$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

San Francisco Marriott Union Square

4 stars
480 Sutter Street, 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
122 reviews
Great service and good location

Excellent customer service. Very friendly and helpful from door staff, check in, concierge.... See full review

  • Cool Mom 500
  • Jul 6, 2014
perfect weekend in San Francisco

When we arrived at the hotel the welcome at reception was warm and efficient. The standard of the... See full review

  • American tourist
  • Feb 25, 2014
Convenience and luxury near Union Square, SoMa and more
Location is everything for the San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel. The property rises 30 stories above the confluence of a number of downtown neighborhoods, including Union Square, SoMa, the Financial District and the Theater District. It's also within walking distance of Chinatown and North Beach. Rooms are modern, and each offers Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Guests can choose from two on-site restaurants: American, open for breakfast only, and bin480 wine bar, which serves casual food and classic cocktails along with local wines.
Highlights
  • Sample local wines at bin480 wine bar
  • Walking distance to Union Square, SoMa and the Theater District
  • High-end (and complimentary) fitness center
Rooms

Accommodations -- 347 rooms and 53 suites -- are modern and sparsely decorated. All rooms at the San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel come standard with flat-screen TVs, pillow-top beds, spacious work desks and MP3 docks. Many rooms also have views of the San Francisco skyline. On the concierge floor, rooms include amenities such as mini-refrigerators. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features
The 30-story San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel is within a short walk to six different neighborhoods, including Union Square, the financial district, SoMa, the theater district, Chinatown and North Beach. It has received numerous awards, including the AAA 3 Diamond Award.

The San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel features an expansive lobby with ample seating areas; it is the perfect spot to unwind with a newspaper after a hectic day.

All guests have access to a fitness center with state-of-the-art exercise equipment; locker rooms attached to the fitness center offer saunas. Dry-cleaning services are available (fees apply) and the Marriott also is close to four different day spas, each of which specializes in different treatments (fees apply).

Hungry guests can choose from two on-site restaurants: American, which is open only for breakfast, and bin480 wine bar, which serves casual food, classic cocktails and, as the name suggests, local wines.
Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 17,000 square feet of meeting space

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

37.7892 -122.4083
Area served
San Francisco Civic Center
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.20, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Dining

the Restaurant
Our Union Square Marriott hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast Monday-Friday 6:30am-11:00am; Saturday-Sunday 7:00am-11:00am.
bin480
Enjoy specialty cocktails and refreshing beverages along with small plates and appetizers at the bin480 restaurant and lounge in our Union Square, San Francisco, CA hotel's lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pilar Isabela's Mother
New York, NY
Aug 31, 2010

SF Marriott on Sutter St

We are from New York. We arrived at the SF Marriott for check-in and wanted to get a high floor - though rooms were avail on the lower floors. [...], at the front desk was so professional and helpful. He said, have lunch, leave the luggage and we'll do our best to accomodate you. This man is what makes the SF Marriott an excellent place to stay. We came back later, our luggage was already in the room, we had the best view of Powell Street and San Francisco Bay. The beds were super clean, cozy and the room colors fit the Asian theme of this vibrant city. The doormen & porters are always with a smile and give excellent directions. You are close to Union Square shopping, Chinatown and every Zagat rated restaurant. The location is the best. In totality, we just slept here while visiting friends and relatives - but it's the best bed I've slept in. I travel extensively for business, and this was a family trip. The staff like children and always greet them sweetly and kindly. Treat yourself and stay here-it's well deserved. Say hello to [...] - he's a good man to know. We will return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a quick breakfast, go around the corner on Powell to the Cable Car Cafe for a wonderful selection of crepes and omelettes. My daughter loves Banana and Nutella crepes - and this are so much like the ones we have in Paris. There are also savory crepes and traditional American breakfasts of eggs, bacon, toast. Excellent coffee and the prices are reasonable. It was our last morning in San Francisco and we were happy to have a lovely bfast and efficient + friendly staff. Don't be put off with the do it yourself style the owner has - when you get to the counter, read the menu, he'll take your order, give you a coffee cup to fill yourself at a counter and you get your own water at another counter. The food is delivered to your table. Don't miss this place; it's a little gem! But shhhhh! don't tell too many people - you may not get a seat!

