$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SEAJ
Business
denver, CO
Oct 21, 2011

Good

Business traveler friendly, quiet, clean, helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
feddasaur
Business
El Dorado Hills, CA, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Easy Shopping Weekend

Stayed for a weekend getaway. Excellent location with shopping and restaraunts well within walking distance. A bit noisy if you do not find the clang of the cable car bells desirable. The minus for me was that the heating/cooling vent was right over the bed, so when the AC kicked in, it got pretty cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Royhs
Business
Redding, California
Sep 4, 2011

Sir Francis Drake

The hotel is centrally located. One block from Union Square. The trolley stops right infront of the hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We got a great price for the Labor Day weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cheesecake Factory located at the top of Macy's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Aug 1, 2011

Charming, clean, stylish, friendly hotel

Stayed last weekend of July. Perfect size hotel. Great stay. Had a corner unit on 5th floor. comfortable beds and nice linens. Very clean. Has the charm of the early 20th century. Adds to the joy and sophistication of staying on the city in a beautiful building. Friendly staff and great location. Surprised by the bad reviews. Not your typical chain hotel. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk the neighborhood and enjoy nob hill and coit tower.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Jul 11, 2011

Great staff

Great location, small room, awesome staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 5, 2011

Good price, very helpful staff

We were in town for a friend's wedding, and this was the hotel she recommended. Used to live in the Bay Area, so was well aware that everything would be pricey and the Union Square area would be crowded and a little noisy. The deal we found through [...]was competitive with (and actually, quite a bit cheaper than) other hotels in the area. The first night we were in a room right next to the elevators, which was extremely noisy. In the morning, spoke to the front desk, and they were very accommodating. They offered to move us before noon, and actually did so before 10 am. They were also quick to bring us extra pillows when we asked. Everyone we dealt with was very friendly, from housekeeping, to front desk, to bell captains. The rooms were really tiny, but clean and trendy. Was a little surprised to not find body lotion among the toiletries in the bathrooms, but there is a Walgreens just across the street. Keeping in mind that this is an old building (though nicely remodeled) in the heart of Union Square, it suited our needs just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SF Staycationers
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 4, 2011

Simply wonderful!

we stayed here one night for our in-city staycation, and the drake was so much fun. We had a beautiful room, enjoyed drinks at Bar Drake, and got recommendations from the staff on where to eat breakfast. For our next vacation, we're sticking with the drake!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 4, 2011

Sir Francis Drake

No mini fridge, small room, even with the two queen beds. They made me change rooms after one day since they were short rooms when I checked in. Total inconvenience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

its located in the heart of the city, Infusion Ultra Lounge is incredible

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Albany, Indiana
Jun 2, 2011

Nice Hotel

Great historic hotel, In the middle of everything. the staff was very freindly and courteous,The beefeater(doorman) was very freindly and helpful,the concierge was very helpful,check in and check out was freindly fast and easy,We opted to go green with this hotel because it was the first that offered. a 10.00 a day voucher to use in the hotel dining we saved 3 of them and received 30.oo of our breakfast at the hotel resturant,...now for the bad things, we paid for a view and didnt get it we looked directly at the marriot..and the windows were extremly dirty. and the bathroom was so little and I couldnt get into the ballrooms to take pictures...but overall Ide recomed this hotel.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears fines foods across the street, Loris diner accross the street, and the hotel resturant, Im not sure about the starlight room but next time I'm going to give it a try.......

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey, CA
Jun 1, 2011

As always. AMAZING.

Perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sacalas Bistro and Harry Denton Starlight room in your hotel. Perfection.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top