$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 450 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlie the Lawyer
Couples
Portland, OR
Apr 11, 2010

Very nice old hotel

It's a very nice swanky old hotel in the heart of San Francisco. Couldn't have a better location. The restaurant on the first floor is first class. It's right on the cable car line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In addition to Scala's in the hotel, Farrillon, a block away is worth a visit, too.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The U
Business
Herndon, VA
Apr 9, 2010

Not Bad

Hotel is in a great location. The staff is friendly, but sometimes the front desk is undermanned. I had an issue with a broken remote control for my TV and it took them a while to give me an new one, and when the did it didn't work. The next day I eventually was able to get a new remote that worked. Other than that no huge issues. Hotel is VERY pet friendly. The fitness center is nothing to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midland
Couples
Midland, MI
Apr 7, 2010

Great for shoppers in Union Square

Great proximity to shopping district. Scalas Bistro is excellent, as well as the Starlight Lounge on the top floor. Many restaurants / bars within walking distance. Not recommended for business travel or extended stays, as no business center or exercise facility, but excellent hotel for casual travelers. Was a bit noisy several nights due to kids in neighboring rooms, but in general, great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Sushi at Sanraku on 704 Sutter - great value and service, short walk from hotel.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chico, CA
Mar 29, 2010

Classy

Came for our 39th anniversary (and glad we did). Comfortable bed in a pleasant room. Close to Union Square, Cable Cars, and fun places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Agoura Hills Ca.
Mar 3, 2010

Surprise Anniversary Weekend

We had a very nice dinner in their restaurant. We rode the cable cars. They were very convenient, because they passed right out in front of the hotel. We eat crab for lunch at the wharf. We took long walks, and eat dinner at a restaurant suggested by the concierge. The room was comfortable, and clean. Any personal requests were handled in a quick, and efficient manner. [...]the Super Shuttle back to the airport was very disappointing. They took so long sitting at other hotels with no one to pick up that we were very close to missing our plane. It was very stressful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the concierge.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charlie H
Couples
Denver, CO
Feb 2, 2010

Great Location, OK Quality

The location of the hotel was Great as well as the price. Everything else was subpar. The room was small and the quality of the room was not good. The details in the room were missing, the room needed some repair work done...toilet ran, wall paper was peeling in spots, trim in bathroom was dirty and unfinished, the bedding had past guests hair on it, and tub caulk was brown. The other main complaint about the hotel was the valet parking charge and the service. It was $52.00 a night to park and took up to 20 minutes to get our car. This may not sound bad, but this was never told to us until checkout.To make it even more irratating, the lot across the street was only $33.00 per day to park. Another downer was going to the bar at the hotel and having to pay a cover despite being a guest. I thought this was a little tacky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Alcatrez was great! You have to dot he audio tour! Little italy was great as well. Don't forget Napa!

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sogs
Couples
Orange County, CA
Jan 17, 2010

Sir Francis Drake

It was perfect. We visited many places around the hotel - great location. Just wish the rooms were a tiny bit bigger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
miami, florida
Jan 9, 2010

"Ole gran get-away"

A Gran hotel with echos of past greatness. The staff was very friendly and responsive during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Half a block from union square.

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Palm Springs, CA
Dec 29, 2009

Excellent hotel

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful at every turn. The hotel is half a block from Union Square. There is a streetcar stop in front of the hotel. Many great restaurants nearby. Union Square is very busy so if you seek 'peace and quiet' this will not be the place to stay. Hotel is clear and well run. Pets are welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Sir Francis Drake, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
las vegas
Dec 24, 2009

Do not recommend.

The bed sheets were really dirty. The room was very small. VERY SMALL bathroom. Not what i expected from the photos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top