$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

San Francisco Marriott Union Square

4 stars
View map of 480 Sutter Street, 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pamalana
Business
Anchorage
Jan 5, 2015

wonerful location

great hotel, amazing location in the heart of everything, we walked to shopping, food and easy walk to all the sights. would definately go back and stay at the same hotel without even looking at another. hotel lobby bar has a great atmosphere and wonerful bartenders. the room was a little small and so was the bathroom but otherwise great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patricia S.
Business
Guayaquil
Feb 16, 2015

Awesome family trip

We go to this city for a fanily trips san Francisco is awsome and wonderfull the only think qas the difficult for wifi i think the price must have wifi free in rooms than you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nilanie W.
Business
Las Vegas
Apr 6, 2015

Awesome trip

The hotel was located at a very convenient place. The sutter garage to park your vehicle was 2 minutes away! The beds are super comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pilar Isabela's Mother
Business
New York, NY
Aug 31, 2010

SF Marriott on Sutter St

We are from New York. We arrived at the SF Marriott for check-in and wanted to get a high floor - though rooms were avail on the lower floors. [...], at the front desk was so professional and helpful. He said, have lunch, leave the luggage and we'll do our best to accomodate you. This man is what makes the SF Marriott an excellent place to stay. We came back later, our luggage was already in the room, we had the best view of Powell Street and San Francisco Bay. The beds were super clean, cozy and the room colors fit the Asian theme of this vibrant city. The doormen & porters are always with a smile and give excellent directions. You are close to Union Square shopping, Chinatown and every Zagat rated restaurant. The location is the best. In totality, we just slept here while visiting friends and relatives - but it's the best bed I've slept in. I travel extensively for business, and this was a family trip. The staff like children and always greet them sweetly and kindly. Treat yourself and stay here-it's well deserved. Say hello to [...] - he's a good man to know. We will return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a quick breakfast, go around the corner on Powell to the Cable Car Cafe for a wonderful selection of crepes and omelettes. My daughter loves Banana and Nutella crepes - and this are so much like the ones we have in Paris. There are also savory crepes and traditional American breakfasts of eggs, bacon, toast. Excellent coffee and the prices are reasonable. It was our last morning in San Francisco and we were happy to have a lovely bfast and efficient + friendly staff. Don't be put off with the do it yourself style the owner has - when you get to the counter, read the menu, he'll take your order, give you a coffee cup to fill yourself at a counter and you get your own water at another counter. The food is delivered to your table. Don't miss this place; it's a little gem! But shhhhh! don't tell too many people - you may not get a seat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catcat
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 24, 2014

Gals Trip

very nice hotel, great location and big room for downtown area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland OR
Mar 20, 2010

Marriott Union Sq

Business trip, nothing missing, very enjoyable stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA
Jul 4, 2010

Good location

Great location, close to union square, great for shopping and close to transportaton for tourism.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samuelsmom
Business
Portland, or
Aug 1, 2011

Mariott Union Square-great location

The location was great! The staff was very nice and effecient. we were there to cheer family running in the SF Marathon. The sheets were soft but the sweat factor in the bed was way too high-(for both of us) so they may have been polyester. Except for that, the bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
constanza
Business
Santiago de Chile, Región Metropolitana, Chile
Sep 28, 2011

good hotel

great experience in this hotel september 2011, by trhe nigth

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Getaway'er
Business
Bakersfield, CA, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Perfect Location

I took my wife to San Fran for here first time and wanted to stay in the center of everything. This was it! We were right in the center of Union Square. In very close walking distance were all of the shops, mall, restaurants, bars, clubs...Right outside the hotel was the route for the trolley car that were took to the Wharf and around SF. The room had a nice view of the city and the bay and it was a very comfortable king bed. There is a bar in the lobby of the hotel that is only open until 11, but they are very knowledgable bar staff and can mix a drink! Overall the stay was great and we pretty much just walked or took a short cab ride anywhere we needed to go. The only downside was parking. The hotel had vallet only and it was ~$47/day, but I found parking garage one block down for $37/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Honey Honey Cafe & Crepery for breakfast or brunch. The crepes are amazing as well as the other items on the menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top