$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 31, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

San Francisco Marriott Union Square

4 stars
480 Sutter Street, 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
89 reviews
wonerful location

great hotel, amazing location in the heart of everything, we walked to shopping, food and easy walk... See full review

  • Pamalana
  • Jan 5, 2015
execellent for family and business

Will definitely come back and reccomend to family to stay. I had a good time See full review

  • chet pastrana
  • Nov 16, 2014
Convenience and luxury near Union Square, SoMa and more
Location is everything for the San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel. The property rises 30 stories above the confluence of a number of downtown neighborhoods, including Union Square, SoMa, the Financial District and the Theater District. It's also within walking distance of Chinatown and North Beach. Rooms are modern, and each offers Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Guests can choose from two on-site restaurants: American, open for breakfast only, and bin480 wine bar, which serves casual food and classic cocktails along with local wines.
Highlights
  • Sample local wines at bin480 wine bar
  • Walking distance to Union Square, SoMa and the Theater District
  • High-end (and complimentary) fitness center
Rooms

Accommodations -- 347 rooms and 53 suites -- are modern and sparsely decorated. All rooms at the San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel come standard with flat-screen TVs, pillow-top beds, spacious work desks and MP3 docks. Many rooms also have views of the San Francisco skyline. On the concierge floor, rooms include amenities such as mini-refrigerators. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features
The 30-story San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel is within a short walk to six different neighborhoods, including Union Square, the financial district, SoMa, the theater district, Chinatown and North Beach. It has received numerous awards, including the AAA 3 Diamond Award.

The San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel features an expansive lobby with ample seating areas; it is the perfect spot to unwind with a newspaper after a hectic day.

All guests have access to a fitness center with state-of-the-art exercise equipment; locker rooms attached to the fitness center offer saunas. Dry-cleaning services are available (fees apply) and the Marriott also is close to four different day spas, each of which specializes in different treatments (fees apply).

Hungry guests can choose from two on-site restaurants: American, which is open only for breakfast, and bin480 wine bar, which serves casual food, classic cocktails and, as the name suggests, local wines.
Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 17,000 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Francisco Marriott Union Square also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

the Restaurant
Start the day off right by enjoying a hearty breakfast from our hotel's on-site Union Square restaurant open 6:30 a.m. to 11 a.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 11 a.m. Saturday and Sunday.
bin480
Enjoy specialty cocktails accompanied by delectable dishes at bin480, right inside the lobby of our San Francisco, CA, hotel. Wind down after a long day in our Union Square restaurant without even leaving the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allie T
Business
Providence, RI
Nov 22, 2010

Hotel 480 San Francisco

Great hotel - comfy beds! Fabulous location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jkuhn
Business
st. Joseph, MI
May 9, 2011

Great central location

Was in town for international medical conference with my wife. Proximity to great art galleries and fine shopping at Union Square. Also, take the Powell Street cable car directly to Fisherman's Wharff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes. Fairmont Hotel, the Tonga Room is a must!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Gatos, CA
Aug 9, 2009

Great location and very nice service

The location of this hotel is right next to Union Square and only a few streets away from the Chinatown Gate. We went to see Wicked and walked to the theatre and back to the hotel without problem (the area around 5th and Market is dicey, but the walk was quick). The staff were especially kind and friendly. While the hotel was a bit pricier than I would like, everything else was great. The rooms were big (especially for San Francisco) and clean. Overall great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel does provide parking, but the rate is around $54 a night. Go just a block down to Mason, turn left (it is a one way street) and then left again into public parking. They have a rate of $27 a night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Mar 30, 2011

Great Location

I was visting my daughter during school break. She is in graudate school at the Academy of Art Univ. The trip was great, lots to see and do. The Hotel is located near the trolly cars and Union Square. We visted lots of shops, took a bus tour of the city, a musuem and the crookiest street. We also had tea for 2 at Crowns and Crumpets The weather was breezy and it rain one day. My only complaint was the Marriott charged me $250 for a security deposit on my hotel room. They returned it at the end of my stay, but a very unexpected fee. They never mentioned this fee. This should be told to you before you walk in. Other than that the trip and the hotel was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to eat. I would suggest the Burger Bar at Union Square. The best burgers I've ever had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Mar 9, 2010

