$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

San Francisco Marriott Union Square

4 stars
View map of 480 Sutter Street, 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jul 12, 2010

Great location and excellant service.

Great downtown location. Convenient for shopping and all forms of travel. Hotel was spotless and staff was very helpful and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Becky Shopper
Business
Fresno CA
Apr 18, 2010

Good Location for shopping!

Excellent location and pleasant surroundings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Half Moon Bay, CA
Feb 13, 2010

Nice getaway!

Very nice hotel, friendly staff. Was a little noisy, walls seem a bit thin. Great location in the middle of SF, by Union Square. A good walk up-hill to China Town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at Kuleto's and had a wonderful dinner! Just a block from the Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Aug 4, 2009

Location is prime for union square area

Hotel was fine. New staff was good. It will get better when the kinks are ironed out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatD23
Business
Woodland, CA
Nov 22, 2010

Marriott Hotel- perfect location

The Marriott Union Square Hotel was easy to get to and check-in was a breeze. I was staying with friends and they had run out of double rooms. The hotel staff brought in a rollaway bed for us to use which worked out perfectly. The hotel is in an excellent location. Far enough away from the shopping that you don't get all the crowds but close enough that it is within walking distance. Great-sized rooms and the location make it the perfect choice for a ladies shopping trip! I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy and quick walk right down Powell.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allie T
Business
Providence, RI
Nov 22, 2010

Hotel 480 San Francisco

Great hotel - comfy beds! Fabulous location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jkuhn
Business
st. Joseph, MI
May 9, 2011

Great central location

Was in town for international medical conference with my wife. Proximity to great art galleries and fine shopping at Union Square. Also, take the Powell Street cable car directly to Fisherman's Wharff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes. Fairmont Hotel, the Tonga Room is a must!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Gatos, CA
Aug 9, 2009

Great location and very nice service

The location of this hotel is right next to Union Square and only a few streets away from the Chinatown Gate. We went to see Wicked and walked to the theatre and back to the hotel without problem (the area around 5th and Market is dicey, but the walk was quick). The staff were especially kind and friendly. While the hotel was a bit pricier than I would like, everything else was great. The rooms were big (especially for San Francisco) and clean. Overall great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel does provide parking, but the rate is around $54 a night. Go just a block down to Mason, turn left (it is a one way street) and then left again into public parking. They have a rate of $27 a night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Mar 30, 2011

Great Location

I was visting my daughter during school break. She is in graudate school at the Academy of Art Univ. The trip was great, lots to see and do. The Hotel is located near the trolly cars and Union Square. We visted lots of shops, took a bus tour of the city, a musuem and the crookiest street. We also had tea for 2 at Crowns and Crumpets The weather was breezy and it rain one day. My only complaint was the Marriott charged me $250 for a security deposit on my hotel room. They returned it at the end of my stay, but a very unexpected fee. They never mentioned this fee. This should be told to you before you walk in. Other than that the trip and the hotel was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to eat. I would suggest the Burger Bar at Union Square. The best burgers I've ever had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Mar 9, 2010

The Best of San Francisco

It was fantastic! The staff were very accomodating, very pleasant, however, the hot water was turned off on the last day without notifying us which in turn delayed by day by a couple of hours. I had dinner at hotel one evening. Main course was pleasant and not heavy which is what I waw looking for but the Thai chicken wings appetizer were chewy & dry. The room was superb as always, great bed! The cleaning crew were very noisy during the mornings talking to each other and banging things around. Overall the location was accessible to many great restaurants, bars, shows, train, shops. You get a good sense of San Francisco's cosmopolitan life style!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top