$233 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 11, 2008

lClose to shopping and transit

The room was dated. Painting in the bathroom was could have been done better. Although the room was supposed to be deluxe however, there is not much room to move around. Not enough space to put stuff. One day, the room was not cleaned at 4:30 pm. The housekeeping supervisor came and checked and just left without apologizing. She just came and left without giving any idea when it will be done. We had to look for the cleaner who came to clean up after an hour of waiting! This is one of the worst experience in our trip of 20 days in which we had used several hotels!! I will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to shopping, transit and restaurants

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 4, 2011

Sir Francis Drake

No mini fridge, small room, even with the two queen beds. They made me change rooms after one day since they were short rooms when I checked in. Total inconvenience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

its located in the heart of the city, Infusion Ultra Lounge is incredible

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Dec 25, 2010

So-so

A bit less than expected for a Kimpton property. Very small room, tiny bathroom, faded upholstery and carpet, some wallcovering peeling. Dead plants on grand staircase to the lobby. Just not what we expected for a grand old hotel under solid new management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears Fine Restaurant was a good dinner and breakfast choice.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
feddasaur
Business
El Dorado Hills, CA, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Easy Shopping Weekend

Stayed for a weekend getaway. Excellent location with shopping and restaraunts well within walking distance. A bit noisy if you do not find the clang of the cable car bells desirable. The minus for me was that the heating/cooling vent was right over the bed, so when the AC kicked in, it got pretty cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charlie H
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 2, 2010

Great Location, OK Quality

The location of the hotel was Great as well as the price. Everything else was subpar. The room was small and the quality of the room was not good. The details in the room were missing, the room needed some repair work done...toilet ran, wall paper was peeling in spots, trim in bathroom was dirty and unfinished, the bedding had past guests hair on it, and tub caulk was brown. The other main complaint about the hotel was the valet parking charge and the service. It was $52.00 a night to park and took up to 20 minutes to get our car. This may not sound bad, but this was never told to us until checkout.To make it even more irratating, the lot across the street was only $33.00 per day to park. Another downer was going to the bar at the hotel and having to pay a cover despite being a guest. I thought this was a little tacky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Alcatrez was great! You have to dot he audio tour! Little italy was great as well. Don't forget Napa!

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeremyscareme
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 4, 2011

It was a fine place

We liked the lobby the best. The pillows were awful and the room needs a decorator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The bar in the lobby is GREAT.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The lonley business traveler
Business
NYC
Aug 27, 2010

Good but can use an update

Very attentive staff - It came in handy because we needed to change rooms twice - A/C etc. Rooms are small and can use an update - but it matters only if you spend your time in your room - and then again who does when you are in San Francisco? The location makes up fro most of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
georock
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 21, 2009

Sir Francis

It was a luxury hotel, but upgraded to a room with a couch, which at least helped the small size. The bathroom was the most inconvenient - no place to put ANYTHING - no shelves, drawers and the vanity held only the sink and three doors opened into each other - the entrance door, closet door, and bathroom door. The TV sound was horrible, picture marginal and few choices, no coffee pot, but the refrigerator had every imaginable drink in it (of course at a high price).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the best idea was given to us by the concierge - we bought day passes (1 day and a 3-day)for public transportation. You could ride the cable car (which is $5 a trip), the buses, and the street cars (electric-type buses. The 3-day pass ($11.00) gave you unlimited use of all it. There are Walgreens on every corner and you can get the passes there.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paso Robles
Dec 21, 2008

Satisfying hotel close to Union Square

Traffic was terrible as I tried to get to the hotel. It was during the peak of the Christmas Shopping Season, so that was understandable. But we did have a difficult time getting to the lobby. The room was okay. My primary concern was that it was noisy. A loud party continued well into the morning (3 AM). Even though I didn't complain, I would've thought that someone from the hotel staff would've checked the floor and taken appropriate action in consideration of the rest of us. When I was getting ice a couple of floors below us I could hear the noise of the party on the floor below us. So I know it was loud enough for some kind of corrective action.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami, florida
Jan 9, 2010

"Ole gran get-away"

A Gran hotel with echos of past greatness. The staff was very friendly and responsive during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Half a block from union square.

Back to menu Return to top