$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
166 out of 166
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Worldwide Traveler Couple
Palm Desert
Apr 16, 2013

Great at UnionSquare

Just what you need when you visit San Francisco. Close to everything. Hotel is well done and staff is courteous. Room was updated and always clean. Nice bed and Tv settings. Everything is in it : restaurant, coffee shop, night club and in the middle of any restaurant and shop in town at Union Square. Two stops of the Bus Tour to visit any part of San Francisco with a 24 or 48 pass are around the corner. Moscone Convention Center is a few blocks by foot as it is Chinatown. Great experience, great hotel, nice time during my long weekend in San Francisco

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus Tour Hope On Hope Off. Great to go to all places of interest from the shores to the Golden Gate Bridge and any museums and neighborhoods in between

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SF Staycationers
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 4, 2011

Simply wonderful!

we stayed here one night for our in-city staycation, and the drake was so much fun. We had a beautiful room, enjoyed drinks at Bar Drake, and got recommendations from the staff on where to eat breakfast. For our next vacation, we're sticking with the drake!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Albany, Indiana
Jun 2, 2011

Nice Hotel

Great historic hotel, In the middle of everything. the staff was very freindly and courteous,The beefeater(doorman) was very freindly and helpful,the concierge was very helpful,check in and check out was freindly fast and easy,We opted to go green with this hotel because it was the first that offered. a 10.00 a day voucher to use in the hotel dining we saved 3 of them and received 30.oo of our breakfast at the hotel resturant,...now for the bad things, we paid for a view and didnt get it we looked directly at the marriot..and the windows were extremly dirty. and the bathroom was so little and I couldnt get into the ballrooms to take pictures...but overall Ide recomed this hotel.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears fines foods across the street, Loris diner accross the street, and the hotel resturant, Im not sure about the starlight room but next time I'm going to give it a try.......

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
littleton, co
Oct 28, 2009

fun in san francisco

very friendly and helpful staff; great location to enjoy city touring

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cameron Park, CA
Jul 24, 2009

SF Weekend

The hotel location was excellent. The room was fine. The staff were good (nothing exceptionally good or bad). I liked the club on top of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Maps with different runs and their corresponding mileage were provided upon request.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Apr 12, 2010

Hotel Experience

Great service and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Simru12
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 13, 2009

San Francisco

Nothing the hotel can do about it due to the way the building was constructed, but the bathrooms are extremely small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears' Fine Food and Lori's Diner are both right across the street. Great places for a fast and affordable breakfast.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Jul 11, 2011

Great staff

Great location, small room, awesome staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Royhs
Business
Redding, California
Sep 4, 2011

Sir Francis Drake

The hotel is centrally located. One block from Union Square. The trolley stops right infront of the hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We got a great price for the Labor Day weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cheesecake Factory located at the top of Macy's.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kona, Hawaii
Sep 20, 2009

Great Value

The Scala Resturant has long been one of our favorite places to eat. We decided to stay at Sir Francis Drake for its location and food. We were not disappointed in either. The staff is more than friendly and the beds very comfortable. The service is excellent and staff very friendly. Would stay again and take the money I save shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the wild Alaskan King Salmon at Scala's resturant in the hotel. Also very nice night club on top floor if you don't mind paying the cover charge.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sogs
Business
Orange County, CA
Jan 17, 2010

Sir Francis Drake

It was perfect. We visited many places around the hotel - great location. Just wish the rooms were a tiny bit bigger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top