$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
166 out of 166
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love the City CA
Business
Centeral CA
Jul 22, 2013

Right in the middle of it all

This is a great place to stay if you want to be close to everything the City has to offer. You are just a walk away from shopping, dining, and some great people watching. Getting in and out of the hotel by car is an adventure and the $57 parking bill may cause some sticker shock. Rooms were clean and roomy, although the bathroom is extremely small. The building is quite old, so if you have some guest in the next room, such as I did, you will be able to hear their party until they pass out at 3am. Overall very nice, not so sure I would take small children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't get drinks at the hotel bar. Better to take a short walk on a side street not touching union square. Drinks just a good, but will be more reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carok
Business
Hummelstown, PA
Sep 25, 2013

San Francisco

Not sure how this hotel got 4 stars. I am hard pressed to give 3. There is no fine dining room, just a bistro and a light fare which was so-so. The rooms are rather small and the bathroom is smaller than a small closet. Had to enter and stand sideways to close the door. Had to ask for a coffee appliance. However, the happy hour was nice. Staff were nice & accommodating but manager in Sunlight Room was too loud & nasty to staff in front of customers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Upscale shopping is great. All the big name stores which are very helpful to visitors. 2 blocks away also is the Union Square where all the tour buses start.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deaf Guests
Business
Chantilly, Virginia
Oct 5, 2013

Go Back Into Time at Sir Francis Drake

I felt like I was living in Boardwalk Empire while staying at Sir Francis Drake. I can see that it was a fine, luxurious place when it was first built. Compared to today's more modern hotels, everything seemed scaled down there. The toilet was extremely small and in order to sit on it properly to do my business, I had to scoot down. Both beds jutted out into the walking space. Service was good and the cleaning crew did a good job as well. The hotel is beautiful in a "time gone by" sort of way. We'd probably not stay there again, moving on to something a little more modern. The location was great - the cable cars run on Powell Street and Union Square and the shopping district was all a stone's throw from the hotel. This hotel reminds me of the New Yorker in New York City and the hotel in Carew Tower in Cincinnati, Ohio. All were built in the 20's and 30's and have that Art Deco style to them. There's nothing wrong with that and you can take in their grandeur and beauty. But just don't expect spacious and more modern fixtures and accommodations like you'd find at a Hilton or a Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FIrst time vistor
Business
Portland, Oregon
Dec 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel in the perfect location

Visited during the Holidays and the decorations definitely made it feel festive. Only complaint is the rooms are very small and the AC must not have been working properly because both nights we woke up in the middle of the night sweating. Despite lowering the AC to the lowest level, it was still uncomfortably hot. Otherwise, the location is amazing- just a block away from Union Square!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Toochie
Business
San Jose, California
Dec 8, 2013

Great location, but unexpected surprises

When arriving at the hotel, I was not only greeted with a $57 valet parking fee, but also a grinch of a host! I was also surprised to find a "closet" sized room and a tinge of unpleasant odor. The Starlight Lounge offered the best view, but the weakest cocktail. To be honest, I couldn't wait to go to check out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 11, 2008

lClose to shopping and transit

The room was dated. Painting in the bathroom was could have been done better. Although the room was supposed to be deluxe however, there is not much room to move around. Not enough space to put stuff. One day, the room was not cleaned at 4:30 pm. The housekeeping supervisor came and checked and just left without apologizing. She just came and left without giving any idea when it will be done. We had to look for the cleaner who came to clean up after an hour of waiting! This is one of the worst experience in our trip of 20 days in which we had used several hotels!! I will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to shopping, transit and restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 4, 2011

Sir Francis Drake

No mini fridge, small room, even with the two queen beds. They made me change rooms after one day since they were short rooms when I checked in. Total inconvenience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

its located in the heart of the city, Infusion Ultra Lounge is incredible

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Dec 25, 2010

So-so

A bit less than expected for a Kimpton property. Very small room, tiny bathroom, faded upholstery and carpet, some wallcovering peeling. Dead plants on grand staircase to the lobby. Just not what we expected for a grand old hotel under solid new management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears Fine Restaurant was a good dinner and breakfast choice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
feddasaur
Business
El Dorado Hills, CA, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Easy Shopping Weekend

Stayed for a weekend getaway. Excellent location with shopping and restaraunts well within walking distance. A bit noisy if you do not find the clang of the cable car bells desirable. The minus for me was that the heating/cooling vent was right over the bed, so when the AC kicked in, it got pretty cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charlie H
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 2, 2010

Great Location, OK Quality

The location of the hotel was Great as well as the price. Everything else was subpar. The room was small and the quality of the room was not good. The details in the room were missing, the room needed some repair work done...toilet ran, wall paper was peeling in spots, trim in bathroom was dirty and unfinished, the bedding had past guests hair on it, and tub caulk was brown. The other main complaint about the hotel was the valet parking charge and the service. It was $52.00 a night to park and took up to 20 minutes to get our car. This may not sound bad, but this was never told to us until checkout.To make it even more irratating, the lot across the street was only $33.00 per day to park. Another downer was going to the bar at the hotel and having to pay a cover despite being a guest. I thought this was a little tacky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Alcatrez was great! You have to dot he audio tour! Little italy was great as well. Don't forget Napa!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top