$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
158 reviews
So fancy, and handy!

Got a deal on this and took it, upon recommendation from a friend who had stayed here. We were in... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 1, 2014
Getaway

Have stayed here 3 x now and it still doesn't disappoint. Love the starlite room at top of hotel,... See full review

  • PatriciaA
  • Nov 30, 2014
Legendary grandeur with modern convenience and views in Union Square

Grand in architecture and design, the Sir Francis Drake is a majestic hotel with connections to the past and present. The restored 1930s lobby -- complete with classically attired doormen -- invokes the Italian renaissance, while rooms boast modern conveniences such as TV and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Food lovers appreciate tasty dishes from Scala's Bistro, while the views of the city from legendary lounge Harry Denton's Starlight Room are second to none. The hotel is part of the Kimpton chain.

Highlights
  • Amazing lounge views of San Francisco from Harry Denton's Starlight Room
  • Classic elegance and service
  • On-site restaurant serves local ingredients
  • Located steps from Union Square
Rooms
The Sir Francis Drake hotel boasts 416 rooms, including 24 suites, and all accommodations are bathed in a cream-and-sage color pattern. Rooms come standard with flat-screen TVs, ironing boards, laptop-sized in-room safes and hair dryers. Rooms also are outfitted with a number of essential travel items that visitors generally forget, such as toothbrushes and dental floss. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets are welcome (fees apply).
Features
When the Sir Francis Drake hotel opened its doors in 1928, San Francisco never had seen anything like it. Back then, it had an indoor golf course, ice water on tap and radios in every room. Today, only one of these features remains (the radios). The main lobby is a total throwback, complete with dark wood and Beefeater doormen. Upstairs, at the Harry Denton Starlight Room, locals and visitors line up for cocktails and priceless views of the entire city. All guests have access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, complimentary yoga accessories and in-room spa services (fees apply). Visitors who opt out of housekeeping services for a day receive a $10 credit toward food at any of the on-site eateries. Guests enjoy food made from local ingredients at Scala's Bistro, which is run by former "Top Chef" contestants Jen Biesty and Tim Nugent. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Theater district (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 16,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Dedicated convention coordinator to assist with all meeting plans

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Classic Two Double
Accessible room with 2 Double beds
Presidential Suite
Presidential Suite 644 square feet connects to KPRE and pullout sofa
Acc Classic Queen Roll In Shwr
1 Queen Bed, Room has a roll in Shower. Communication Features Available.
Accessible Classic Queen
Accessible room with 1 queen bed
Classic Queen
Classic Room with 1 queen bed
City View Queen Room
City View Queen Room with a queen bed
Historic Queen
Historic Queen room with 1 queen bed
Classic Two Queen
Classic room with 2 queen beds
City View Two Queen
City View Deluxe Room with two Queen beds
Classic Two Double
Classic room with 2 double beds
Grand Two Queen
Extra spacious room with 2 queen beds
Starlight Suite
Breathtaking views
Classic King
Classic Room with 1 king bed
City View King Deluxe
City View King Deluxe with one king bed
Accessible Grand King
Accessible Grand King room with 1 King bed
Grand King
One king bed - additional seating arrangement
13. Sir Francis Drake Suite Acce
One king size bed
Sir Francis Drake Suite
Parlor Suite 384 square feet seating for 8 connect to second bedroom.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

Scalas Bistro
Scalas Bistro located on the main level of the Sir Francis Drake Hotel features an award-winning Italian and French inspired menu with breakfast lunch and dinner served daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling PT
Florida
Nov 25, 2012

Great girl's stay

Comfortable rooms, great service,awesome location,definitely will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Use the great transit system

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Nov 3, 2009

Great location,clean hotel

The location is super, easy to shop and walk all over city. Short cab ride or hop on cable car in front of hotel to any part of city. Union Sq has lots of shops, eateries,bars,sights to see. Directly across the street Famous Sears restaurant, awesome breakfast ,lunch or dinner inexpensive. The build your Bloody Mary in the hotel bar is Great! Staff was so helpful always asking if I needed anything and offering to take shopping bags to my room. Classy Doorman very friendly and helpful with directions. Though the room was not too big it was perfect and quiet, the room was very clean. Bed was great.I heard that the Brunch was Awesome will try next time, people were bragging about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears or Scalia's in Hotel both awesome....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Kenlein couple
Business
Tustin, CA
May 28, 2009

A Romantic Getaway!

