although I am not sure. The hotel was in the middle of top named stores, restaurants, the trolleys.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

San francisco is a walking city/ and very easy to get around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top