$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 18, 2015 Check-out: Jun 21, 2015

San Francisco Marriott Union Square

4 stars
View map of 480 Sutter Street, 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Getaway'er
Business
Bakersfield, CA, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Perfect Location

I took my wife to San Fran for here first time and wanted to stay in the center of everything. This was it! We were right in the center of Union Square. In very close walking distance were all of the shops, mall, restaurants, bars, clubs...Right outside the hotel was the route for the trolley car that were took to the Wharf and around SF. The room had a nice view of the city and the bay and it was a very comfortable king bed. There is a bar in the lobby of the hotel that is only open until 11, but they are very knowledgable bar staff and can mix a drink! Overall the stay was great and we pretty much just walked or took a short cab ride anywhere we needed to go. The only downside was parking. The hotel had vallet only and it was ~$47/day, but I found parking garage one block down for $37/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Honey Honey Cafe & Crepery for breakfast or brunch. The crepes are amazing as well as the other items on the menu.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diamondsj
Business
nz
Jul 1, 2012

One night stay.

Staff very friendly ,checked us in early , no problem.Room was clean and comfortable no fridge.Would prefer more tea bags,without having to ask for them. Overall good. and no noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
With bag will travel
Business
Baltimore
Jul 7, 2012

Close to everything

The location is ideal! There is a definite excitement in the air around this hotel. The room was spacious and the staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk around and do not just stick to the main streets. I found this great Scottish import store on Sutter and was able to get some of the UK candy that I normally can't get unless I' in London! A real treat.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SethdariuS
Business
Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Jul 6, 2012

Good choice...

Right in the heart of the shopping district. The breakfast buffet was ok. Food was not warm and the waiters were lazy. Others than that and the fact that the ice machine in our floor was broken, our stay was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Soosh
Business
Monterey
Jun 12, 2012

Great location

Hotel is nice. Clean, but $50.00 for parking? Seriously?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Jays
Business
Sacramento
Aug 27, 2012

weekend getaway

hotel location was convenient if you like to shop. although the room and bathroom were small compared to other hotels, the view was breathtaking and service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moh sam
Business
Kentuvky
Sep 3, 2012

Great Experience, Will repeat it

Will do it again surely Very clean Location min from pier 39, and middle of union square

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

City sightseeing

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toddler
Business
Redlands, Ca
Jan 2, 2013

Great Location

I use to be a flight attendant and have stayed at an array of different hotels throughout different countries. My flight arrived at 8:10 and by 9 .am. I attempted to check in. As I expected, the concierge told me the room was not ready. He asked for my cell number and called me within a few hours. There were a few things I requested from room service during my stay. The response time was less than a minute. Very courteous staff, would definitely re-book reservations there. One of many perks, the trolley pick up is across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Bob C
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 12, 2013

Wonderful location

Hotel was comfortable and in a great location. I was in San Francisco for one night on business and enjoyed my time at this hotel. Only one short block to Union Square and right on the cable car line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
james.c.robertson
Business
South Orange, NJ
Feb 24, 2013

Good location

Very close to the Stockton tunnel, which is a nice walking shortcut to Chinatown and North Beach. Also, close to BART stations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top