The Best of San Francisco

It was fantastic! The staff were very accomodating, very pleasant, however, the hot water was turned off on the last day without notifying us which in turn delayed by day by a couple of hours. I had dinner at hotel one evening. Main course was pleasant and not heavy which is what I waw looking for but the Thai chicken wings appetizer were chewy & dry. The room was superb as always, great bed! The cleaning crew were very noisy during the mornings talking to each other and banging things around. Overall the location was accessible to many great restaurants, bars, shows, train, shops. You get a good sense of San Francisco's cosmopolitan life style!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Dudereno
Business
Santa Maria, CA
Jun 5, 2010

Great Hotel for the Price

The hotel was conveniently located by the trolley that goes to the Wharf. Valet parking was a little pricey (near $50), but there was a garage around the corner for less. I used the valet, and it sure was classy. There is plenty of liquor stores and convenient stores near, if you need to pick something up because Frisco is expensive, especially the hotel's prices. I requested a King size and got a double, but the view was magnificent. we paid the like $30 extra for a top floor, floor 23, from the bay, to the structures (new and old), everything was beautiful. Wish there was a mini fridge, but luckily the many dark beers offered in Frisco taste good room temp (that's how the Europeans and Americans drank beer 300 years ago). It's in the heart of Union Square, so that's why I figured the prices were high. All around, the Hotel is great for the price. The price is low compared to other hotels in the area, and just classy enough to hang with the more swanky hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on using the public transportation, just know that except for the trolley, you could wait anywhere from 15-30 minutes for a bus, since the rail lines don't go everywhere in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City, NY
Dec 29, 2010

an expected Marriot experience

Location: if you love the 'in the middle of it all' feel, this is a great location. Hotel: nice staff, nice ammenities Room: nice and clean room. we appreciated the custom toiletries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square, SanFranc MoMa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. M
Business
Ensenada, B.C. Mex.
Jul 9, 2009

Greatn location

The hotel room was perfect,the staff were very kind and helpful, it was a little noisy at night but I guess it´s normal in that part of town, the location is excellent also, you could walk to chinatown and other points of interest, or you could get on the cablecar just across the street, also across the street there was a starbucks and a walgreens that really helped us out when we needed snaks or something, parking and food in the hotel were pricy, but overall it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

About 3 or 4 blocks from the hotel there is a cable car station, where you can buy tickets and board the cablecar, we bought the city pass, it enables you to board cablecars and all MUNI transport for seven days, it also includes several tickets for museums, the aquarium, and a ride on a boat around the bay, it costs 59dlls. but it is worth that and more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuperAwesomeA
Business
San Diego, CA
May 16, 2014

Great Location!

This location is perfect for walking around Union Square, close to Coit Tower, China Town, etc. You can be at Fisherman's Warf in 15 minutes. The cable cars are right next to the hotel. The hotel is on the more stylish side of the usual Marriott hotels. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We can be quite picky but we were pleasantly surprised and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of great places you can walk to for dinner in Union Square. China Town is also about a half mile or so away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wondering if 4+ Stars is worth the price
Business
LA
Sep 26, 2010

Great service and quality finish but...

Great service, well coordinated to make sure you are taken care of. But i guess i got unlucky with a bad view and two twin beds when we wanted one big bed. Thats understandably a roll of the dice, especially when you check in late on a friday. But to compound that, both beds were very soft. But i constantly saw great service, team interaction (even security guards) that made me see where my money was going... but still didn't help that a nice firm clean bed is the most important. Cleaniness and quality finihings in the room were apparent and abundant... just wished i had a nice view and one big firm bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining, shopping and even some entertainment. i didn't use the conceirge service, but if the rest of the staff is any indication, they should be great as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top