$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Crowne Plaza Hotel SAN FRANCISCO-UNION SQUARE

4 stars
480 SUTTER ST, 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
83 reviews
Good

Location was perfect and good service. I loved it. See full review

  • Jane Park
  • Jul 21, 2014
Great service and good location

Excellent customer service. Very friendly and helpful from door staff, check in, concierge.... See full review

  • Cool Mom 500
  • Jul 6, 2014
Information Not Available

Hotel Map

37.7892 -122.4083
Nearby airports
Airport Information Not available;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza Hotel SAN FRANCISCO-UNION SQUARE also booked these hotels.

Amenities

No amenity information is available for this hotel.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel SAN FRANCISCO-UNION SQUARE

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 83
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel SAN FRANCISCO-UNION SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuperAwesomeA
San Diego, CA
May 16, 2014

Great Location!

This location is perfect for walking around Union Square, close to Coit Tower, China Town, etc. You can be at Fisherman's Warf in 15 minutes. The cable cars are right next to the hotel. The hotel is on the more stylish side of the usual Marriott hotels. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We can be quite picky but we were pleasantly surprised and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of great places you can walk to for dinner in Union Square. China Town is also about a half mile or so away.

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel SAN FRANCISCO-UNION SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aisha001
San Jose, CA
Jan 3, 2014

Perfect Location, Small Rooms

Only a block from the main union square area but the rooms are too small and the view isn't the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel SAN FRANCISCO-UNION SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arcelio
Puerto Rico
Jul 29, 2013

Nice Hotel

The staff was very kind. The location great. I think needs more entertainment amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Near of the hotel, across the street, in any direction, there are many restaurants and groceries stores and pharmacy as well.

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel SAN FRANCISCO-UNION SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ALAMINE
Dallas
May 8, 2013

A+

Very nice location. Nice staff. Clean rooms. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel SAN FRANCISCO-UNION SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SarahDulcinea
Longmont, Colorado
Mar 5, 2013

5 Year Wedding Getaway

The hotel was perfect for us. The staff were very friendly, the hotel was clean and elegant. We didn't spend too much time at the hotel because we were busy sightseeing, but whenver we were there it was comfortable. There is no pool or hot tub, which my husband was disappointed about, but again, it was not that big of a deal. The only thing I might complain about (it wasn't a big deal to me, but it might be a big deal for some people) is that the sink in the bathroom and the vanity was very small. I guess the bathroom in general was pretty small. Overall, a great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel SAN FRANCISCO-UNION SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Jays
Sacramento
Aug 27, 2012

weekend getaway

hotel location was convenient if you like to shop. although the room and bathroom were small compared to other hotels, the view was breathtaking and service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel SAN FRANCISCO-UNION SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sliqric
Jacksonville, Florida
Jul 22, 2012

Great Hotel Choice

Hotel staff were courteous and very helpful from check-in to check-out. The room price was reasonable however I became aware that parking a car in the hotel's garage could be costly-as much as 45 or 50 dollars a day. The size of the rooms were adequate and well kept. Thankfully, I did not rent a car and I was glad I didn't because most locations/attractions I wanted to see were accessible using public transportation. I did rent a car for one which was sufficient time for me to us to see places that were more distant. The hotel's location was great being one block from Union Square and the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf was right outside of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and drive across the Golden Gate Bridge and continue up the Muir Woods if time permits.

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel SAN FRANCISCO-UNION SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diamondsj
nz
Jul 1, 2012

One night stay.

Staff very friendly ,checked us in early , no problem.Room was clean and comfortable no fridge.Would prefer more tea bags,without having to ask for them. Overall good. and no noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel SAN FRANCISCO-UNION SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Getaway'er
Bakersfield, CA, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Perfect Location

I took my wife to San Fran for here first time and wanted to stay in the center of everything. This was it! We were right in the center of Union Square. In very close walking distance were all of the shops, mall, restaurants, bars, clubs...Right outside the hotel was the route for the trolley car that were took to the Wharf and around SF. The room had a nice view of the city and the bay and it was a very comfortable king bed. There is a bar in the lobby of the hotel that is only open until 11, but they are very knowledgable bar staff and can mix a drink! Overall the stay was great and we pretty much just walked or took a short cab ride anywhere we needed to go. The only downside was parking. The hotel had vallet only and it was ~$47/day, but I found parking garage one block down for $37/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Honey Honey Cafe & Crepery for breakfast or brunch. The crepes are amazing as well as the other items on the menu.

Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel SAN FRANCISCO-UNION SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jonbvsnx
Buffalo, NY, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Just ok

Very small room, even for a big American city. The bathroom was extremely small. The room door had a 1 inch gap at the bottom, so noise was always a problem. No fridge, only two towels, no IPOD dock, limited dinning options, no 24 hour room service. Other than all of that, the staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Extra critical because of the $350+ / night price.. just rough around the edges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square location is perfect.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search