$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 3, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

San Francisco Marriott Union Square

4 stars
View map of 480 Sutter Street, 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arcelio
Business
Puerto Rico
Jul 29, 2013

Nice Hotel

The staff was very kind. The location great. I think needs more entertainment amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Near of the hotel, across the street, in any direction, there are many restaurants and groceries stores and pharmacy as well.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
laramba
Business
san francisco
Jun 1, 2013

great location and staff

Located in the heart of san fran, steps away from all stores and bus stops. Friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sax fifth avenue, macy's, dsw, neiman marcus

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ready 2 Retrie
Business
Outside Philadelphia
May 31, 2013

O.K. but not 4 stars

I like to think when I get to a 4 star hotel they treat you as such. I have a real problem with being nickled and dimed. They want $50.00 per day to store your car. 1 block away it was $20.00. Then you get charged $12.95 if you want to use WFI or high speen ether net from your room. You can get 1 free hour if you drag your net book or lap top down to the lobby. Not much fun from the 19th floor. Staff behind registration desk was not very knowledgable about the area either. Not a total loss. cause rooms were very nice. beds were supper comfortable bathroom nice size and clean. Maid service quick and efficient. BUses, cable car outside your door. Great location to go anywhere in City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get "City Pass" worth every penny. Unlimited trolley, bus and cable car rides, many attractions included. P.S. good for nine days. I was there only four and was able to give remainder to another traveler when I left.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boston Nancy
Business
Boston, MA
May 29, 2013

Good trip to San Fran

Good location near Union Square. Staff could have been more helpful when questions asked - particularly concierge services. Room was on smaller side, but comfortable - missing full length mirror. Long walk to piers, but beautiful area. If first visit to San Fran, suggest you look at hotels closer to piers as there is more tourist services available there. Overall a good trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Theater show - Beach Blanket Babylon in North Beach area. Contemporary show that will keep you laughing.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boston Nancy
Business
Boston, MA
May 24, 2013

Ordinary hotel

Nothing out of the ordinary. Room wasn't very large. No extras (bath robes, etc.) No full length mirror or makeup mirror. Beds comfortable and room was clean. Concierge wasn't helpful and made you feel you were putting her out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Wonderful Italian cafe in North Beach area, called North Beach Restaurant. Located in bustling area with super food and service.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bertken
Business
Louisville Colorado
May 13, 2013

Family Weekend

Staff was extremely nice and helpful. They gave us a larger room with a roll away bed to give our family of four a little more space. The location was very good and we walked to many places, Japan town, China town and fisherman's market. Had concert at Warfield, so that area is sketchy by the tenderloin. Many good places to eat. It was nice place to be for the full city expereince

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ALAMINE
Business
Dallas
May 8, 2013

A+

Very nice location. Nice staff. Clean rooms. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Curious Adventurer
Business
Sacramento, CA
Apr 9, 2013

Fun times at SF Marriott Union Square

The location of the hotel is the ideal place to stay at in SF if you want to do the tourist thing, shopping and the nightlife. Macy's, H&M and many other stores are walking distant. Wallgreen and Starbucks is across the street from the hotel. Chinatown is right arond the corner if you want asian food. Night clubs and bars is also walking distant. You don't even need to drive. The valet parking (cost about $55) at the hotel is reasonable for SF parking fees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SarahDulcinea
Business
Longmont, Colorado
Mar 5, 2013

5 Year Wedding Getaway

The hotel was perfect for us. The staff were very friendly, the hotel was clean and elegant. We didn't spend too much time at the hotel because we were busy sightseeing, but whenver we were there it was comfortable. There is no pool or hot tub, which my husband was disappointed about, but again, it was not that big of a deal. The only thing I might complain about (it wasn't a big deal to me, but it might be a big deal for some people) is that the sink in the bathroom and the vanity was very small. I guess the bathroom in general was pretty small. Overall, a great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
james.c.robertson
Business
South Orange, NJ
Feb 24, 2013

Good location

Very close to the Stockton tunnel, which is a nice walking shortcut to Chinatown and North Beach. Also, close to BART stations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top