$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

San Francisco Marriott Union Square

4 stars
480 Sutter Street, 480 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
122 reviews
Great service and good location

Excellent customer service. Very friendly and helpful from door staff, check in, concierge.... See full review

  • Cool Mom 500
  • Jul 6, 2014
perfect weekend in San Francisco

When we arrived at the hotel the welcome at reception was warm and efficient. The standard of the... See full review

  • American tourist
  • Feb 25, 2014
Convenience and luxury near Union Square, SoMa and more
Location is everything for the San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel. The property rises 30 stories above the confluence of a number of downtown neighborhoods, including Union Square, SoMa, the Financial District and the Theater District. It's also within walking distance of Chinatown and North Beach. Rooms are modern, and each offers Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Guests can choose from two on-site restaurants: American, open for breakfast only, and bin480 wine bar, which serves casual food and classic cocktails along with local wines.
Highlights
  • Sample local wines at bin480 wine bar
  • Walking distance to Union Square, SoMa and the Theater District
  • High-end (and complimentary) fitness center
Rooms

Accommodations -- 347 rooms and 53 suites -- are modern and sparsely decorated. All rooms at the San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel come standard with flat-screen TVs, pillow-top beds, spacious work desks and MP3 docks. Many rooms also have views of the San Francisco skyline. On the concierge floor, rooms include amenities such as mini-refrigerators. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features
The 30-story San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel is within a short walk to six different neighborhoods, including Union Square, the financial district, SoMa, the theater district, Chinatown and North Beach. It has received numerous awards, including the AAA 3 Diamond Award.

The San Francisco Marriott Union Square hotel features an expansive lobby with ample seating areas; it is the perfect spot to unwind with a newspaper after a hectic day.

All guests have access to a fitness center with state-of-the-art exercise equipment; locker rooms attached to the fitness center offer saunas. Dry-cleaning services are available (fees apply) and the Marriott also is close to four different day spas, each of which specializes in different treatments (fees apply).

Hungry guests can choose from two on-site restaurants: American, which is open only for breakfast, and bin480 wine bar, which serves casual food, classic cocktails and, as the name suggests, local wines.
Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 17,000 square feet of meeting space

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Francisco Marriott Union Square also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

37.7892 -122.4083
Area served
San Francisco Civic Center
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.20, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Dining

the Restaurant
Our Union Square Marriott hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast Monday-Friday 6:30am-11:00am; Saturday-Sunday 7:00am-11:00am.
bin480
Enjoy specialty cocktails and refreshing beverages along with small plates and appetizers at the bin480 restaurant and lounge in our Union Square, San Francisco, CA hotel's lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bill The Business Travele
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 21, 2012

Nice business hotel

Very nice business hotel in a great location. The staff could not be more helpful. Room was very clean and comfortable. For a guy that logs over 200 hotel night a year, I wish I had a hotel equal to this in all the cities I travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Bob C
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 12, 2013

Wonderful location

Hotel was comfortable and in a great location. I was in San Francisco for one night on business and enjoyed my time at this hotel. Only one short block to Union Square and right on the cable car line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toddler
Redlands, Ca
Jan 2, 2013

Great Location

I use to be a flight attendant and have stayed at an array of different hotels throughout different countries. My flight arrived at 8:10 and by 9 .am. I attempted to check in. As I expected, the concierge told me the room was not ready. He asked for my cell number and called me within a few hours. There were a few things I requested from room service during my stay. The response time was less than a minute. Very courteous staff, would definitely re-book reservations there. One of many perks, the trolley pick up is across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bill The Business Travele
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 21, 2012

Nice business hotel

Very nice business hotel in a great location. The staff could not be more helpful. Room was very clean and comfortable. For a guy that logs over 200 hotel night a year, I wish I had a hotel equal to this in all the cities I travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moh sam
Business
Kentuvky
Sep 3, 2012

Great Experience, Will repeat it

Will do it again surely Very clean Location min from pier 39, and middle of union square

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

City sightseeing

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Jays
Sacramento
Aug 27, 2012

weekend getaway

hotel location was convenient if you like to shop. although the room and bathroom were small compared to other hotels, the view was breathtaking and service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sliqric
Jacksonville, Florida
Jul 22, 2012

Great Hotel Choice

Hotel staff were courteous and very helpful from check-in to check-out. The room price was reasonable however I became aware that parking a car in the hotel's garage could be costly-as much as 45 or 50 dollars a day. The size of the rooms were adequate and well kept. Thankfully, I did not rent a car and I was glad I didn't because most locations/attractions I wanted to see were accessible using public transportation. I did rent a car for one which was sufficient time for me to us to see places that were more distant. The hotel's location was great being one block from Union Square and the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf was right outside of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and drive across the Golden Gate Bridge and continue up the Muir Woods if time permits.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris W.
Ansonia, CT
Jul 20, 2012

Great Location, Great Food and Atmosphere!

I had an excellent time. The hotel is situated in a perfect location. The food in the restaurants was perfect but the portion may have been just a bit too much because they left me stuffed. I also enjoyed the bar in terms of atmosphere and beverage selection. Only negative was that the I wish the gym had just a bit more equipment (bench to do crunches on) but the basics were there, treadmill, eliptical, etc..... Had a great stay! Definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
With bag will travel
Baltimore
Jul 7, 2012

Close to everything

The location is ideal! There is a definite excitement in the air around this hotel. The room was spacious and the staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk around and do not just stick to the main streets. I found this great Scottish import store on Sutter and was able to get some of the UK candy that I normally can't get unless I' in London! A real treat.

Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SethdariuS
Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Jul 6, 2012

Good choice...

Right in the heart of the shopping district. The breakfast buffet was ok. Food was not warm and the waiters were lazy. Others than that and the fact that the ice machine in our floor was broken, our stay was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of San Francisco Marriott Union Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diamondsj
nz
Jul 1, 2012

One night stay.

Staff very friendly ,checked us in early , no problem.Room was clean and comfortable no fridge.Would prefer more tea bags,without having to ask for them. Overall good. and no noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top