$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
151 reviews
Great Experience

This was a wonderful hotel! We were greeted and informed of an upgrade. Plus then we received free... See full review

  • Caitlin OKC
  • Sep 16, 2014
Relaxing near Union Square great location

Welcome from the moment I entered the hotel. Front desk staff cheerful. Housekeeping was superb,... See full review

  • Jim of Ethiopia
  • Aug 8, 2014
Legendary grandeur with modern convenience and views in Union Square

Grand in architecture and design, the Sir Francis Drake is a majestic hotel with connections to the past and present. The restored 1930s lobby -- complete with classically attired doormen -- invokes the Italian renaissance, while rooms boast modern conveniences such as TV and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Food lovers appreciate tasty dishes from Scala's Bistro, while the views of the city from legendary lounge Harry Denton's Starlight Room are second to none. The hotel is part of the Kimpton chain.

Highlights
  • Amazing lounge views of San Francisco from Harry Denton's Starlight Room
  • Classic elegance and service
  • On-site restaurant serves local ingredients
  • Located steps from Union Square
Rooms
The Sir Francis Drake hotel boasts 416 rooms, including 24 suites, and all accommodations are bathed in a cream-and-sage color pattern. Rooms come standard with flat-screen TVs, ironing boards, laptop-sized in-room safes and hair dryers. Rooms also are outfitted with a number of essential travel items that visitors generally forget, such as toothbrushes and dental floss. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).
Features
When the Sir Francis Drake hotel opened its doors in 1928, San Francisco never had seen anything like it. Back then, it had an indoor golf course, ice water on tap and radios in every room. Today, only one of these features remains (the radios). The main lobby is a total throwback, complete with dark wood and Beefeater doormen. Upstairs, at the Harry Denton Starlight Room, locals and visitors line up for cocktails and priceless views of the entire city. All guests have access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, complimentary yoga accessories and in-room spa services (fees apply). Visitors who opt out of housekeeping services for a day receive a $10 credit toward food at any of the on-site eateries. Guests enjoy food made from local ingredients at Scala's Bistro, which is run by former "Top Chef" contestants Jen Biesty and Tim Nugent. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Theater district (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 16,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Dedicated convention coordinator to assist with all meeting plans

Hotel Map

37.789 -122.4086
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, S; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 17.00, MI, S; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 46.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Classic Two Double
Accessible room with 2 Double beds
Acc Classic Queen Roll In Shwr
1 Queen Bed, Room has a roll in Shower. Communication Features Available.
Accessible Classic Queen
Accessible room with 1 queen bed
Classic Queen
Classic Room with 1 queen bed
City View Queen Room
City View Queen Room with a queen bed
Historic Queen
Historic Queen room with 1 queen bed
Classic Two Queen
Classic room with 2 queen beds
City View Two Queen
City View Deluxe Room with two Queen beds
Classic Two Double
Classic room with 2 double beds
Grand Two Queen
Extra spacious room with 2 queen beds
Classic King
Classic Room with 1 king bed
City View King Deluxe
City View King Deluxe with one king bed
Accessible Grand King
Accessible Grand King room with 1 King bed
Grand King
One king bed - additional seating arrangement
13. Sir Francis Drake Suite Acce
One king size bed
Sir Francis Drake Suite
Parlor Suite 384 square feet seating for 8 connect to second bedroom.
Presidential Suite
Presidential Suite 644 square feet connects to KPRE and pullout sofa

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Dining

Scalas Bistro
Scalas Bistro located on the main level of the Sir Francis Drake Hotel features an award-winning Italian and French inspired menu with breakfast lunch and dinner served daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (151)

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DUARTE, CA
May 24, 2008

Great City Accessability

This hotel stands at the hub of San Francisco Marketplace district , walking distance from Union Square. The cable car stops directly in front of the lobby doors. The upgrade to the room with 2 queen beds was well worth the extra $14/night. This room was spacious with a large tub for relaxing bubble baths. The room refrigerator helped with keeping our water cool and our fruit fresh. Overall, we'd do ti all again just the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
debbie murphy
Business
tennessee
Jul 10, 2012

old world charm with exquisite service

The Sir Francis Drake is elegant, old-fashioned, clean, and conveniently located just by Union Square. Close to shopping, cable cars, great restaurants, and more. Don't expect a modern hotel with huge rooms, because mine was quite small. However, it was adequate, and I'm sure I could have had something larger - for more money. Exceptionally helpful staff, starting at the front door. The restaurant was lovely and elegant. Limo service to the airport costs the same as a cab. My experience at the Drake is one I will not soon forget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeeRezd
Denver, CO
Sep 7, 2012

