$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

San Francisco Marriott Union Square

4 stars
View map of 480 Sutter Street, 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sliqric
Jacksonville, Florida
Jul 22, 2012

Great Hotel Choice

Hotel staff were courteous and very helpful from check-in to check-out. The room price was reasonable however I became aware that parking a car in the hotel's garage could be costly-as much as 45 or 50 dollars a day. The size of the rooms were adequate and well kept. Thankfully, I did not rent a car and I was glad I didn't because most locations/attractions I wanted to see were accessible using public transportation. I did rent a car for one which was sufficient time for me to us to see places that were more distant. The hotel's location was great being one block from Union Square and the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf was right outside of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and drive across the Golden Gate Bridge and continue up the Muir Woods if time permits.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ROMANTIC GUY
Business
PHOENIX,AZ.
Jun 20, 2011

GREAT LOCATION , GOOD RATE BUT AT A COST

THIS WAS A ROMANTIC WEEKEND , THE HOTEL WAS GREAT , THE LOCATION PERFECT AND OTHER THAN A VERY DIFFICULT TIME ARRANGING A KING SIZE BED ,A VERY ENJOYABLE TRIP! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jkuhn
Business
st. Joseph, MI
May 9, 2011

Great central location

Was in town for international medical conference with my wife. Proximity to great art galleries and fine shopping at Union Square. Also, take the Powell Street cable car directly to Fisherman's Wharff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes. Fairmont Hotel, the Tonga Room is a must!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Apr 21, 2011

Relaxing, pleasant stay

Very relaxing, pleasant atmosphere, well stocked, even well decorated :) A walk to everything, I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great 24 hour pharmacy right across the street for sundry needs!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
getter
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 18, 2011

Walk in like you own this place

As says on their room's key - ' walk in like you own this place ' I had an awesome experience with this hotel and price range is reasonable for this class of hotel. Staff service was awesome and polite. Highly recommended....keep up the good work!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Mar 30, 2011

Great Location

I was visting my daughter during school break. She is in graudate school at the Academy of Art Univ. The trip was great, lots to see and do. The Hotel is located near the trolly cars and Union Square. We visted lots of shops, took a bus tour of the city, a musuem and the crookiest street. We also had tea for 2 at Crowns and Crumpets The weather was breezy and it rain one day. My only complaint was the Marriott charged me $250 for a security deposit on my hotel room. They returned it at the end of my stay, but a very unexpected fee. They never mentioned this fee. This should be told to you before you walk in. Other than that the trip and the hotel was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to eat. I would suggest the Burger Bar at Union Square. The best burgers I've ever had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mer Mer
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 11, 2011

Geat location and price

The hotel was very modern and the staff was friendly and efficient. The hotel was located perfectly alongside the cable cars and a very short walk to Market Street. We went everywhere on the cable car, including The Wharf, Ghirardelli Square and a variety of different restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Scoma's on Pier 47. Excellent sea food. Very RECOMMENDED!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sharpknife
Business
Newport Beach, CA.
Jan 9, 2011

Great Location, Comfortable Bed

Great location for walking the city with very comfortable bed for sleeping. My room was across the hall from the elevators, and you could hear the doors open and close. The bar looks good, but the service and food are average and the happy hour is silly-- one wine and one appetizer special, but there are so many great places to eat around the city that it only matters a little. I don't know if I'd stay there next time because there are so many choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks across the street and lots of places to eat and shop in the area. Use the hotel as a home base and explore the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B. Bleek
Business
Redding, Ca
Dec 30, 2010

nice hotel, outrageous parking fees!!!

The room was clean and comfortable, good location and view. I was very disappointed to not have reasonable parking. It cost us almost $200 to park for our 3 day stay. This alone brought the rating down for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

the blue tour bus (hop on/hop off) will give you a serious discount to steal your business from their competitor. They gave us 2 day passes for $25 each. Regular price is $40. The only downfall is that they stop running at 5:00 in the evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City, NY
Dec 29, 2010

an expected Marriot experience

Location: if you love the 'in the middle of it all' feel, this is a great location. Hotel: nice staff, nice ammenities Room: nice and clean room. we appreciated the custom toiletries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square, SanFranc MoMa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatD23
Business
Woodland, CA
Nov 22, 2010

Marriott Hotel- perfect location

The Marriott Union Square Hotel was easy to get to and check-in was a breeze. I was staying with friends and they had run out of double rooms. The hotel staff brought in a rollaway bed for us to use which worked out perfectly. The hotel is in an excellent location. Far enough away from the shopping that you don't get all the crowds but close enough that it is within walking distance. Great-sized rooms and the location make it the perfect choice for a ladies shopping trip! I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy and quick walk right down Powell.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top