$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling PT
Florida
Nov 25, 2012

Great girl's stay

Comfortable rooms, great service,awesome location,definitely will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Use the great transit system

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ouch - parking fee of $52
Business
Petaluma CA
Nov 9, 2009

Sir Francis Drake review

[...] should inform guests of $52 parking fee

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bill rice
Business
washington, dc
Apr 23, 2009

Great room after bad first nite

would go back for second room and for person at front desk who got it for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

overlooking union square, what more can i say

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ciclisto
Business
san diego
Nov 1, 2009

drake sf

very nice for the price classic old hotel perfect location great staff,,, noisy neighbors[*]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Nov 3, 2009

Great location,clean hotel

The location is super, easy to shop and walk all over city. Short cab ride or hop on cable car in front of hotel to any part of city. Union Sq has lots of shops, eateries,bars,sights to see. Directly across the street Famous Sears restaurant, awesome breakfast ,lunch or dinner inexpensive. The build your Bloody Mary in the hotel bar is Great! Staff was so helpful always asking if I needed anything and offering to take shopping bags to my room. Classy Doorman very friendly and helpful with directions. Though the room was not too big it was perfect and quiet, the room was very clean. Bed was great.I heard that the Brunch was Awesome will try next time, people were bragging about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears or Scalia's in Hotel both awesome....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Kenlein couple
Business
Tustin, CA
May 28, 2009

A Romantic Getaway!

My Husband and I flew from Orange County and we arrived at SFO at 8:10 AM.We went to the Sir Frances Drake Hotel expecting to sit around and wait for a room til check in which is at 3pm... but it was the opposite!The Hotel representative grabbed our bags and said "we have a room ready now" My Husband and I were very happy and free to enjoy the rest of the morning, without lugging our bags everywhere!!!Thank you for that Sir Frances Drake!!! We will come again! The Kenlein's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Empress of China!! Located in China town...A Great food and wonderful service...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico, CA
Mar 29, 2010

Classy

Came for our 39th anniversary (and glad we did). Comfortable bed in a pleasant room. Close to Union Square, Cable Cars, and fun places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Agoura Hills Ca.
Mar 3, 2010

Surprise Anniversary Weekend

We had a very nice dinner in their restaurant. We rode the cable cars. They were very convenient, because they passed right out in front of the hotel. We eat crab for lunch at the wharf. We took long walks, and eat dinner at a restaurant suggested by the concierge. The room was comfortable, and clean. Any personal requests were handled in a quick, and efficient manner. [...]the Super Shuttle back to the airport was very disappointing. They took so long sitting at other hotels with no one to pick up that we were very close to missing our plane. It was very stressful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the concierge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 25, 2008

My review of Sir Francis Drake - a Kimpton Hotel

We stayed there during Christmas eve and when we were in the room, we opened the window only to find out that it was wide opened. We were on the 15th floor and there was no screen or some sort of metal to block the windows. It was sort of scary, but we did enjoy the view. Our room had no heater, maybe it was broken, so it was cold throughout the night. It was a quick stay so I'm sure it would have been nice to stay when it's not holiday and everything else around the hotel are open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Couple of restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 31, 2008

Great Location - Very Central

First time staying at the Drake, and was quite pleasant. The check-in staff were very helpful, helping us find a room suitable for our tastes & needs. The location is excellent, literally only a few steps from Union Square and all the major shops (Macy's, Bloomingdales, etc) with plenty of restaurant choices within walking distance or a short cab ride away. The trolley runs directly in front of the hotel, making touring around the city quick & easy. Good overall experience, would definitely go back to the Drake, but would make sure on the room specifications when checking in ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great swedish pancakes at the Sears Restaurant directly across the street. Get there early for breakfast, as the lineups get big!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roseville, ca
May 31, 2011

San Francisco weekend

Clean, good service,A+++ location, but room and bathroom extremely small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top