$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

San Francisco Marriott Union Square

4 stars
480 Sutter Street, 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
86 reviews
execellent for family and business

Will definitely come back and reccomend to family to stay. I had a good time See full review

  • chet pastrana
  • Nov 16, 2014
Good

Location was perfect and good service. I loved it. See full review

  • Jane Park
  • Jul 21, 2014
Convenience and luxury near Union Square, SoMa and more
Location is everything for the San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel. The property rises 30 stories above the confluence of a number of downtown neighborhoods, including Union Square, SoMa, the Financial District and the Theater District. It's also within walking distance of Chinatown and North Beach. Rooms are modern, and each offers Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Guests can choose from two on-site restaurants: American, open for breakfast only, and bin480 wine bar, which serves casual food and classic cocktails along with local wines.
Highlights
  • Sample local wines at bin480 wine bar
  • Walking distance to Union Square, SoMa and the Theater District
  • High-end (and complimentary) fitness center
Rooms

Accommodations -- 347 rooms and 53 suites -- are modern and sparsely decorated. All rooms at the San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel come standard with flat-screen TVs, pillow-top beds, spacious work desks and MP3 docks. Many rooms also have views of the San Francisco skyline. On the concierge floor, rooms include amenities such as mini-refrigerators. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features
The 30-story San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel is within a short walk to six different neighborhoods, including Union Square, the financial district, SoMa, the theater district, Chinatown and North Beach. It has received numerous awards, including the AAA 3 Diamond Award.

The San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel features an expansive lobby with ample seating areas; it is the perfect spot to unwind with a newspaper after a hectic day.

All guests have access to a fitness center with state-of-the-art exercise equipment; locker rooms attached to the fitness center offer saunas. Dry-cleaning services are available (fees apply) and the Marriott also is close to four different day spas, each of which specializes in different treatments (fees apply).

Hungry guests can choose from two on-site restaurants: American, which is open only for breakfast, and bin480 wine bar, which serves casual food, classic cocktails and, as the name suggests, local wines.
Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 17,000 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Francisco Marriott Union Square also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

the Restaurant
Start the day off right by enjoying a hearty breakfast from our hotel's on-site Union Square restaurant open 6:30 a.m. to 11 a.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 11 a.m. Saturday and Sunday.
bin480
Enjoy specialty cocktails accompanied by delectable dishes at bin480, right inside the lobby of our San Francisco, CA, hotel. Wind down after a long day in our Union Square restaurant without even leaving the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego,CA
May 17, 2010

Great Hotel, great location, great value

This was a leisure trip. The location was perfect to shopping and walking to the Ferry building. The Marriott was super cool and hip. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

great jazz at top of the mark

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Babs in Bedford
Business
Bedford,N.H.
Oct 4, 2009

Marriot Union Square

staff was excellent, doormen outside were especially helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aminne77
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 18, 2014

Great Hotel

* Pricing was great compared to the more expensive nearby hotels * Location to city center was ideal * Room was modern, sleak, and clean * Great restaurants nearby * Staff was professional and helpful. Overall, I would stay again and recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great sushi spots nearby if you are in that kind of cuisine. Also, Chinatown is walking distance if you want to explore different culture/food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WIldwoman 54
Business
Oak Ridge, TN
Jul 26, 2014

Wonderful hotel near Union Square

The staff were great, especially the Concierge, Kathy. Always cheerful and ready to help with whatever I needed. Room was on the small side, but we didn't need much room, weren't there that much. It's right on the cable car line (if you can catch one that has space), convenient to good restaurants and services. Food was pricier than expected, but that was true all over the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scollardp
Business
Calgary, AB
Dec 2, 2014

Great Stay and even better location

This is a great hotel with very friendly staff. I would recommend staying here as I would stay here again myself. Close to many attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Working Tahoe Mom
Business
Tahoe City
Dec 16, 2014

Business stay with spouse

I thought overall the staff was very friendly and the location is awesome. The bathroom was like a closet with very little room. It was the smallest sink I have ever seen and no vanity at all. There was also no fridge in the room but a space for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pilar Isabela's Mother
Business
New York, NY
Aug 31, 2010

SF Marriott on Sutter St

We are from New York. We arrived at the SF Marriott for check-in and wanted to get a high floor - though rooms were avail on the lower floors. [...], at the front desk was so professional and helpful. He said, have lunch, leave the luggage and we'll do our best to accomodate you. This man is what makes the SF Marriott an excellent place to stay. We came back later, our luggage was already in the room, we had the best view of Powell Street and San Francisco Bay. The beds were super clean, cozy and the room colors fit the Asian theme of this vibrant city. The doormen & porters are always with a smile and give excellent directions. You are close to Union Square shopping, Chinatown and every Zagat rated restaurant. The location is the best. In totality, we just slept here while visiting friends and relatives - but it's the best bed I've slept in. I travel extensively for business, and this was a family trip. The staff like children and always greet them sweetly and kindly. Treat yourself and stay here-it's well deserved. Say hello to [...] - he's a good man to know. We will return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a quick breakfast, go around the corner on Powell to the Cable Car Cafe for a wonderful selection of crepes and omelettes. My daughter loves Banana and Nutella crepes - and this are so much like the ones we have in Paris. There are also savory crepes and traditional American breakfasts of eggs, bacon, toast. Excellent coffee and the prices are reasonable. It was our last morning in San Francisco and we were happy to have a lovely bfast and efficient + friendly staff. Don't be put off with the do it yourself style the owner has - when you get to the counter, read the menu, he'll take your order, give you a coffee cup to fill yourself at a counter and you get your own water at another counter. The food is delivered to your table. Don't miss this place; it's a little gem! But shhhhh! don't tell too many people - you may not get a seat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris W.
Business
Ansonia, CT
Jul 20, 2012

Great Location, Great Food and Atmosphere!

I had an excellent time. The hotel is situated in a perfect location. The food in the restaurants was perfect but the portion may have been just a bit too much because they left me stuffed. I also enjoyed the bar in terms of atmosphere and beverage selection. Only negative was that the I wish the gym had just a bit more equipment (bench to do crunches on) but the basics were there, treadmill, eliptical, etc..... Had a great stay! Definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sliqric
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Jul 22, 2012

Great Hotel Choice

Hotel staff were courteous and very helpful from check-in to check-out. The room price was reasonable however I became aware that parking a car in the hotel's garage could be costly-as much as 45 or 50 dollars a day. The size of the rooms were adequate and well kept. Thankfully, I did not rent a car and I was glad I didn't because most locations/attractions I wanted to see were accessible using public transportation. I did rent a car for one which was sufficient time for me to us to see places that were more distant. The hotel's location was great being one block from Union Square and the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf was right outside of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and drive across the Golden Gate Bridge and continue up the Muir Woods if time permits.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bill The Business Travele
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 21, 2012

Nice business hotel

Very nice business hotel in a great location. The staff could not be more helpful. Room was very clean and comfortable. For a guy that logs over 200 hotel night a year, I wish I had a hotel equal to this in all the cities I travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top