$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
166 out of 166
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kyland
Business
Orange County, CA
Feb 7, 2008

Changes

I stayed a the hotel back in the late 90s and I recall the property being very nice at the time. So I booked the hotel on memory and location. I was really surpised by the size of my queen room. I thought hotels in NYC were small:0

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

SAKS is next door....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas
Dec 24, 2009

Do not recommend.

The bed sheets were really dirty. The room was very small. VERY SMALL bathroom. Not what i expected from the photos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palmdale, CA
Aug 10, 2009

The service was good

The service was good. The room and bathroon were incredibly small. The hotel in general still needs some work as well. Housekeeping forgot to leave towels on our second day and I called the front desk and they sent only hand towels and bath towels, we still had no washcloths. The ice machine on our floor didn't work. This hotel would be a good value at 1/2 the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Munich, Germany
Oct 29, 2009

No welcome for tourists ...

The location of this hotel is perfect. Cable Car stops in front of the hotel. The rooms are nice and friendly. Only, tourists are not welcome - clients should be businesslike. You feel it while talking to the staff. The Parking Fee of 46 USD per Day is immense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
carmel valley, ca
May 3, 2009

dissapointed

needs updating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I don't think so
Business
Manteca, CA.
Feb 6, 2010

Not what I expected

Arrived at hotel 1/2 hour early greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. A++ . got into room 816 found my upgraded room a lot smaller than i expected and the furniture nicked and chairs needing some spotting. went into bathroom found bathtub "Horrible" Chipped paint all over REALLY needs to be replaced or refinished. there was a piece of toilet paper stuck in a hole on the trim of the poorly painted window. GROSS. no bathrobe in room even though it was mentioned on my reservation. TV remote keys stuck. no music offered in room. I was just very disappointed in the entire stay. i expected that the Sir Francis Drake Hotel would have high standards and quality rooms. WRONG. I really don't think i will be staying there again. not sure who gives them the stars but they should get some glasses or at least go to the hotel and experience it for themselves. Also had chipped moldings around the doors i got my sweater caught and snagged. Dirty Rooms bring down the star value to a 2 star maybe 3 if there are feeling lucky

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service and Restaurant came from same kitchen HOWEVER the dining room quality was superior to that of the Roomservice. I ordered 3 items from room service and i couldn't even get the cover off of one item and the others were just ok. but the dining room was excellent quality and in service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maria Kinghorn
Business
Salt Lake City
Dec 29, 2013

A decent place to stay

Our main complaint is that the room felt extremely small. The bathroom was especially difficult to move around in for putting on makeup, etc. I booked a massage that was disappointing, not the therapist but the hotel seemed overwhelmed with 2 clients at the same time; no room for the massage table in the room and no table available at the correct time. It had to be borrowed from another hotel. It took about half an hour to find a room suitable to set up the table, etc., meanwhile I wandered around the hotel in my pajamas and spa robe. I would have chose not to do that. The concierge service was excellent as was the maid service. I did order an additional blanket when I first got in on Saturday night which never came. I called two days later to request it again. It came quickly this time. The massage therapist was excellent but the whole experience was too costly considering the inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SCLTC
Business
Norwalk, CA
Dec 14, 2009

San Francisco getaway

my experience at any hotel is to be always aware of your surroundings, my husband was in our room watching football i was out shopping someone came in our room using another key. the person stood there in shock and said im sorry wrong room. when checking out i told front desk and was told it could of been inside job. my family was staying in another hotel severly rooms were broken in too items were taken. Be very carful of where your at and where you go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Down the street about one block

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Couple of outcasts
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 20, 2010

San Francisco Roadtrip

The hotel was conveniently located in the middle of San Francisco. It was clean and the rooms were a decent size for being in the middle of a huge city. The decor was a LITTLE bit off, but overall it was super comfy and familiar. The only thing I would complain about is that from the outside it looks like it would be very different inside, but once you walk in, it's like any other hotel. Tons of tourists, not very unique. I would definitely recommend it to my parents, but not to my best friend. We were looking for something drastically unique and didn't find that here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner! We spent most of our time doing this since there were shopping stores EVERYWHERE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CFFF
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Nov 25, 2011

Rooms too small.

The standard room is smaller than my closet, but it is an older hotel. Wish they had coffee in room, but there is no room. Had to either go to lobby or Starbucks. Staff was excellent and it was right in union square. Cable cars were loud though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go somewhere else for drinks and entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top