$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
158 reviews
So fancy, and handy!

Got a deal on this and took it, upon recommendation from a friend who had stayed here. We were in... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 1, 2014
Getaway

Have stayed here 3 x now and it still doesn't disappoint. Love the starlite room at top of hotel,... See full review

  • PatriciaA
  • Nov 30, 2014
Legendary grandeur with modern convenience and views in Union Square

Grand in architecture and design, the Sir Francis Drake is a majestic hotel with connections to the past and present. The restored 1930s lobby -- complete with classically attired doormen -- invokes the Italian renaissance, while rooms boast modern conveniences such as TV and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Food lovers appreciate tasty dishes from Scala's Bistro, while the views of the city from legendary lounge Harry Denton's Starlight Room are second to none. The hotel is part of the Kimpton chain.

Highlights
  • Amazing lounge views of San Francisco from Harry Denton's Starlight Room
  • Classic elegance and service
  • On-site restaurant serves local ingredients
  • Located steps from Union Square
Rooms
The Sir Francis Drake hotel boasts 416 rooms, including 24 suites, and all accommodations are bathed in a cream-and-sage color pattern. Rooms come standard with flat-screen TVs, ironing boards, laptop-sized in-room safes and hair dryers. Rooms also are outfitted with a number of essential travel items that visitors generally forget, such as toothbrushes and dental floss. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).
Features
When the Sir Francis Drake hotel opened its doors in 1928, San Francisco never had seen anything like it. Back then, it had an indoor golf course, ice water on tap and radios in every room. Today, only one of these features remains (the radios). The main lobby is a total throwback, complete with dark wood and Beefeater doormen. Upstairs, at the Harry Denton Starlight Room, locals and visitors line up for cocktails and priceless views of the entire city. All guests have access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, complimentary yoga accessories and in-room spa services (fees apply). Visitors who opt out of housekeeping services for a day receive a $10 credit toward food at any of the on-site eateries. Guests enjoy food made from local ingredients at Scala's Bistro, which is run by former "Top Chef" contestants Jen Biesty and Tim Nugent. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Theater district (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 16,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Dedicated convention coordinator to assist with all meeting plans

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Classic Two Double
Accessible room with 2 Double beds
Presidential Suite
Presidential Suite 644 square feet connects to KPRE and pullout sofa
Acc Classic Queen Roll In Shwr
1 Queen Bed, Room has a roll in Shower. Communication Features Available.
Accessible Classic Queen
Accessible room with 1 queen bed
Classic Queen
Classic Room with 1 queen bed
City View Queen Room
City View Queen Room with a queen bed
Historic Queen
Historic Queen room with 1 queen bed
Classic Two Queen
Classic room with 2 queen beds
City View Two Queen
City View Deluxe Room with two Queen beds
Classic Two Double
Classic room with 2 double beds
Grand Two Queen
Extra spacious room with 2 queen beds
Starlight Suite
Breathtaking views
Classic King
Classic Room with 1 king bed
City View King Deluxe
City View King Deluxe with one king bed
Accessible Grand King
Accessible Grand King room with 1 King bed
Grand King
One king bed - additional seating arrangement
13. Sir Francis Drake Suite Acce
One king size bed
Sir Francis Drake Suite
Parlor Suite 384 square feet seating for 8 connect to second bedroom.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

Scalas Bistro
Scalas Bistro located on the main level of the Sir Francis Drake Hotel features an award-winning Italian and French inspired menu with breakfast lunch and dinner served daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midland
Business
Midland, MI
Apr 7, 2010

Great for shoppers in Union Square

Great proximity to shopping district. Scalas Bistro is excellent, as well as the Starlight Lounge on the top floor. Many restaurants / bars within walking distance. Not recommended for business travel or extended stays, as no business center or exercise facility, but excellent hotel for casual travelers. Was a bit noisy several nights due to kids in neighboring rooms, but in general, great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Sushi at Sanraku on 704 Sutter - great value and service, short walk from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico, CA
Mar 29, 2010

Classy

Came for our 39th anniversary (and glad we did). Comfortable bed in a pleasant room. Close to Union Square, Cable Cars, and fun places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Agoura Hills Ca.
Mar 3, 2010

