$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

San Francisco Marriott Union Square

4 stars
View map of 480 Sutter Street, 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bill The Business Travele
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 21, 2012

Nice business hotel

Very nice business hotel in a great location. The staff could not be more helpful. Room was very clean and comfortable. For a guy that logs over 200 hotel night a year, I wish I had a hotel equal to this in all the cities I travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sharpknife
Single
Newport Beach, CA.
Jan 9, 2011

Great Location, Comfortable Bed

Great location for walking the city with very comfortable bed for sleeping. My room was across the hall from the elevators, and you could hear the doors open and close. The bar looks good, but the service and food are average and the happy hour is silly-- one wine and one appetizer special, but there are so many great places to eat around the city that it only matters a little. I don't know if I'd stay there next time because there are so many choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks across the street and lots of places to eat and shop in the area. Use the hotel as a home base and explore the city.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B. Bleek
Family
Redding, Ca
Dec 30, 2010

nice hotel, outrageous parking fees!!!

The room was clean and comfortable, good location and view. I was very disappointed to not have reasonable parking. It cost us almost $200 to park for our 3 day stay. This alone brought the rating down for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

the blue tour bus (hop on/hop off) will give you a serious discount to steal your business from their competitor. They gave us 2 day passes for $25 each. Regular price is $40. The only downfall is that they stop running at 5:00 in the evening.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York City, NY
Dec 29, 2010

an expected Marriot experience

Location: if you love the 'in the middle of it all' feel, this is a great location. Hotel: nice staff, nice ammenities Room: nice and clean room. we appreciated the custom toiletries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square, SanFranc MoMa

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatD23
Friends
Woodland, CA
Nov 22, 2010

Marriott Hotel- perfect location

The Marriott Union Square Hotel was easy to get to and check-in was a breeze. I was staying with friends and they had run out of double rooms. The hotel staff brought in a rollaway bed for us to use which worked out perfectly. The hotel is in an excellent location. Far enough away from the shopping that you don't get all the crowds but close enough that it is within walking distance. Great-sized rooms and the location make it the perfect choice for a ladies shopping trip! I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy and quick walk right down Powell.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allie T
Couples
Providence, RI
Nov 22, 2010

Hotel 480 San Francisco

Great hotel - comfy beds! Fabulous location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sam - Super Dad
Family
Phoenix
Oct 13, 2010

San francisco trip

We saw many sites of San Francisco. Great hotel, nice rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clymber
Couples
Santa Barbara, CA
Sep 27, 2010

Great Location and Views

Very helpful staff, great restaurants and shopping within a 2-block radius. Cable Car stop 100 feet from the front door, shopping 1 block away, China Town 5 blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wondering if 4+ Stars is worth the price
Couples
LA
Sep 26, 2010

Great service and quality finish but...

Great service, well coordinated to make sure you are taken care of. But i guess i got unlucky with a bad view and two twin beds when we wanted one big bed. Thats understandably a roll of the dice, especially when you check in late on a friday. But to compound that, both beds were very soft. But i constantly saw great service, team interaction (even security guards) that made me see where my money was going... but still didn't help that a nice firm clean bed is the most important. Cleaniness and quality finihings in the room were apparent and abundant... just wished i had a nice view and one big firm bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining, shopping and even some entertainment. i didn't use the conceirge service, but if the rest of the staff is any indication, they should be great as well.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Dallas, Tx
Aug 6, 2010

Small but nice rooms

Clean, all my request were met by a very helpful staff. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping with in two blocks.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Francisco
Aug 6, 2010

The Perfect Spot!

The perfect location, Walgreens and Starbuck right on the corner. You walk a few blocks up and you have the best shopping experience. Not to mention breakfast and dinner options were good. We were able to ride a bus, trolley or catch a cab to the wharf for minimal money and the ride was less than 10 minutes. We were very happy with the hotel choice as well because the staff was very cordial and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top