$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
166 out of 166
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Kenlein couple
Business
Tustin, CA
May 28, 2009

A Romantic Getaway!

My Husband and I flew from Orange County and we arrived at SFO at 8:10 AM.We went to the Sir Frances Drake Hotel expecting to sit around and wait for a room til check in which is at 3pm... but it was the opposite!The Hotel representative grabbed our bags and said "we have a room ready now" My Husband and I were very happy and free to enjoy the rest of the morning, without lugging our bags everywhere!!!Thank you for that Sir Frances Drake!!! We will come again! The Kenlein's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Empress of China!! Located in China town...A Great food and wonderful service...

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico, CA
Mar 29, 2010

Classy

Came for our 39th anniversary (and glad we did). Comfortable bed in a pleasant room. Close to Union Square, Cable Cars, and fun places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Agoura Hills Ca.
Mar 3, 2010

Surprise Anniversary Weekend

We had a very nice dinner in their restaurant. We rode the cable cars. They were very convenient, because they passed right out in front of the hotel. We eat crab for lunch at the wharf. We took long walks, and eat dinner at a restaurant suggested by the concierge. The room was comfortable, and clean. Any personal requests were handled in a quick, and efficient manner. [...]the Super Shuttle back to the airport was very disappointing. They took so long sitting at other hotels with no one to pick up that we were very close to missing our plane. It was very stressful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the concierge.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 25, 2008

My review of Sir Francis Drake - a Kimpton Hotel

We stayed there during Christmas eve and when we were in the room, we opened the window only to find out that it was wide opened. We were on the 15th floor and there was no screen or some sort of metal to block the windows. It was sort of scary, but we did enjoy the view. Our room had no heater, maybe it was broken, so it was cold throughout the night. It was a quick stay so I'm sure it would have been nice to stay when it's not holiday and everything else around the hotel are open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Couple of restaurants.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 31, 2008

Great Location - Very Central

First time staying at the Drake, and was quite pleasant. The check-in staff were very helpful, helping us find a room suitable for our tastes & needs. The location is excellent, literally only a few steps from Union Square and all the major shops (Macy's, Bloomingdales, etc) with plenty of restaurant choices within walking distance or a short cab ride away. The trolley runs directly in front of the hotel, making touring around the city quick & easy. Good overall experience, would definitely go back to the Drake, but would make sure on the room specifications when checking in ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great swedish pancakes at the Sears Restaurant directly across the street. Get there early for breakfast, as the lineups get big!

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roseville, ca
May 31, 2011

San Francisco weekend

Clean, good service,A+++ location, but room and bathroom extremely small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las vegas, Nevada
Nov 25, 2009

fantastic couples retreat

this place was up with the best! world class fun. when in las vegas (my home)it's the mandalay bay, when in san francisco it's the sir francis drake. it's that simple ask anyone! great restaurants, outstanding shopping and the trollies, Oh the trollies!two nights three days of nonstop fun! I love L.V. but Las Vegas has nothing on San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

while shopping, wear comfort, don't plan on eating at the same restaurant twice, their all different and all great. we looked to see for tell tail signs of "rice a roni" but it was not served anywhere! the overall experence was great.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 5, 2011

Good price, very helpful staff

We were in town for a friend's wedding, and this was the hotel she recommended. Used to live in the Bay Area, so was well aware that everything would be pricey and the Union Square area would be crowded and a little noisy. The deal we found through [...]was competitive with (and actually, quite a bit cheaper than) other hotels in the area. The first night we were in a room right next to the elevators, which was extremely noisy. In the morning, spoke to the front desk, and they were very accommodating. They offered to move us before noon, and actually did so before 10 am. They were also quick to bring us extra pillows when we asked. Everyone we dealt with was very friendly, from housekeeping, to front desk, to bell captains. The rooms were really tiny, but clean and trendy. Was a little surprised to not find body lotion among the toiletries in the bathrooms, but there is a Walgreens just across the street. Keeping in mind that this is an old building (though nicely remodeled) in the heart of Union Square, it suited our needs just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 5, 2010

Good Stay

Staff was very helpful. Room was small but clean. Bed was comfortable. A bit noisy from street noise but it was acceptable. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a diner on the corner that was great. It was recommended by the doorman. We ate there every morning.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brandon, MS
Sep 14, 2009

Great location

Great location. The cable car stops right outside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top