My Husband and I flew from Orange County and we arrived at SFO at 8:10 AM.We went to the Sir Frances Drake Hotel expecting to sit around and wait for a room til check in which is at 3pm... but it was the opposite!The Hotel representative grabbed our bags and said "we have a room ready now" My Husband and I were very happy and free to enjoy the rest of the morning, without lugging our bags everywhere!!!Thank you for that Sir Frances Drake!!! We will come again! The Kenlein's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Empress of China!! Located in China town...A Great food and wonderful service...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico, CA
Mar 29, 2010

Classy

Came for our 39th anniversary (and glad we did). Comfortable bed in a pleasant room. Close to Union Square, Cable Cars, and fun places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Agoura Hills Ca.
Mar 3, 2010

Surprise Anniversary Weekend

We had a very nice dinner in their restaurant. We rode the cable cars. They were very convenient, because they passed right out in front of the hotel. We eat crab for lunch at the wharf. We took long walks, and eat dinner at a restaurant suggested by the concierge. The room was comfortable, and clean. Any personal requests were handled in a quick, and efficient manner. [...]the Super Shuttle back to the airport was very disappointing. They took so long sitting at other hotels with no one to pick up that we were very close to missing our plane. It was very stressful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the concierge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 25, 2008

My review of Sir Francis Drake - a Kimpton Hotel

We stayed there during Christmas eve and when we were in the room, we opened the window only to find out that it was wide opened. We were on the 15th floor and there was no screen or some sort of metal to block the windows. It was sort of scary, but we did enjoy the view. Our room had no heater, maybe it was broken, so it was cold throughout the night. It was a quick stay so I'm sure it would have been nice to stay when it's not holiday and everything else around the hotel are open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Couple of restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 31, 2008

Great Location - Very Central

First time staying at the Drake, and was quite pleasant. The check-in staff were very helpful, helping us find a room suitable for our tastes & needs. The location is excellent, literally only a few steps from Union Square and all the major shops (Macy's, Bloomingdales, etc) with plenty of restaurant choices within walking distance or a short cab ride away. The trolley runs directly in front of the hotel, making touring around the city quick & easy. Good overall experience, would definitely go back to the Drake, but would make sure on the room specifications when checking in ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great swedish pancakes at the Sears Restaurant directly across the street. Get there early for breakfast, as the lineups get big!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roseville, ca
May 31, 2011

San Francisco weekend

Clean, good service,A+++ location, but room and bathroom extremely small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las vegas, Nevada
Nov 25, 2009

fantastic couples retreat

this place was up with the best! world class fun. when in las vegas (my home)it's the mandalay bay, when in san francisco it's the sir francis drake. it's that simple ask anyone! great restaurants, outstanding shopping and the trollies, Oh the trollies!two nights three days of nonstop fun! I love L.V. but Las Vegas has nothing on San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

while shopping, wear comfort, don't plan on eating at the same restaurant twice, their all different and all great. we looked to see for tell tail signs of "rice a roni" but it was not served anywhere! the overall experence was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 5, 2011

Good price, very helpful staff

We were in town for a friend's wedding, and this was the hotel she recommended. Used to live in the Bay Area, so was well aware that everything would be pricey and the Union Square area would be crowded and a little noisy. The deal we found through [...]was competitive with (and actually, quite a bit cheaper than) other hotels in the area. The first night we were in a room right next to the elevators, which was extremely noisy. In the morning, spoke to the front desk, and they were very accommodating. They offered to move us before noon, and actually did so before 10 am. They were also quick to bring us extra pillows when we asked. Everyone we dealt with was very friendly, from housekeeping, to front desk, to bell captains. The rooms were really tiny, but clean and trendy. Was a little surprised to not find body lotion among the toiletries in the bathrooms, but there is a Walgreens just across the street. Keeping in mind that this is an old building (though nicely remodeled) in the heart of Union Square, it suited our needs just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 5, 2010

Good Stay

Staff was very helpful. Room was small but clean. Bed was comfortable. A bit noisy from street noise but it was acceptable. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a diner on the corner that was great. It was recommended by the doorman. We ate there every morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top