$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
221 reviews
The Perfect Hotel

It was my Birthday trip to San Francisco. We were immediately up-grated upon arrival to a bigger... See full review

  • BrowneyesMan
  • Jun 21, 2014
Awesome getaway

Perfect location, right across Sears Restaurant and next to Starbucks and Walgreen and trolleys! See full review

  • Nike Woman Runner
  • Oct 23, 2013
Legendary grandeur with modern convenience and views in Union Square

Grand in architecture and design, the Sir Francis Drake is a majestic hotel with connections to the past and present. The restored 1930s lobby -- complete with classically attired doormen -- invokes the Italian renaissance, while rooms boast modern conveniences such as TV and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Food lovers appreciate tasty dishes from Scala's Bistro, while the views of the city from legendary lounge Harry Denton's Starlight Room are second to none. The hotel is part of the Kimpton chain.

Highlights
  • Amazing lounge views of San Francisco from Harry Denton's Starlight Room
  • Classic elegance and service
  • On-site restaurant serves local ingredients
  • Located steps from Union Square
Rooms
The Sir Francis Drake hotel boasts 416 rooms, including 24 suites, and all accommodations are bathed in a cream-and-sage color pattern. Rooms come standard with flat-screen TVs, ironing boards, laptop-sized in-room safes and hair dryers. Rooms also are outfitted with a number of essential travel items that visitors generally forget, such as toothbrushes and dental floss. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).
Features
When the Sir Francis Drake hotel opened its doors in 1928, San Francisco never had seen anything like it. Back then, it had an indoor golf course, ice water on tap and radios in every room. Today, only one of these features remains (the radios). The main lobby is a total throwback, complete with dark wood and Beefeater doormen. Upstairs, at the Harry Denton Starlight Room, locals and visitors line up for cocktails and priceless views of the entire city. All guests have access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, complimentary yoga accessories and in-room spa services (fees apply). Visitors who opt out of housekeeping services for a day receive a $10 credit toward food at any of the on-site eateries. Guests enjoy food made from local ingredients at Scala's Bistro, which is run by former "Top Chef" contestants Jen Biesty and Tim Nugent. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Theater district (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 16,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Dedicated convention coordinator to assist with all meeting plans

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Classic Two Double
Accessible room with 2 Double beds
Acc Classic Queen Roll In Shwr
1 Queen Bed, Room has a roll in Shower. Communication Features Available.
Accessible Classic Queen
Accessible room with 1 queen bed
Classic Queen
Classic Room with 1 queen bed
City View Queen Room
City View Queen Room with a queen bed
Historic Queen
Historic Queen room with 1 queen bed
Classic Two Queen
Classic room with 2 queen beds
City View Two Queen
City View Deluxe Room with two Queen beds
Classic Two Double
Classic room with 2 double beds
Grand Two Queen
Extra spacious room with 2 queen beds
Classic King
Classic Room with 1 king bed
City View King Deluxe
City View King Deluxe with one king bed
Accessible Grand King
Accessible Grand King room with 1 King bed
Grand King
One king bed - additional seating arrangement
13. Sir Francis Drake Suite Acce
One king size bed
Sir Francis Drake Suite
Parlor Suite 384 square feet seating for 8 connect to second bedroom.
Presidential Suite
Presidential Suite 644 square feet connects to KPRE and pullout sofa

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.789 -122.4086
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, S; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 17.00, MI, S; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 46.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Dining

Scalas Bistro
Scalas Bistro located on the main level of the Sir Francis Drake Hotel features an award-winning Italian and French inspired menu with breakfast lunch and dinner served daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (221)

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
221 out of 221
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
j289092
Charlotte,nc
Jun 28, 2010

great for the price

The rooms were incredibly small and the walls very thin, my only complaints. I was on the 8th floor and could hear street noise, as well as my neighbor snoring next door, also you could hear toilet flushing, etc. The first night was hard to rest. The room was spotless, the bed comfy, but if you have more then one person in the room, i cannot imagine! Great location, on cable car line and walking to all stores and a starbucks located right next door. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

if you choose not to have housekeeping, there is a hanger you put on the door, you get a $10 voucher...

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
miami, florida
Jan 9, 2010

"Ole gran get-away"

A Gran hotel with echos of past greatness. The staff was very friendly and responsive during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Half a block from union square.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
j289092
Charlotte,nc
Jun 28, 2010

great for the price

The rooms were incredibly small and the walls very thin, my only complaints. I was on the 8th floor and could hear street noise, as well as my neighbor snoring next door, also you could hear toilet flushing, etc. The first night was hard to rest. The room was spotless, the bed comfy, but if you have more then one person in the room, i cannot imagine! Great location, on cable car line and walking to all stores and a starbucks located right next door. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

if you choose not to have housekeeping, there is a hanger you put on the door, you get a $10 voucher...

