$171 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BrowneyesMan
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 21, 2014

The Perfect Hotel

It was my Birthday trip to San Francisco. We were immediately up-grated upon arrival to a bigger room. The staff was super friendly and happy to see us. The concierges gave us many options to explore the city. We booked several tourist destinations with them. Fast and convenient service. The Hotel is beautiful inside and out. Luxury without being over the top. The Bar is a welcoming feature entering the Hotel, you must stop and have a drink there. the bartenders are the nicest! The restaurant is pricy - but so worth it. The waiters were so knowledgeable and friendly, making our Dinner experience extra special. The Starlight Room on the top floor is a MUST SEE! We had my Birthday up there and it was awesome. Delicious appetizers and drinks serviced by the most friendliest and (most beautiful) waiter/staff in the city. The location is simply perfect. Everything you need and want to do is right there. Around the corner , up the street or right in front of your nose. We loved it there and we love the Sir Francis Drake Hotel. We will absolutely return to this great San Francisco Landmark, and to the most accommodating and courteous, professional, excellent service we've ever had. If you decide to visit them, you are in for a treat!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Starlight Room! - Go!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim of Ethiopia
Business
Alexandria, VA
Aug 8, 2014

Relaxing near Union Square great location

Welcome from the moment I entered the hotel. Front desk staff cheerful. Housekeeping was superb, and I left a modest tip; she left me a handwritten note thanking me. This classic hotel is steps from so many things to do in San Francisco. The daily one hour wine hour included off the lobby makes it perfect and a great place to make new friends. My meeting was at the Hyatt, but this one block away location was perfect. The elevators are older, but ran pretty well. Room service was also honest on timing and very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lefty O'Douls a buffet and two bars, piano bar nightly. Basic simple entrees under $15, in San Francisco a bargain.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caitlin OKC
Business
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Sep 16, 2014

Great Experience

This was a wonderful hotel! We were greeted and informed of an upgrade. Plus then we received free chocolate as well! The staff was excellent! The complimentary toiletries smelled fantastic. The décor is beautiful. And the location is great to access the major shopping areas in Union Square, jump on the trolley, or head down to jump on the tour buses in the union square center. We would definitely stay here again. We were upgraded to what I think was called a 'deluxe queen'. I will say that my sister was in a regular queen room and they are a bit small. However this is because it is an older hotel, and I think it adds to the overall charm!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The attached restaurant is great! also, there are a lot of restaurants on the street that offer awesome happy hour deals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DRSe
Business
Connecticut
Sep 20, 2014

Wonderful Hotel & Staff

If you want to experience San Francisco at it's finest, you could not do any better than the Sire Francis Drake. While the rooms are smaller than the "chain" hotels, the charm and history more than make up for that. More than that, here you know you're in San Francisco - there, it could be any city. The Palm is a must - best food I've ever had in SF. The staff across the board are among the best I've ever encountered. If there were more than 5 stars for ratings, the Sir Francis Drake would be included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at the Palm for the best dining experience you can have.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Passing By...
Business
Florida
Sep 29, 2014

Ver nice getway

If you are looking for character in a hotel and location, this is the place. Within walking distance to anything you would like to do in the city. The room are not that big, but then again the point is being out in the city. I will deffinetly will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PatriciaA
Business
Tampa
Nov 30, 2014

Getaway

Have stayed here 3 x now and it still doesn't disappoint. Love the starlite room at top of hotel, great 360 views of city. Centrally located on Union Square!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Millenium restaurant, vegan. Out of this work on Geary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Paul, MN
Dec 1, 2014

So fancy, and handy!

Got a deal on this and took it, upon recommendation from a friend who had stayed here. We were in SF for just a few days, and found our stay very comfortable and its location made our adventures in town very accessible. Loved the lobby bar and cozy (not large, but very well-appointed) room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit during the Pride festival in late June. You'll enjoy the parade!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JerryW
Business
St Albert Alberta , Canada
Mar 24, 2014

Great Location, Great Hotel , Great Staff

We were greeted warmly and treated well by all staff . Great Location and a Grande Ole Hotel , wonderfully restored and well run . We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tadich Grill on California Avenue, a great SF eating experience continuously operated since 1848

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tintinyu
Business
Nashville TN
May 5, 2014

The bathroom is too tiny

The bathroom is too tiny, other than that. Everything else is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 15, 2007

Small rooms

The property was well maintained and the staff efficient. The starlite room bar at the top was a plus - great city view at night. It was convenient to catch the trolly right outside the front door for a ride to the wharf. The shopping area 2 blocks east was cool. Liked the location. My only complaints - we found the room a bit cramped, probably typical because of it's age. And the health fitness room was closed and there was no pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top