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, Tx
Aug 6, 2010

Small but nice rooms

Clean, all my request were met by a very helpful staff. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping with in two blocks.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Aug 6, 2010

The Perfect Spot!

The perfect location, Walgreens and Starbuck right on the corner. You walk a few blocks up and you have the best shopping experience. Not to mention breakfast and dinner options were good. We were able to ride a bus, trolley or catch a cab to the wharf for minimal money and the ride was less than 10 minutes. We were very happy with the hotel choice as well because the staff was very cordial and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Aug 6, 2010

The Perfect Spot!

The perfect location, Walgreens and Starbuck right on the corner. You walk a few blocks up and you have the best shopping experience. Not to mention breakfast and dinner options were good. We were able to ride a bus, trolley or catch a cab to the wharf for minimal money and the ride was less than 10 minutes. We were very happy with the hotel choice as well because the staff was very cordial and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, Tx
Aug 6, 2010

Small but nice rooms

Clean, all my request were met by a very helpful staff. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping with in two blocks.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, Texas
Jul 12, 2010

Great location and excellant service.

Great downtown location. Convenient for shopping and all forms of travel. Hotel was spotless and staff was very helpful and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, Texas
Jul 12, 2010

Great location and excellant service.

Great downtown location. Convenient for shopping and all forms of travel. Hotel was spotless and staff was very helpful and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
LA
Jul 4, 2010

Good location

Great location, close to union square, great for shopping and close to transportaton for tourism.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Dudereno
Santa Maria, CA
Jun 5, 2010

Great Hotel for the Price

The hotel was conveniently located by the trolley that goes to the Wharf. Valet parking was a little pricey (near $50), but there was a garage around the corner for less. I used the valet, and it sure was classy. There is plenty of liquor stores and convenient stores near, if you need to pick something up because Frisco is expensive, especially the hotel's prices. I requested a King size and got a double, but the view was magnificent. we paid the like $30 extra for a top floor, floor 23, from the bay, to the structures (new and old), everything was beautiful. Wish there was a mini fridge, but luckily the many dark beers offered in Frisco taste good room temp (that's how the Europeans and Americans drank beer 300 years ago). It's in the heart of Union Square, so that's why I figured the prices were high. All around, the Hotel is great for the price. The price is low compared to other hotels in the area, and just classy enough to hang with the more swanky hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on using the public transportation, just know that except for the trolley, you could wait anywhere from 15-30 minutes for a bus, since the rail lines don't go everywhere in the city.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Dudereno
Santa Maria, CA
Jun 5, 2010

Great Hotel for the Price

The hotel was conveniently located by the trolley that goes to the Wharf. Valet parking was a little pricey (near $50), but there was a garage around the corner for less. I used the valet, and it sure was classy. There is plenty of liquor stores and convenient stores near, if you need to pick something up because Frisco is expensive, especially the hotel's prices. I requested a King size and got a double, but the view was magnificent. we paid the like $30 extra for a top floor, floor 23, from the bay, to the structures (new and old), everything was beautiful. Wish there was a mini fridge, but luckily the many dark beers offered in Frisco taste good room temp (that's how the Europeans and Americans drank beer 300 years ago). It's in the heart of Union Square, so that's why I figured the prices were high. All around, the Hotel is great for the price. The price is low compared to other hotels in the area, and just classy enough to hang with the more swanky hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on using the public transportation, just know that except for the trolley, you could wait anywhere from 15-30 minutes for a bus, since the rail lines don't go everywhere in the city.

Back to menu Return to top