$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 11, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlie the Lawyer
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 11, 2010

Very nice old hotel

It's a very nice swanky old hotel in the heart of San Francisco. Couldn't have a better location. The restaurant on the first floor is first class. It's right on the cable car line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In addition to Scala's in the hotel, Farrillon, a block away is worth a visit, too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The U
Business
Herndon, VA
Apr 9, 2010

Not Bad

Hotel is in a great location. The staff is friendly, but sometimes the front desk is undermanned. I had an issue with a broken remote control for my TV and it took them a while to give me an new one, and when the did it didn't work. The next day I eventually was able to get a new remote that worked. Other than that no huge issues. Hotel is VERY pet friendly. The fitness center is nothing to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midland
Business
Midland, MI
Apr 7, 2010

Great for shoppers in Union Square

Great proximity to shopping district. Scalas Bistro is excellent, as well as the Starlight Lounge on the top floor. Many restaurants / bars within walking distance. Not recommended for business travel or extended stays, as no business center or exercise facility, but excellent hotel for casual travelers. Was a bit noisy several nights due to kids in neighboring rooms, but in general, great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Sushi at Sanraku on 704 Sutter - great value and service, short walk from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico, CA
Mar 29, 2010

Classy

Came for our 39th anniversary (and glad we did). Comfortable bed in a pleasant room. Close to Union Square, Cable Cars, and fun places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Agoura Hills Ca.
Mar 3, 2010

Surprise Anniversary Weekend

We had a very nice dinner in their restaurant. We rode the cable cars. They were very convenient, because they passed right out in front of the hotel. We eat crab for lunch at the wharf. We took long walks, and eat dinner at a restaurant suggested by the concierge. The room was comfortable, and clean. Any personal requests were handled in a quick, and efficient manner. [...]the Super Shuttle back to the airport was very disappointing. They took so long sitting at other hotels with no one to pick up that we were very close to missing our plane. It was very stressful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the concierge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I don't think so
Business
Manteca, CA.
Feb 6, 2010

Not what I expected

Arrived at hotel 1/2 hour early greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. A++ . got into room 816 found my upgraded room a lot smaller than i expected and the furniture nicked and chairs needing some spotting. went into bathroom found bathtub "Horrible" Chipped paint all over REALLY needs to be replaced or refinished. there was a piece of toilet paper stuck in a hole on the trim of the poorly painted window. GROSS. no bathrobe in room even though it was mentioned on my reservation. TV remote keys stuck. no music offered in room. I was just very disappointed in the entire stay. i expected that the Sir Francis Drake Hotel would have high standards and quality rooms. WRONG. I really don't think i will be staying there again. not sure who gives them the stars but they should get some glasses or at least go to the hotel and experience it for themselves. Also had chipped moldings around the doors i got my sweater caught and snagged. Dirty Rooms bring down the star value to a 2 star maybe 3 if there are feeling lucky

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service and Restaurant came from same kitchen HOWEVER the dining room quality was superior to that of the Roomservice. I ordered 3 items from room service and i couldn't even get the cover off of one item and the others were just ok. but the dining room was excellent quality and in service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charlie H
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 2, 2010

Great Location, OK Quality

The location of the hotel was Great as well as the price. Everything else was subpar. The room was small and the quality of the room was not good. The details in the room were missing, the room needed some repair work done...toilet ran, wall paper was peeling in spots, trim in bathroom was dirty and unfinished, the bedding had past guests hair on it, and tub caulk was brown. The other main complaint about the hotel was the valet parking charge and the service. It was $52.00 a night to park and took up to 20 minutes to get our car. This may not sound bad, but this was never told to us until checkout.To make it even more irratating, the lot across the street was only $33.00 per day to park. Another downer was going to the bar at the hotel and having to pay a cover despite being a guest. I thought this was a little tacky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Alcatrez was great! You have to dot he audio tour! Little italy was great as well. Don't forget Napa!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Couple of outcasts
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 20, 2010

San Francisco Roadtrip

The hotel was conveniently located in the middle of San Francisco. It was clean and the rooms were a decent size for being in the middle of a huge city. The decor was a LITTLE bit off, but overall it was super comfy and familiar. The only thing I would complain about is that from the outside it looks like it would be very different inside, but once you walk in, it's like any other hotel. Tons of tourists, not very unique. I would definitely recommend it to my parents, but not to my best friend. We were looking for something drastically unique and didn't find that here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner! We spent most of our time doing this since there were shopping stores EVERYWHERE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Couple of outcasts
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 20, 2010

San Francisco Roadtrip

The hotel was conveniently located in the middle of San Francisco. It was clean and the rooms were a decent size for being in the middle of a huge city. The decor was a LITTLE bit off, but overall it was super comfy and familiar. The only thing I would complain about is that from the outside it looks like it would be very different inside, but once you walk in, it's like any other hotel. Tons of tourists, not very unique. I would definitely recommend it to my parents, but not to my best friend. We were looking for something drastically unique and didn't find that here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner! We spent most of our time doing this since there were shopping stores EVERYWHERE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sogs
Business
Orange County, CA
Jan 17, 2010

Sir Francis Drake

It was perfect. We visited many places around the hotel - great location. Just wish the rooms were a tiny bit bigger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top