San Francisco Marriott Union Square

4 stars
480 Sutter Street, 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
86 reviews
execellent for family and business

Will definitely come back and reccomend to family to stay. I had a good time See full review

  • chet pastrana
  • Nov 16, 2014
Good

Location was perfect and good service. I loved it. See full review

  • Jane Park
  • Jul 21, 2014
Convenience and luxury near Union Square, SoMa and more
Location is everything for the San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel. The property rises 30 stories above the confluence of a number of downtown neighborhoods, including Union Square, SoMa, the Financial District and the Theater District. It's also within walking distance of Chinatown and North Beach. Rooms are modern, and each offers Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Guests can choose from two on-site restaurants: American, open for breakfast only, and bin480 wine bar, which serves casual food and classic cocktails along with local wines.
Highlights
  • Sample local wines at bin480 wine bar
  • Walking distance to Union Square, SoMa and the Theater District
  • High-end (and complimentary) fitness center
Rooms

Accommodations -- 347 rooms and 53 suites -- are modern and sparsely decorated. All rooms at the San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel come standard with flat-screen TVs, pillow-top beds, spacious work desks and MP3 docks. Many rooms also have views of the San Francisco skyline. On the concierge floor, rooms include amenities such as mini-refrigerators. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features
The 30-story San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel is within a short walk to six different neighborhoods, including Union Square, the financial district, SoMa, the theater district, Chinatown and North Beach. It has received numerous awards, including the AAA 3 Diamond Award.

The San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel features an expansive lobby with ample seating areas; it is the perfect spot to unwind with a newspaper after a hectic day.

All guests have access to a fitness center with state-of-the-art exercise equipment; locker rooms attached to the fitness center offer saunas. Dry-cleaning services are available (fees apply) and the Marriott also is close to four different day spas, each of which specializes in different treatments (fees apply).

Hungry guests can choose from two on-site restaurants: American, which is open only for breakfast, and bin480 wine bar, which serves casual food, classic cocktails and, as the name suggests, local wines.
Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 17,000 square feet of meeting space

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

37.7892 -122.4083
Area served
San Francisco Civic Center
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.20, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

the Restaurant
Start the day off right by enjoying a hearty breakfast from our hotel's on-site Union Square restaurant open 6:30 a.m. to 11 a.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 11 a.m. Saturday and Sunday.
bin480
Enjoy specialty cocktails accompanied by delectable dishes at bin480, right inside the lobby of our San Francisco, CA, hotel. Wind down after a long day in our Union Square restaurant without even leaving the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sharpknife
Business
Newport Beach, CA.
Jan 9, 2011

Great Location, Comfortable Bed

Great location for walking the city with very comfortable bed for sleeping. My room was across the hall from the elevators, and you could hear the doors open and close. The bar looks good, but the service and food are average and the happy hour is silly-- one wine and one appetizer special, but there are so many great places to eat around the city that it only matters a little. I don't know if I'd stay there next time because there are so many choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks across the street and lots of places to eat and shop in the area. Use the hotel as a home base and explore the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B. Bleek
Business
Redding, Ca
Dec 30, 2010

nice hotel, outrageous parking fees!!!

The room was clean and comfortable, good location and view. I was very disappointed to not have reasonable parking. It cost us almost $200 to park for our 3 day stay. This alone brought the rating down for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

the blue tour bus (hop on/hop off) will give you a serious discount to steal your business from their competitor. They gave us 2 day passes for $25 each. Regular price is $40. The only downfall is that they stop running at 5:00 in the evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City, NY
Dec 29, 2010

an expected Marriot experience

Location: if you love the 'in the middle of it all' feel, this is a great location. Hotel: nice staff, nice ammenities Room: nice and clean room. we appreciated the custom toiletries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square, SanFranc MoMa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatD23
Business
Woodland, CA
Nov 22, 2010

Marriott Hotel- perfect location

The Marriott Union Square Hotel was easy to get to and check-in was a breeze. I was staying with friends and they had run out of double rooms. The hotel staff brought in a rollaway bed for us to use which worked out perfectly. The hotel is in an excellent location. Far enough away from the shopping that you don't get all the crowds but close enough that it is within walking distance. Great-sized rooms and the location make it the perfect choice for a ladies shopping trip! I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy and quick walk right down Powell.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allie T
Business
Providence, RI
Nov 22, 2010

Hotel 480 San Francisco

Great hotel - comfy beds! Fabulous location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sam - Super Dad
Business
Phoenix
Oct 13, 2010

San francisco trip

We saw many sites of San Francisco. Great hotel, nice rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clymber
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Sep 27, 2010

Great Location and Views

Very helpful staff, great restaurants and shopping within a 2-block radius. Cable Car stop 100 feet from the front door, shopping 1 block away, China Town 5 blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wondering if 4+ Stars is worth the price
Business
LA
Sep 26, 2010

Great service and quality finish but...

Great service, well coordinated to make sure you are taken care of. But i guess i got unlucky with a bad view and two twin beds when we wanted one big bed. Thats understandably a roll of the dice, especially when you check in late on a friday. But to compound that, both beds were very soft. But i constantly saw great service, team interaction (even security guards) that made me see where my money was going... but still didn't help that a nice firm clean bed is the most important. Cleaniness and quality finihings in the room were apparent and abundant... just wished i had a nice view and one big firm bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining, shopping and even some entertainment. i didn't use the conceirge service, but if the rest of the staff is any indication, they should be great as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pilar Isabela's Mother
Business
New York, NY
Aug 31, 2010

SF Marriott on Sutter St

We are from New York. We arrived at the SF Marriott for check-in and wanted to get a high floor - though rooms were avail on the lower floors. [...], at the front desk was so professional and helpful. He said, have lunch, leave the luggage and we'll do our best to accomodate you. This man is what makes the SF Marriott an excellent place to stay. We came back later, our luggage was already in the room, we had the best view of Powell Street and San Francisco Bay. The beds were super clean, cozy and the room colors fit the Asian theme of this vibrant city. The doormen & porters are always with a smile and give excellent directions. You are close to Union Square shopping, Chinatown and every Zagat rated restaurant. The location is the best. In totality, we just slept here while visiting friends and relatives - but it's the best bed I've slept in. I travel extensively for business, and this was a family trip. The staff like children and always greet them sweetly and kindly. Treat yourself and stay here-it's well deserved. Say hello to [...] - he's a good man to know. We will return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a quick breakfast, go around the corner on Powell to the Cable Car Cafe for a wonderful selection of crepes and omelettes. My daughter loves Banana and Nutella crepes - and this are so much like the ones we have in Paris. There are also savory crepes and traditional American breakfasts of eggs, bacon, toast. Excellent coffee and the prices are reasonable. It was our last morning in San Francisco and we were happy to have a lovely bfast and efficient + friendly staff. Don't be put off with the do it yourself style the owner has - when you get to the counter, read the menu, he'll take your order, give you a coffee cup to fill yourself at a counter and you get your own water at another counter. The food is delivered to your table. Don't miss this place; it's a little gem! But shhhhh! don't tell too many people - you may not get a seat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Tx
Aug 6, 2010

Small but nice rooms

Clean, all my request were met by a very helpful staff. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping with in two blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top