$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

San Francisco Marriott Union Square

4 stars
View map of 480 Sutter Street, 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sliqric
Jacksonville, Florida
Jul 22, 2012

Great Hotel Choice

Hotel staff were courteous and very helpful from check-in to check-out. The room price was reasonable however I became aware that parking a car in the hotel's garage could be costly-as much as 45 or 50 dollars a day. The size of the rooms were adequate and well kept. Thankfully, I did not rent a car and I was glad I didn't because most locations/attractions I wanted to see were accessible using public transportation. I did rent a car for one which was sufficient time for me to us to see places that were more distant. The hotel's location was great being one block from Union Square and the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf was right outside of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and drive across the Golden Gate Bridge and continue up the Muir Woods if time permits.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moh sam
Business
Kentuvky
Sep 3, 2012

Great Experience, Will repeat it

Will do it again surely Very clean Location min from pier 39, and middle of union square

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

City sightseeing

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toddler
Business
Redlands, Ca
Jan 2, 2013

Great Location

I use to be a flight attendant and have stayed at an array of different hotels throughout different countries. My flight arrived at 8:10 and by 9 .am. I attempted to check in. As I expected, the concierge told me the room was not ready. He asked for my cell number and called me within a few hours. There were a few things I requested from room service during my stay. The response time was less than a minute. Very courteous staff, would definitely re-book reservations there. One of many perks, the trolley pick up is across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Bob C
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 12, 2013

Wonderful location

Hotel was comfortable and in a great location. I was in San Francisco for one night on business and enjoyed my time at this hotel. Only one short block to Union Square and right on the cable car line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
james.c.robertson
Business
South Orange, NJ
Feb 24, 2013

Good location

Very close to the Stockton tunnel, which is a nice walking shortcut to Chinatown and North Beach. Also, close to BART stations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SarahDulcinea
Business
Longmont, Colorado
Mar 5, 2013

5 Year Wedding Getaway

The hotel was perfect for us. The staff were very friendly, the hotel was clean and elegant. We didn't spend too much time at the hotel because we were busy sightseeing, but whenver we were there it was comfortable. There is no pool or hot tub, which my husband was disappointed about, but again, it was not that big of a deal. The only thing I might complain about (it wasn't a big deal to me, but it might be a big deal for some people) is that the sink in the bathroom and the vanity was very small. I guess the bathroom in general was pretty small. Overall, a great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ALAMINE
Business
Dallas
May 8, 2013

A+

Very nice location. Nice staff. Clean rooms. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bertken
Business
Louisville Colorado
May 13, 2013

Family Weekend

Staff was extremely nice and helpful. They gave us a larger room with a roll away bed to give our family of four a little more space. The location was very good and we walked to many places, Japan town, China town and fisherman's market. Had concert at Warfield, so that area is sketchy by the tenderloin. Many good places to eat. It was nice place to be for the full city expereince

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arcelio
Business
Puerto Rico
Jul 29, 2013

Nice Hotel

The staff was very kind. The location great. I think needs more entertainment amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Near of the hotel, across the street, in any direction, there are many restaurants and groceries stores and pharmacy as well.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michaelruiz1
Business
San Marcos, Ca
Aug 4, 2013

Aaron's Birthday Getaway

Perfect location for seeing the sights of beautiful San Francisco...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Malgo from Warsaw
Business
Warsaw
Jun 3, 2014

Great city view in SF

Very friendly and attentive Staff. Comfortable and spacious room, furnished with taste and style. Very comfortable bed--you get a great night of sleep, especialy if you travel from far away and need to recharge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top