$171 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Skerlie B
Business
Long Beach, CA, USA
Oct 23, 2013

Bundle by Or bitz . Winning!

I was able to book a hotel/flight package at the SFD with one of my favorite airlines to fly, Virgin America. The cost made it worth it (as booking separately would increase the cost by $400). Once I got on property, the Sir Francis Drake was RIGHT up my alley. Restored Old School luxury, perfect proximity to Union Square, easily accessible by BART (normally, anyhow....just not THIS weekend , as there was a BART strike. But the location is perfect for the Powell station), and the bartender makes an EXQUISITE bourbon sidecar (without even asking me "what is that made with?!?!)- WINNING. Would totally stay here again. In fact, I'm looking forward to it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Jasper's Corner Tap.....it's an excellent Gastropub, and it's very close by!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deaf Guests
Business
Chantilly, Virginia
Oct 5, 2013

Go Back Into Time at Sir Francis Drake

I felt like I was living in Boardwalk Empire while staying at Sir Francis Drake. I can see that it was a fine, luxurious place when it was first built. Compared to today's more modern hotels, everything seemed scaled down there. The toilet was extremely small and in order to sit on it properly to do my business, I had to scoot down. Both beds jutted out into the walking space. Service was good and the cleaning crew did a good job as well. The hotel is beautiful in a "time gone by" sort of way. We'd probably not stay there again, moving on to something a little more modern. The location was great - the cable cars run on Powell Street and Union Square and the shopping district was all a stone's throw from the hotel. This hotel reminds me of the New Yorker in New York City and the hotel in Carew Tower in Cincinnati, Ohio. All were built in the 20's and 30's and have that Art Deco style to them. There's nothing wrong with that and you can take in their grandeur and beauty. But just don't expect spacious and more modern fixtures and accommodations like you'd find at a Hilton or a Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greatmana24
Business
New York, NY
Sep 30, 2013

Perfect!

The Sir Frances Drake was the perfect choice for my trip to San Francisco. It was central to shopping, sites, transportation, and the famous cable car. The staff was great and the valet, doormen always were welcoming. I had my car there and they never made us wait too long for it even in rush times. The beds are really comfortable and bathrooms are nicely stocked. This hotel is for the older crowd so if you are looking for a club scene, this isn't it. But it's tasteful, nice, elegant, and classy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carok
Business
Hummelstown, PA
Sep 25, 2013

San Francisco

Not sure how this hotel got 4 stars. I am hard pressed to give 3. There is no fine dining room, just a bistro and a light fare which was so-so. The rooms are rather small and the bathroom is smaller than a small closet. Had to enter and stand sideways to close the door. Had to ask for a coffee appliance. However, the happy hour was nice. Staff were nice & accommodating but manager in Sunlight Room was too loud & nasty to staff in front of customers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Upscale shopping is great. All the big name stores which are very helpful to visitors. 2 blocks away also is the Union Square where all the tour buses start.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Em SF
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 22, 2013

Wonderful Service, Beautiful Room

The Sir Francis Drake hotel exceeded my expectations. I would like to commend the front desk staff. When I checked in the woman at the front desk noticed I was local. I told her I had booked the room as a surprise anniversary gift and she outdid herself upgrading my room so that we had the best experience possible. She upgrades us to a huge suite that was absolutely gorgeous and opulent. Another nice touch was the free wine happy hour, where again the staff were incredibly nice and welcoming. The location is right downtown on Union Square. You could hear the cable car running outside, which I thought was charming. Bottom line, I had an outstanding experience at the Sir Francis Drake hotel and could not have been happier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California reunion travel
Business
Zionsville,Indianapolis
Sep 22, 2013

Good location in San Francisco

Good to excellent. Computer system was not working on check in which slowed process.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Billy Dean
Business
Rydal Georgia
Sep 11, 2013

top notch

the hotel is wonderful...the staff were more than accomodating..we were upgraded to a King Grand on the 9th floor with views in two directions...high quality furnishings in the room....I did not want to leave...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

way over priced....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JamedeAussie
Business
New York
Sep 10, 2013

Great Spot

great location, amazing lobby and friendly staff. The drag brunch experience at the top floor bar was really good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great cocktails at Burrit Room (1st floor of Mystic hotel)...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sailor Don
Business
Seattle, Washington
Sep 9, 2013

Wonderful Weekend Getaway

The staff was very friendly, the room was comfortable, and the location was fantastic. All in all a great weekend getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Colonial

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
redd and mandy
Business
morenci, arizona
Sep 5, 2013

great place in the heart

The staff was very friendly, there was a wine hour which was amazing and right next to starbucks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top