$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

San Francisco Marriott Union Square

4 stars
View map of 480 Sutter Street, 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatD23
Business
Woodland, CA
Nov 22, 2010

Marriott Hotel- perfect location

The Marriott Union Square Hotel was easy to get to and check-in was a breeze. I was staying with friends and they had run out of double rooms. The hotel staff brought in a rollaway bed for us to use which worked out perfectly. The hotel is in an excellent location. Far enough away from the shopping that you don't get all the crowds but close enough that it is within walking distance. Great-sized rooms and the location make it the perfect choice for a ladies shopping trip! I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy and quick walk right down Powell.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allie T
Business
Providence, RI
Nov 22, 2010

Hotel 480 San Francisco

Great hotel - comfy beds! Fabulous location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jkuhn
Business
st. Joseph, MI
May 9, 2011

Great central location

Was in town for international medical conference with my wife. Proximity to great art galleries and fine shopping at Union Square. Also, take the Powell Street cable car directly to Fisherman's Wharff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes. Fairmont Hotel, the Tonga Room is a must!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Gatos, CA
Aug 9, 2009

Great location and very nice service

The location of this hotel is right next to Union Square and only a few streets away from the Chinatown Gate. We went to see Wicked and walked to the theatre and back to the hotel without problem (the area around 5th and Market is dicey, but the walk was quick). The staff were especially kind and friendly. While the hotel was a bit pricier than I would like, everything else was great. The rooms were big (especially for San Francisco) and clean. Overall great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel does provide parking, but the rate is around $54 a night. Go just a block down to Mason, turn left (it is a one way street) and then left again into public parking. They have a rate of $27 a night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Mar 30, 2011

Great Location

I was visting my daughter during school break. She is in graudate school at the Academy of Art Univ. The trip was great, lots to see and do. The Hotel is located near the trolly cars and Union Square. We visted lots of shops, took a bus tour of the city, a musuem and the crookiest street. We also had tea for 2 at Crowns and Crumpets The weather was breezy and it rain one day. My only complaint was the Marriott charged me $250 for a security deposit on my hotel room. They returned it at the end of my stay, but a very unexpected fee. They never mentioned this fee. This should be told to you before you walk in. Other than that the trip and the hotel was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to eat. I would suggest the Burger Bar at Union Square. The best burgers I've ever had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Mar 9, 2010

The Best of San Francisco

It was fantastic! The staff were very accomodating, very pleasant, however, the hot water was turned off on the last day without notifying us which in turn delayed by day by a couple of hours. I had dinner at hotel one evening. Main course was pleasant and not heavy which is what I waw looking for but the Thai chicken wings appetizer were chewy & dry. The room was superb as always, great bed! The cleaning crew were very noisy during the mornings talking to each other and banging things around. Overall the location was accessible to many great restaurants, bars, shows, train, shops. You get a good sense of San Francisco's cosmopolitan life style!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Dudereno
Business
Santa Maria, CA
Jun 5, 2010

Great Hotel for the Price

The hotel was conveniently located by the trolley that goes to the Wharf. Valet parking was a little pricey (near $50), but there was a garage around the corner for less. I used the valet, and it sure was classy. There is plenty of liquor stores and convenient stores near, if you need to pick something up because Frisco is expensive, especially the hotel's prices. I requested a King size and got a double, but the view was magnificent. we paid the like $30 extra for a top floor, floor 23, from the bay, to the structures (new and old), everything was beautiful. Wish there was a mini fridge, but luckily the many dark beers offered in Frisco taste good room temp (that's how the Europeans and Americans drank beer 300 years ago). It's in the heart of Union Square, so that's why I figured the prices were high. All around, the Hotel is great for the price. The price is low compared to other hotels in the area, and just classy enough to hang with the more swanky hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on using the public transportation, just know that except for the trolley, you could wait anywhere from 15-30 minutes for a bus, since the rail lines don't go everywhere in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City, NY
Dec 29, 2010

an expected Marriot experience

Location: if you love the 'in the middle of it all' feel, this is a great location. Hotel: nice staff, nice ammenities Room: nice and clean room. we appreciated the custom toiletries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square, SanFranc MoMa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. M
Business
Ensenada, B.C. Mex.
Jul 9, 2009

Greatn location

The hotel room was perfect,the staff were very kind and helpful, it was a little noisy at night but I guess it´s normal in that part of town, the location is excellent also, you could walk to chinatown and other points of interest, or you could get on the cablecar just across the street, also across the street there was a starbucks and a walgreens that really helped us out when we needed snaks or something, parking and food in the hotel were pricy, but overall it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

About 3 or 4 blocks from the hotel there is a cable car station, where you can buy tickets and board the cablecar, we bought the city pass, it enables you to board cablecars and all MUNI transport for seven days, it also includes several tickets for museums, the aquarium, and a ride on a boat around the bay, it costs 59dlls. but it is worth that and more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuperAwesomeA
Business
San Diego, CA
May 16, 2014

Great Location!

This location is perfect for walking around Union Square, close to Coit Tower, China Town, etc. You can be at Fisherman's Warf in 15 minutes. The cable cars are right next to the hotel. The hotel is on the more stylish side of the usual Marriott hotels. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We can be quite picky but we were pleasantly surprised and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of great places you can walk to for dinner in Union Square. China Town is also about a half mile or so away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top