$238 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

San Francisco Marriott Union Square

4 stars
480 Sutter Street, 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
84 reviews
execellent for family and business

Will definitely come back and reccomend to family to stay. I had a good time See full review

  • chet pastrana
  • Nov 16, 2014
Good

Location was perfect and good service. I loved it. See full review

  • Jane Park
  • Jul 21, 2014
Combining luxury and convenience, the San Francisco Marriott Union Square invites guests to experience exceptional service in ideal accommodations. Sitting on the corner of Sutter and Powell streets, our Union Square hotel is just steps from world-class shopping, restaurants, bars and the theater district. Being in the heart of downtown, our San Francisco hotel allows business travelers to walk to meetings at the Moscone Center or in the Financial District, while vacationers can enjoy lunch in Chinatown and catch a game at AT&T Park, home of the San Francisco Giants. Our Union Square San Francisco hotel offers 400 guest rooms, including 53 suites with phenomenal views of the bay and city skyline. Working professionals can take advantage of high-speed Internet throughout our nine meeting rooms featuring 10,000 square feet of flexible event space in addition to our full-service business center. Whether here for work or play, come experience the charm and sophistication of our San Francisco hotel.

Hotel Map

37.7892 -122.4083
Area served
San Francisco Civic Center
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.20, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Francisco Marriott Union Square also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

the Restaurant
Start the day off right by enjoying a hearty breakfast from our hotel's on-site Union Square restaurant open 6:30 a.m. to 11 a.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 11 a.m. Saturday and Sunday.
bin480
Enjoy specialty cocktails accompanied by delectable dishes at bin480, right inside the lobby of our San Francisco, CA, hotel. Wind down after a long day in our Union Square restaurant without even leaving the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sliqric
Jacksonville, Florida
Jul 22, 2012

Great Hotel Choice

Hotel staff were courteous and very helpful from check-in to check-out. The room price was reasonable however I became aware that parking a car in the hotel's garage could be costly-as much as 45 or 50 dollars a day. The size of the rooms were adequate and well kept. Thankfully, I did not rent a car and I was glad I didn't because most locations/attractions I wanted to see were accessible using public transportation. I did rent a car for one which was sufficient time for me to us to see places that were more distant. The hotel's location was great being one block from Union Square and the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf was right outside of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and drive across the Golden Gate Bridge and continue up the Muir Woods if time permits.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA
Jul 4, 2010

Good location

Great location, close to union square, great for shopping and close to transportaton for tourism.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Dudereno
Business
Santa Maria, CA
Jun 5, 2010

Great Hotel for the Price

The hotel was conveniently located by the trolley that goes to the Wharf. Valet parking was a little pricey (near $50), but there was a garage around the corner for less. I used the valet, and it sure was classy. There is plenty of liquor stores and convenient stores near, if you need to pick something up because Frisco is expensive, especially the hotel's prices. I requested a King size and got a double, but the view was magnificent. we paid the like $30 extra for a top floor, floor 23, from the bay, to the structures (new and old), everything was beautiful. Wish there was a mini fridge, but luckily the many dark beers offered in Frisco taste good room temp (that's how the Europeans and Americans drank beer 300 years ago). It's in the heart of Union Square, so that's why I figured the prices were high. All around, the Hotel is great for the price. The price is low compared to other hotels in the area, and just classy enough to hang with the more swanky hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on using the public transportation, just know that except for the trolley, you could wait anywhere from 15-30 minutes for a bus, since the rail lines don't go everywhere in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 1, 2010

Loved It

clean rooms, good location, super comfy bed. I only wish there was a refridgerator (since there's a space for it) and they had a complimentary breakfast buffet for guests in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego,CA
May 17, 2010

Great Hotel, great location, great value

This was a leisure trip. The location was perfect to shopping and walking to the Ferry building. The Marriott was super cool and hip. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

great jazz at top of the mark

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Becky Shopper
Business
Fresno CA
Apr 18, 2010

Good Location for shopping!

Excellent location and pleasant surroundings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland OR
Mar 20, 2010

Marriott Union Sq

Business trip, nothing missing, very enjoyable stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Mar 9, 2010

The Best of San Francisco

It was fantastic! The staff were very accomodating, very pleasant, however, the hot water was turned off on the last day without notifying us which in turn delayed by day by a couple of hours. I had dinner at hotel one evening. Main course was pleasant and not heavy which is what I waw looking for but the Thai chicken wings appetizer were chewy & dry. The room was superb as always, great bed! The cleaning crew were very noisy during the mornings talking to each other and banging things around. Overall the location was accessible to many great restaurants, bars, shows, train, shops. You get a good sense of San Francisco's cosmopolitan life style!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Half Moon Bay, CA
Feb 13, 2010

Nice getaway!

Very nice hotel, friendly staff. Was a little noisy, walls seem a bit thin. Great location in the middle of SF, by Union Square. A good walk up-hill to China Town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at Kuleto's and had a wonderful dinner! Just a block from the Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jan 28, 2010

great location

The dinning options in/around the hotel were limited. The licensed cabs are loathe to stop at the hotel. A couple of the cab drivers explained how the hotel staff direct the longer fares to their friends who drive unlicensed 'cabs' and only give the short rides to the metered cabs. However there is plenty to see and do within a couple of miles around the hotel so walking is a great option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not try to get a cab near the hotel. Since the hotel staff will only give the shortest fares to the legitimate cabs and save the longer fares for the unlicensed cars, as a result, the licensed cabs will not stop at the hotel. Cab drivers will pick a guest up but just not right in front of the hotel and certainly not if one of the hotel staff is trying to hail it for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lewsimo
Business
northern ca.
Jan 13, 2010

Marriot Union Square

Wow, what a great location.Brand new rooms.Stay on an upper floor, if you can.Very nice staff.Though not the Ritz ..you could stay here for 2 or 3 nights at that price.Easy to get in and out of, near everything.Sears for breakfast is worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top