Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$169
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Mar 11, 2016 Check-out: Mar 13, 2016

Excellent hotel

Would recommend Tue, Dec 29, 2009
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful at every turn. The hotel is half a block from Union Square. There is a streetcar stop in front of the hotel. Many great restaurants nearby. Union Square is very busy so if you seek 'peace and quiet' this will not be the place to stay. Hotel is clear and well run. Pets are welcome.

| Palm Springs, CA Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Do not recommend.

Would not recommend Thu, Dec 24, 2009
The bed sheets were really dirty. The room was very small. VERY SMALL bathroom. Not what i expected from the photos.

| las vegas Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Sir Francis

Would recommend Mon, Dec 21, 2009
It was a luxury hotel, but upgraded to a room with a couch, which at least helped the small size. The bathroom was the most inconvenient - no place to put ANYTHING - no shelves, drawers and the vanity held only the sink and three doors opened into each other - the entrance door, closet door, and bathroom door. The TV sound was horrible, picture marginal and few choices, no coffee pot, but the refrigerator had every imaginable drink in it (of course at a high price).

Money saver

the best idea was given to us by the concierge - we bought day passes (1 day and a 3-day)for public transportation. You could ride the cable car (which is $5 a trip), the buses, and the street cars (electric-type buses. The 3-day pass ($11.00) gave you unlimited use of all it. There are Walgreens on every corner and you can get the passes there.

| Denver, CO Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Hotel Review

Would not recommend Mon, Dec 14, 2009
We paid far to much money for a deluxe king room --- only thing about it that was right was the king bed. The toliet was something that you would fine in a cheap hotel -- it rarely flushed at took over 10 minutes to refill. What was promised at the time I booked the room did not happen with the room.

Nightlife hint

Harry Dentons Startlight Lounge

| Danville, CA Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Excellent location, good price, but...

Would recommend Thu, Dec 3, 2009
This was the first vacation my fiancee and I took to San Francisco. We selected the hotel based on location, price, and the reviews. We were not let down. However, buyer beware: (1) the rooms are on the small side (but this is an older hotel in downtown San Fran so it should be expected and don't be surprised), (2) the rooms on the top two floors get feedback from the live band that play on the weekends (don't stay in them if you plan to go to bed before 1 am or are a light sleeper), and (3) the valet service is $51 per night (no one warned us about that until we arrived). The hotel staff was very helpful - from front desk to valet to room service. We recommend the bistro on the ground floor and taking public transportation (the cable car line runs right in front of the hotel - $5 - and the city buses run on the streets just above and below - $2). We also took a $7 cab ride from the hotel to pier 33 for the Alcatraz tour.

Money saver

Take public transportation! Not only is it inexpensive, but the native San Franciscans are friendly and will get you on the right bus if you get lost.

| Norco, CA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

fantastic couples retreat

Would recommend Wed, Nov 25, 2009
this place was up with the best! world class fun. when in las vegas (my home)it's the mandalay bay, when in san francisco it's the sir francis drake. it's that simple ask anyone! great restaurants, outstanding shopping and the trollies, Oh the trollies!two nights three days of nonstop fun! I love L.V. but Las Vegas has nothing on San Francisco.

Shopping hint

while shopping, wear comfort, don't plan on eating at the same restaurant twice, their all different and all great. we looked to see for tell tail signs of "rice a roni" but it was not served anywhere! the overall experence was great.

| Las vegas, Nevada Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Sir Francis Drake review

Would recommend Mon, Nov 9, 2009
[...] should inform guests of $52 parking fee

| Petaluma CA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great location,clean hotel

Would recommend Tue, Nov 3, 2009
The location is super, easy to shop and walk all over city. Short cab ride or hop on cable car in front of hotel to any part of city. Union Sq has lots of shops, eateries,bars,sights to see. Directly across the street Famous Sears restaurant, awesome breakfast ,lunch or dinner inexpensive. The build your Bloody Mary in the hotel bar is Great! Staff was so helpful always asking if I needed anything and offering to take shopping bags to my room. Classy Doorman very friendly and helpful with directions. Though the room was not too big it was perfect and quiet, the room was very clean. Bed was great.I heard that the Brunch was Awesome will try next time, people were bragging about it.

Dining

Sears or Scalia's in Hotel both awesome....

| San Diego Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Just okay stay at Sir Francis Drake

Would recommend Mon, Nov 2, 2009
Hotel is in great location, the pictures on line make it look a little more grandiose than it actually is in person. Not quite shabby, but a little frayed at the edges . Bar on roof has an amazing view. Room was very small and we found previous guests shoes under our bed. My guess is that they were worn by an escort that was subsequently murdered after sex then butchered in the cramped bathroom and thrown out the old school windows piece by piece to the teaming hordes of hungry vagrants which comprise the bulk of San Francisco's sidewalk traffic.

| bay view Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

drake sf

Would recommend Sun, Nov 1, 2009
very nice for the price classic old hotel perfect location great staff,,, noisy neighbors[*]

| san diego Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5