Fantastic historic hotel

Our stay at this hotel was great. The customer service at check-in surpassed our expectations. The gentleman who was assisting us with choosing a room was nice enough to explain the layout of the building, which rooms had the best views, and which rooms were the quietest (there's a nightclub on the top floor of the hotel). He was even nice enough to upgrade our room to a junior suite. The room was spacious, clean, decorated beautifully, and the bathroom was huge. Overall, the hotel was in a great central location, and the cable car stop was right outside which was super convenient. We would definitely stay there again if we found ourselves back in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Suit and tie guy
Business
Nothern VA, VA
Apr 21, 2010

Nicely enhanced, great location

Friendly service, classic hotel nicely updated and well appointed. Eco-friendly. Very soft linens/comfy beds. Clean. Nice flatscreen tv. Reasonably quiet for urban setting. Great location. Fast check in/check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Scala restaurant is excellent for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greatmana24
New York, NY
Sep 30, 2013

Perfect!

The Sir Frances Drake was the perfect choice for my trip to San Francisco. It was central to shopping, sites, transportation, and the famous cable car. The staff was great and the valet, doormen always were welcoming. I had my car there and they never made us wait too long for it even in rush times. The beds are really comfortable and bathrooms are nicely stocked. This hotel is for the older crowd so if you are looking for a club scene, this isn't it. But it's tasteful, nice, elegant, and classy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bowdoinham
Jul 27, 2008

Can't beat the location

We got a rock-bottom (for San Francisco) price on a small but very comfortable room within earshot of the cable car bells. San Francisco is a great city to walk in, and the Drake is a fine place to start: we strolled to Chinatown, the financial district, the Embarcadero, but BART, Muni, the historic F tram, and of course the cable cars are all convenient to the hotel as well. We enjoyed a cocktail at the Starlight lounge with twinkling views of the city, followed by a very comfortable bed. The Drake is a San Fransisco legend, and Kimpton has done a great job of preserving the ambiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every designer under the sun has a shop in the Union Square area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Apr 21, 2008

Just what I needed

I have not stayed at this hotel for a few years. However, decided to try it again. I was very satisfied with the location , staff and my petite room. It was fine for one person but not for more. The only down side was that their gym was still being remodeled and a charge to use another gym. I will rebook again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Withiin a few blocks there are many dining options. A cab ride is not necessary

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caitlin OKC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Sep 16, 2014

Great Experience

This was a wonderful hotel! We were greeted and informed of an upgrade. Plus then we received free chocolate as well! The staff was excellent! The complimentary toiletries smelled fantastic. The décor is beautiful. And the location is great to access the major shopping areas in Union Square, jump on the trolley, or head down to jump on the tour buses in the union square center. We would definitely stay here again. We were upgraded to what I think was called a 'deluxe queen'. I will say that my sister was in a regular queen room and they are a bit small. However this is because it is an older hotel, and I think it adds to the overall charm!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The attached restaurant is great! also, there are a lot of restaurants on the street that offer awesome happy hour deals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug H.
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 14, 2013

Great Hotel, Great Location

This is the second year in a row a friend and I have gone up to San Francisco for a weekend to watch the 49ers play in a playoff game, but this was our first stay at the Sir Francis Drake, and I have to say, I wish we had stayed there last year. The hotel is centrally located for nightlife/activities of pretty much any preference. Despite it being an older hotel the rooms are not so small as to be confused with closets with beds. The staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant and Starlight room are very elegant and the view is spectacular. Unfortunately elegant also means expensive in this case but I recommend going up to the starlight room for at least 1 drink and the view anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are going to walk from the hotel to fisherman's wharf, although it its tempting, dont walk up powell. Its far easier (read: less hilly) to walk over to stockton and then up stockton past chinatown. It takes a little longer but is far easier on the knees.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy K
San Diego, CA
Aug 19, 2013

Wonderful Wedding

Everything was wonderful! "The Drake" was wedding central and it carried it off beautifully. Easy walking distance to many SF attractions, with cable car loading right outside the front door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the restaurant just across the street, Sears. It is rightly famous for its delicious breakfasts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search