$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 10, 2015 Check-out: Apr 11, 2015

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Copernicus
Business
ATL
Oct 8, 2012

Not Good

For the price ($350/night) the value was abismal: Hair on the shower wall Painfully slow elevator Big crowds in the hotel no mini-bar in room no bath robes pay for internet etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeeRezd
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 7, 2012

Fantastic historic hotel

Our stay at this hotel was great. The customer service at check-in surpassed our expectations. The gentleman who was assisting us with choosing a room was nice enough to explain the layout of the building, which rooms had the best views, and which rooms were the quietest (there's a nightclub on the top floor of the hotel). He was even nice enough to upgrade our room to a junior suite. The room was spacious, clean, decorated beautifully, and the bathroom was huge. Overall, the hotel was in a great central location, and the cable car stop was right outside which was super convenient. We would definitely stay there again if we found ourselves back in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blc187
Business
New York City
Sep 4, 2012

small and noisy but clean with lots of character

I booked a historic queen room at this hotel because the photos looked amazing. Walking in, the lobby is gorgeous and has an awesome bar. The room itself was about 8x10, not room for anything more than a bed, dresser, and chair. Bed was comfy, toiletries were great. My complaint was that it was the room right next to the elevator and the walls rattled so loudly all night long. Fine if you're a heavy sleeper, otherwise request a different room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guest plus
Business
Drake Hotel San Francisco
Sep 4, 2012

Father Daughter trip

the bathroom was tinny, the windows are single glazed and you could hear noise from the street all night. A coffee bar and refrigerator would be nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Montana Doc
Business
Billings, MT
Aug 27, 2012

Weekend in San Fran

The Sir Francis Drake is convenient, cordial and very accommodating to guests. I love the old style lobby bar and seating, where we sat and visited with our family for hours. Our room was beautiful, with ample room. The staff is helpful beyond belief. Stay below the 20th floor, for the Starlight lounge on the 21st is hopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the Farallon! A block and a half walk to exquisite dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ninette
Business
chicago
Aug 20, 2012

very good location

excellent location for this quite expensive hotel. rooms are not very spacious for a family with 2 kids, but that's ok.the bathroom is very very tiny..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lairdman
Business
Provo, Utah
Aug 19, 2012

Business traveller

I enjoyed my stay at the Sir Francis Drake. The room was small, but clean. It was perfect for a business traveller that needed a place to rest his head. The hotel is located a block away from Union Square, right next to the Cable Car tracks, and within easy walking distance of downtown. There are also many restaurants within walking distance. The closest are an Italian bistro and a Starbucks. There is quite a bit of noise from the street level. If loud noises bother you, bring earplugs or ask for a room on a higher floor. Be sure and bring a jacket with you. San Francisco can be windy and foggy. I brought my jacket with me everywhere, and was glad I did on several occasions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has a "Go Green" program. If you decline housekeeping, they will give you a $10 gift card good for several locations, including Scala's Bistro next door. As a business traveller, I didn't feel the need for daily housekeeping, and I enjoyed getting $10 off of my breakfast each day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bert1208
Business
Chicago
Aug 14, 2012

Business Trip

Easy check in. Very hospitable at front desk. Concierge found a great little French bistro last minute for dinner. Had breakfast at Scala's two days. Good wait staff and food. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy to grab Powell St cable in front of hotel down to the wharf area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
debbie murphy
Business
tennessee
Jul 10, 2012

old world charm with exquisite service

The Sir Francis Drake is elegant, old-fashioned, clean, and conveniently located just by Union Square. Close to shopping, cable cars, great restaurants, and more. Don't expect a modern hotel with huge rooms, because mine was quite small. However, it was adequate, and I'm sure I could have had something larger - for more money. Exceptionally helpful staff, starting at the front door. The restaurant was lovely and elegant. Limo service to the airport costs the same as a cab. My experience at the Drake is one I will not soon forget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Janie D B
Business
Santa Barbara, California
Jul 2, 2012

Well past its prime

I stayed at this hotel years ago, and I have to say it is not what it used to be. The beautiful lobby gives a glimpse of its former glory, but it seems to have fallen on hard times. The rooms are noisy (I requested moves twice, and still had noise), and it is understaffed. I waited over an hour for a bellman to bring up bags, and finally went down to get them myself. There are not enough elevators, so there are long waits every time you want to go somewhere. The only saving grace is the great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bistro attached to the hotel is very good and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top