$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 23, 2014

San Francisco Marriott Union Square

4 stars
480 Sutter Street, 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
83 reviews
Good

Location was perfect and good service. I loved it. See full review

  • Jane Park
  • Jul 21, 2014
Great service and good location

Excellent customer service. Very friendly and helpful from door staff, check in, concierge.... See full review

  • Cool Mom 500
  • Jul 6, 2014
Combining luxury and convenience, the San Francisco Marriott Union Square invites guests to experience exceptional service in ideal accommodations. Sitting on the corner of Sutter and Powell streets, our Union Square hotel is just steps from world-class shopping, restaurants, bars and the theater district. Being in the heart of downtown, our San Francisco hotel allows business travelers to walk to meetings at the Moscone Center or in the Financial District, while vacationers can enjoy lunch in Chinatown and catch a game at AT&T Park, home of the San Francisco Giants. Our Union Square San Francisco hotel offers 400 guest rooms, including 53 suites with phenomenal views of the bay and city skyline. Working professionals can take advantage of high-speed Internet throughout our nine meeting rooms featuring 10,000 square feet of flexible event space in addition to our full-service business center. Whether here for work or play, come experience the charm and sophistication of our San Francisco hotel.

Hotel Map

37.7892 -122.4083
Area served
San Francisco Civic Center
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.20, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Francisco Marriott Union Square also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2 mi

Dining

the Restaurant
Start the day off right by enjoying a hearty breakfast from our hotel's on-site Union Square restaurant open 6:30 a.m. to 11 a.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m. to 11 a.m. Saturday and Sunday.
bin480
Enjoy specialty cocktails accompanied by delectable dishes at bin480, right inside the lobby of our San Francisco, CA, hotel. Wind down after a long day in our Union Square restaurant without even leaving the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatD23
Business
Woodland, CA
Nov 22, 2010

Marriott Hotel- perfect location

The Marriott Union Square Hotel was easy to get to and check-in was a breeze. I was staying with friends and they had run out of double rooms. The hotel staff brought in a rollaway bed for us to use which worked out perfectly. The hotel is in an excellent location. Far enough away from the shopping that you don't get all the crowds but close enough that it is within walking distance. Great-sized rooms and the location make it the perfect choice for a ladies shopping trip! I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy and quick walk right down Powell.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allie T
Business
Providence, RI
Nov 22, 2010

Hotel 480 San Francisco

Great hotel - comfy beds! Fabulous location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sam - Super Dad
Business
Phoenix
Oct 13, 2010

San francisco trip

We saw many sites of San Francisco. Great hotel, nice rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clymber
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Sep 27, 2010

Great Location and Views

Very helpful staff, great restaurants and shopping within a 2-block radius. Cable Car stop 100 feet from the front door, shopping 1 block away, China Town 5 blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wondering if 4+ Stars is worth the price
Business
LA
Sep 26, 2010

Great service and quality finish but...

Great service, well coordinated to make sure you are taken care of. But i guess i got unlucky with a bad view and two twin beds when we wanted one big bed. Thats understandably a roll of the dice, especially when you check in late on a friday. But to compound that, both beds were very soft. But i constantly saw great service, team interaction (even security guards) that made me see where my money was going... but still didn't help that a nice firm clean bed is the most important. Cleaniness and quality finihings in the room were apparent and abundant... just wished i had a nice view and one big firm bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining, shopping and even some entertainment. i didn't use the conceirge service, but if the rest of the staff is any indication, they should be great as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pilar Isabela's Mother
Business
New York, NY
Aug 31, 2010

SF Marriott on Sutter St

We are from New York. We arrived at the SF Marriott for check-in and wanted to get a high floor - though rooms were avail on the lower floors. [...], at the front desk was so professional and helpful. He said, have lunch, leave the luggage and we'll do our best to accomodate you. This man is what makes the SF Marriott an excellent place to stay. We came back later, our luggage was already in the room, we had the best view of Powell Street and San Francisco Bay. The beds were super clean, cozy and the room colors fit the Asian theme of this vibrant city. The doormen & porters are always with a smile and give excellent directions. You are close to Union Square shopping, Chinatown and every Zagat rated restaurant. The location is the best. In totality, we just slept here while visiting friends and relatives - but it's the best bed I've slept in. I travel extensively for business, and this was a family trip. The staff like children and always greet them sweetly and kindly. Treat yourself and stay here-it's well deserved. Say hello to [...] - he's a good man to know. We will return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a quick breakfast, go around the corner on Powell to the Cable Car Cafe for a wonderful selection of crepes and omelettes. My daughter loves Banana and Nutella crepes - and this are so much like the ones we have in Paris. There are also savory crepes and traditional American breakfasts of eggs, bacon, toast. Excellent coffee and the prices are reasonable. It was our last morning in San Francisco and we were happy to have a lovely bfast and efficient + friendly staff. Don't be put off with the do it yourself style the owner has - when you get to the counter, read the menu, he'll take your order, give you a coffee cup to fill yourself at a counter and you get your own water at another counter. The food is delivered to your table. Don't miss this place; it's a little gem! But shhhhh! don't tell too many people - you may not get a seat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Tx
Aug 6, 2010

Small but nice rooms

Clean, all my request were met by a very helpful staff. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping with in two blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Aug 6, 2010

The Perfect Spot!

The perfect location, Walgreens and Starbuck right on the corner. You walk a few blocks up and you have the best shopping experience. Not to mention breakfast and dinner options were good. We were able to ride a bus, trolley or catch a cab to the wharf for minimal money and the ride was less than 10 minutes. We were very happy with the hotel choice as well because the staff was very cordial and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jul 12, 2010

Great location and excellant service.

Great downtown location. Convenient for shopping and all forms of travel. Hotel was spotless and staff was very helpful and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA
Jul 4, 2010

Good location

Great location, close to union square, great for shopping and close to transportaton for tourism.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top