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deaf Guests
Chantilly, Virginia
Oct 5, 2013

Go Back Into Time at Sir Francis Drake

I felt like I was living in Boardwalk Empire while staying at Sir Francis Drake. I can see that it was a fine, luxurious place when it was first built. Compared to today's more modern hotels, everything seemed scaled down there. The toilet was extremely small and in order to sit on it properly to do my business, I had to scoot down. Both beds jutted out into the walking space. Service was good and the cleaning crew did a good job as well. The hotel is beautiful in a "time gone by" sort of way. We'd probably not stay there again, moving on to something a little more modern. The location was great - the cable cars run on Powell Street and Union Square and the shopping district was all a stone's throw from the hotel. This hotel reminds me of the New Yorker in New York City and the hotel in Carew Tower in Cincinnati, Ohio. All were built in the 20's and 30's and have that Art Deco style to them. There's nothing wrong with that and you can take in their grandeur and beauty. But just don't expect spacious and more modern fixtures and accommodations like you'd find at a Hilton or a Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
georock
Denver, CO
Dec 21, 2009

Sir Francis

It was a luxury hotel, but upgraded to a room with a couch, which at least helped the small size. The bathroom was the most inconvenient - no place to put ANYTHING - no shelves, drawers and the vanity held only the sink and three doors opened into each other - the entrance door, closet door, and bathroom door. The TV sound was horrible, picture marginal and few choices, no coffee pot, but the refrigerator had every imaginable drink in it (of course at a high price).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the best idea was given to us by the concierge - we bought day passes (1 day and a 3-day)for public transportation. You could ride the cable car (which is $5 a trip), the buses, and the street cars (electric-type buses. The 3-day pass ($11.00) gave you unlimited use of all it. There are Walgreens on every corner and you can get the passes there.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Toochie
San Jose, California
Dec 8, 2013

Great location, but unexpected surprises

When arriving at the hotel, I was not only greeted with a $57 valet parking fee, but also a grinch of a host! I was also surprised to find a "closet" sized room and a tinge of unpleasant odor. The Starlight Lounge offered the best view, but the weakest cocktail. To be honest, I couldn't wait to go to check out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
georock
Denver, CO
Dec 21, 2009

Sir Francis

It was a luxury hotel, but upgraded to a room with a couch, which at least helped the small size. The bathroom was the most inconvenient - no place to put ANYTHING - no shelves, drawers and the vanity held only the sink and three doors opened into each other - the entrance door, closet door, and bathroom door. The TV sound was horrible, picture marginal and few choices, no coffee pot, but the refrigerator had every imaginable drink in it (of course at a high price).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the best idea was given to us by the concierge - we bought day passes (1 day and a 3-day)for public transportation. You could ride the cable car (which is $5 a trip), the buses, and the street cars (electric-type buses. The 3-day pass ($11.00) gave you unlimited use of all it. There are Walgreens on every corner and you can get the passes there.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CFFF
Sacramento, CA, USA
Nov 25, 2011

Rooms too small.

The standard room is smaller than my closet, but it is an older hotel. Wish they had coffee in room, but there is no room. Had to either go to lobby or Starbucks. Staff was excellent and it was right in union square. Cable cars were loud though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go somewhere else for drinks and entertainment.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Paso Robles
Dec 21, 2008

Satisfying hotel close to Union Square

Traffic was terrible as I tried to get to the hotel. It was during the peak of the Christmas Shopping Season, so that was understandable. But we did have a difficult time getting to the lobby. The room was okay. My primary concern was that it was noisy. A loud party continued well into the morning (3 AM). Even though I didn't complain, I would've thought that someone from the hotel staff would've checked the floor and taken appropriate action in consideration of the rest of us. When I was getting ice a couple of floors below us I could hear the noise of the party on the floor below us. So I know it was loud enough for some kind of corrective action.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FIrst time vistor
Portland, Oregon
Dec 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel in the perfect location

Visited during the Holidays and the decorations definitely made it feel festive. Only complaint is the rooms are very small and the AC must not have been working properly because both nights we woke up in the middle of the night sweating. Despite lowering the AC to the lowest level, it was still uncomfortably hot. Otherwise, the location is amazing- just a block away from Union Square!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top