$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 2, 2015 Check-out: Jul 3, 2015

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
166 out of 166
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
redd and mandy
Business
morenci, arizona
Sep 5, 2013

great place in the heart

The staff was very friendly, there was a wine hour which was amazing and right next to starbucks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy K
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 19, 2013

Wonderful Wedding

Everything was wonderful! "The Drake" was wedding central and it carried it off beautifully. Easy walking distance to many SF attractions, with cable car loading right outside the front door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the restaurant just across the street, Sears. It is rightly famous for its delicious breakfasts.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pleased First Timer
Business
Memphis, TN
Aug 10, 2013

Pleased First Timer

I have just returned from my trip to San Francisco. I had a bit of hesitancy about staying at the Sir Francis Drake Hotel because I thought it might be a bit quirky. I was quickly proven wrong. It is a lovely hotel. The rooms are small (bathroom super small) but I didn't have a problem with that since my stay in the room was only for sleeping. The staff was excellent and didn't hesitate in helping me take care of a business transaction that arose while there. As with any hotel, things happen but the staff was courteous and quickly made everything perfect - even though it was after mid-night when we arrived. Speaking of late night, it does not do the hotel justice. We arrived thinking that it was in a somewhat unsafe location because nothing was stirring but a few people who appeared to be intoxicated and there wasn't the kind of street lighting that we expected BUT when morning came, the entire street came to life and was filled with the hustle and bustle that I expected. The hotel is conveniently located for shopping, tour transportation and whatever you need. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gnul
Business
St Augustine Florida
Aug 8, 2013

Great staff

Room was small but clean. The staff was awesome. Chelsea at the lobby lounge was ver friendly and made sure to say hello the next day. The concierge was very helpful. From the minute we arrived until we left I can truly say it was a positive experience!!! Would stay here again. Close to shopping restaurants and easy access to any where in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iwendtcrazy
Business
San Diego, Ca
Aug 5, 2013

Big city action, tiny bathroom distraction

The hotel was in the heart of the action, Union Square, shopping, dining, cable cars and transportation. The bathroom was extremely small with a rusty bath window that would not close completely. It was often drafty while bathing and outside street noise entered. One had to choreograph ones movement from the toilet to sink. There was nowhere to put toiletries as the vanity was very petite. The rooms were not insulated well as I could easily hear the occupants next door. But the view of Union Square was terrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't drive, use taxis, cable cars, Muni and BART

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love the City CA
Business
Centeral CA
Jul 22, 2013

Right in the middle of it all

This is a great place to stay if you want to be close to everything the City has to offer. You are just a walk away from shopping, dining, and some great people watching. Getting in and out of the hotel by car is an adventure and the $57 parking bill may cause some sticker shock. Rooms were clean and roomy, although the bathroom is extremely small. The building is quite old, so if you have some guest in the next room, such as I did, you will be able to hear their party until they pass out at 3am. Overall very nice, not so sure I would take small children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't get drinks at the hotel bar. Better to take a short walk on a side street not touching union square. Drinks just a good, but will be more reasonably priced.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tk56
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 24, 2013

Well Done!

really good experience. They took our luggage right away and brought it up to our room. Room was available right away. House keeping was available anytime and was a superfriendly staff. I will definately go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tacosbeans
Business
San Diego, California
Jun 19, 2013

Great if only free wireless

A great location worth the price. A cool older hotel just wish they offered free wireless. Other than that a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's and Nordstrom really close by.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seattleite in Training
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 17, 2013

Excellent if slightly cramped

I enjoyed my stay at the Sir Francis Drake. It was close enough for walking to a conference at the Moscone center and centrally located to get to other parts of the city. I really liked the ability to defer cleaning services for a $10 credit on food and services, more hotels should offer this. On the down side, the room I had was small, particularly the bathroom. For a larger person it was difficult to use the toilet and not be bumping up against the sink or wall. Additionally the cable service in the room would intermittently cut out sound, which was annoying the few times I used it. The staff were friendly and helpful the couple of times I needed assistance with storing my bags (both before and after my stay).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Proud Dad Gustavo
Business
San Diego
May 27, 2013

Great location

Excellent location for business travel, sport events or for just exploring San Francisco. Rooms somewhat small and can easily hear noise from adjacent visitors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very near to China Town, Union square and shopping facilities

Back to menu Return to top