$233 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
141 reviews
So fancy, and handy!

Got a deal on this and took it, upon recommendation from a friend who had stayed here. We were in... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 1, 2014
Getaway

Have stayed here 3 x now and it still doesn't disappoint. Love the starlite room at top of hotel,... See full review

  • PatriciaA
  • Nov 30, 2014

Grand in architecture and design, the Sir Francis Drake is a majestic hotel with connections to the past and present. The restored 1930s lobby -- complete with classically attired doormen -- invokes the Italian renaissance, while rooms boast modern conveniences such as TV and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Food lovers appreciate tasty dishes from Scala's Bistro, while the views of the city from legendary lounge Harry Denton's Starlight Room are second to none. The hotel is part of the Kimpton chain.

Rooms
The Sir Francis Drake hotel boasts 416 rooms, including 24 suites, and all accommodations are bathed in a cream-and-sage color pattern. Rooms come standard with flat-screen TVs, ironing boards, laptop-sized in-room safes and hair dryers. Rooms also are outfitted with a number of essential travel items that visitors generally forget, such as toothbrushes and dental floss. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).
Property features
When the Sir Francis Drake hotel opened its doors in 1928, San Francisco never had seen anything like it. Back then, it had an indoor golf course, ice water on tap and radios in every room. Today, only one of these features remains (the radios). The main lobby is a total throwback, complete with dark wood and Beefeater doormen. Upstairs, at the Harry Denton Starlight Room, locals and visitors line up for cocktails and priceless views of the entire city. All guests have access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, complimentary yoga accessories and in-room spa services (fees apply). Visitors who opt out of housekeeping services for a day receive a $10 credit toward food at any of the on-site eateries. Guests enjoy food made from local ingredients at Scala's Bistro, which is run by former "Top Chef" contestants Jen Biesty and Tim Nugent. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Highlights
  • Amazing lounge views of San Francisco from Harry Denton's Starlight Room
  • Classic elegance and service
  • On-site restaurant serves local ingredients
  • Located steps from Union Square
Nearby attractions
  • Union Square (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Theater district (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 16,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Dedicated convention coordinator to assist with all meeting plans
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Grand King
One king bed - additional seating arrangement
Grand Two Queen
Extra spacious room with 2 queen beds
Accessible Classic Queen
Accessible room with 1 queen bed
Accessible Grand King
Accessible Grand King room with 1 King bed
Accessible Classic Two Double
Accessible room with 2 Double beds
Classic Two Queen
Classic room with 2 queen beds
Classic King
Classic Room with 1 king bed
Starlight Suite
Breathtaking views
Classic Two Double
Classic room with 2 double beds
Classic Queen
Classic Room with 1 queen bed
13. Sir Francis Drake Suite Acce
One king size bed
Historic Queen
Historic Queen room with 1 queen bed
King Connecting to Parlor
King Connecting to Parlor 225 square feet TV and DVD player
City View King Deluxe
City View King Deluxe with one king bed
Sir Francis Drake Suite
Parlor Suite 384 square feet seating for 8 connect to second bedroom.
Presidential Suite
Presidential Suite 644 square feet connects to KPRE and pullout sofa
City View Queen Room
City View Queen Room with a queen bed
City View Two Queen
City View Deluxe Room with two Queen beds
Acc Classic Queen Roll In Shwr
1 Queen Bed, Room has a roll in Shower. Communication Features Available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

Scalas Bistro
Scalas Bistro located on the main level of the Sir Francis Drake Hotel features an award-winning Italian and French inspired menu with breakfast lunch and dinner served daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jndabox
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Great Hotel in a Great Location

I truly enjoyed my experience at the Drake. The front desk staff checked me in early, the room was very nice, newly decorated, clean and comfortable. The hotel offered the best of classic San Francisco in a historic building holding onto traditional luxury and while being thoroughly modern and cutting edge. The location is a perfect starting point for all points of the city with cable cars right at the front door. I am looking forward to my next visit later in the summer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Lunch at Ferry Plaza Seafood in the Ferry Building. Dine on oysters on the halfshell and clam chowder at their long marble bar looking out to the bay and all the boats and activity.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
debbie murphy
Business
tennessee
Jul 10, 2012

old world charm with exquisite service

The Sir Francis Drake is elegant, old-fashioned, clean, and conveniently located just by Union Square. Close to shopping, cable cars, great restaurants, and more. Don't expect a modern hotel with huge rooms, because mine was quite small. However, it was adequate, and I'm sure I could have had something larger - for more money. Exceptionally helpful staff, starting at the front door. The restaurant was lovely and elegant. Limo service to the airport costs the same as a cab. My experience at the Drake is one I will not soon forget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeeRezd
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 7, 2012