Surprise Anniversary Weekend

We had a very nice dinner in their restaurant. We rode the cable cars. They were very convenient, because they passed right out in front of the hotel. We eat crab for lunch at the wharf. We took long walks, and eat dinner at a restaurant suggested by the concierge. The room was comfortable, and clean. Any personal requests were handled in a quick, and efficient manner. [...]the Super Shuttle back to the airport was very disappointing. They took so long sitting at other hotels with no one to pick up that we were very close to missing our plane. It was very stressful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the concierge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I don't think so
Business
Manteca, CA.
Feb 6, 2010

Not what I expected

Arrived at hotel 1/2 hour early greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. A++ . got into room 816 found my upgraded room a lot smaller than i expected and the furniture nicked and chairs needing some spotting. went into bathroom found bathtub "Horrible" Chipped paint all over REALLY needs to be replaced or refinished. there was a piece of toilet paper stuck in a hole on the trim of the poorly painted window. GROSS. no bathrobe in room even though it was mentioned on my reservation. TV remote keys stuck. no music offered in room. I was just very disappointed in the entire stay. i expected that the Sir Francis Drake Hotel would have high standards and quality rooms. WRONG. I really don't think i will be staying there again. not sure who gives them the stars but they should get some glasses or at least go to the hotel and experience it for themselves. Also had chipped moldings around the doors i got my sweater caught and snagged. Dirty Rooms bring down the star value to a 2 star maybe 3 if there are feeling lucky

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service and Restaurant came from same kitchen HOWEVER the dining room quality was superior to that of the Roomservice. I ordered 3 items from room service and i couldn't even get the cover off of one item and the others were just ok. but the dining room was excellent quality and in service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charlie H
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 2, 2010

Great Location, OK Quality

The location of the hotel was Great as well as the price. Everything else was subpar. The room was small and the quality of the room was not good. The details in the room were missing, the room needed some repair work done...toilet ran, wall paper was peeling in spots, trim in bathroom was dirty and unfinished, the bedding had past guests hair on it, and tub caulk was brown. The other main complaint about the hotel was the valet parking charge and the service. It was $52.00 a night to park and took up to 20 minutes to get our car. This may not sound bad, but this was never told to us until checkout.To make it even more irratating, the lot across the street was only $33.00 per day to park. Another downer was going to the bar at the hotel and having to pay a cover despite being a guest. I thought this was a little tacky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Alcatrez was great! You have to dot he audio tour! Little italy was great as well. Don't forget Napa!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Couple of outcasts
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 20, 2010

San Francisco Roadtrip

The hotel was conveniently located in the middle of San Francisco. It was clean and the rooms were a decent size for being in the middle of a huge city. The decor was a LITTLE bit off, but overall it was super comfy and familiar. The only thing I would complain about is that from the outside it looks like it would be very different inside, but once you walk in, it's like any other hotel. Tons of tourists, not very unique. I would definitely recommend it to my parents, but not to my best friend. We were looking for something drastically unique and didn't find that here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner! We spent most of our time doing this since there were shopping stores EVERYWHERE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Couple of outcasts
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 20, 2010

San Francisco Roadtrip

The hotel was conveniently located in the middle of San Francisco. It was clean and the rooms were a decent size for being in the middle of a huge city. The decor was a LITTLE bit off, but overall it was super comfy and familiar. The only thing I would complain about is that from the outside it looks like it would be very different inside, but once you walk in, it's like any other hotel. Tons of tourists, not very unique. I would definitely recommend it to my parents, but not to my best friend. We were looking for something drastically unique and didn't find that here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner! We spent most of our time doing this since there were shopping stores EVERYWHERE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sogs
Business
Orange County, CA
Jan 17, 2010

Sir Francis Drake

It was perfect. We visited many places around the hotel - great location. Just wish the rooms were a tiny bit bigger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami, florida
Jan 9, 2010

"Ole gran get-away"

A Gran hotel with echos of past greatness. The staff was very friendly and responsive during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Half a block from union square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Dec 29, 2009

Excellent hotel

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful at every turn. The hotel is half a block from Union Square. There is a streetcar stop in front of the hotel. Many great restaurants nearby. Union Square is very busy so if you seek 'peace and quiet' this will not be the place to stay. Hotel is clear and well run. Pets are welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top