Fantastic historic hotel

Our stay at this hotel was great. The customer service at check-in surpassed our expectations. The gentleman who was assisting us with choosing a room was nice enough to explain the layout of the building, which rooms had the best views, and which rooms were the quietest (there's a nightclub on the top floor of the hotel). He was even nice enough to upgrade our room to a junior suite. The room was spacious, clean, decorated beautifully, and the bathroom was huge. Overall, the hotel was in a great central location, and the cable car stop was right outside which was super convenient. We would definitely stay there again if we found ourselves back in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rick from Philly
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 1, 2013

Classic hotel near Union Square

The gentlemen who wear the Beefeater's uniform in front of the hotel know the hotel, area and city inside and out, and are a terrific sales pitch. The hotel is clean, beautiful and well-located a block from Union Square and with stops for the cable car lines immediately in front of it. The price seemed reasonable for mid-town San Francisco, though parking at $50 is not. I would recommend it highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the cable car once for the charm of it (at $6 per person one way), then walk 3 blocks to the bus that runs along Market St and the Embarcadero to Fisherman's Wharf. It costs $2 or 75 cents (for kids, all students or for the elderly) each way and only takes 5 more minutes. All students, even over the age of 17, can travel at the reduced rate.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug H.
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 14, 2013

Great Hotel, Great Location

This is the second year in a row a friend and I have gone up to San Francisco for a weekend to watch the 49ers play in a playoff game, but this was our first stay at the Sir Francis Drake, and I have to say, I wish we had stayed there last year. The hotel is centrally located for nightlife/activities of pretty much any preference. Despite it being an older hotel the rooms are not so small as to be confused with closets with beds. The staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant and Starlight room are very elegant and the view is spectacular. Unfortunately elegant also means expensive in this case but I recommend going up to the starlight room for at least 1 drink and the view anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are going to walk from the hotel to fisherman's wharf, although it its tempting, dont walk up powell. Its far easier (read: less hilly) to walk over to stockton and then up stockton past chinatown. It takes a little longer but is far easier on the knees.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KPKarma
Business
Seattle
Mar 13, 2013

Great SF weekend getaway!!

Me and a few friends stayed here for the weekend and had a wonderful time!! I have been to SF many times previously but this hotel is perfectly located near restaurants, shopping and the trolley!!! This is a perfect place to experience San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Worldwide Traveler Couple
Business
Palm Desert
Apr 16, 2013

Great at UnionSquare

Just what you need when you visit San Francisco. Close to everything. Hotel is well done and staff is courteous. Room was updated and always clean. Nice bed and Tv settings. Everything is in it : restaurant, coffee shop, night club and in the middle of any restaurant and shop in town at Union Square. Two stops of the Bus Tour to visit any part of San Francisco with a 24 or 48 pass are around the corner. Moscone Convention Center is a few blocks by foot as it is Chinatown. Great experience, great hotel, nice time during my long weekend in San Francisco

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus Tour Hope On Hope Off. Great to go to all places of interest from the shores to the Golden Gate Bridge and any museums and neighborhoods in between

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JamedeAussie
Business
New York
Sep 10, 2013

Great Spot

great location, amazing lobby and friendly staff. The drag brunch experience at the top floor bar was really good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great cocktails at Burrit Room (1st floor of Mystic hotel)...

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Em SF
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 22, 2013

Wonderful Service, Beautiful Room

The Sir Francis Drake hotel exceeded my expectations. I would like to commend the front desk staff. When I checked in the woman at the front desk noticed I was local. I told her I had booked the room as a surprise anniversary gift and she outdid herself upgrading my room so that we had the best experience possible. She upgrades us to a huge suite that was absolutely gorgeous and opulent. Another nice touch was the free wine happy hour, where again the staff were incredibly nice and welcoming. The location is right downtown on Union Square. You could hear the cable car running outside, which I thought was charming. Bottom line, I had an outstanding experience at the Sir Francis Drake hotel and could not have been happier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greatmana24
Business
New York, NY
Sep 30, 2013

Perfect!

The Sir Frances Drake was the perfect choice for my trip to San Francisco. It was central to shopping, sites, transportation, and the famous cable car. The staff was great and the valet, doormen always were welcoming. I had my car there and they never made us wait too long for it even in rush times. The beds are really comfortable and bathrooms are nicely stocked. This hotel is for the older crowd so if you are looking for a club scene, this isn't it. But it's tasteful, nice, elegant, and classy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top